Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prehistoric power junkie, 24 July 2004
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
I have to admit I did not hold much hope for this PC game from Universal, having played Bullfrog's Theme Hospital last year and been thoroughly disappointed with the lack of basic control and layout. And so expecting a quick blast and then back to something more sport orientated by EA SPORTS, I installed the CD. I had little reason to worry, the stunning graphics and infectious game play soon had me hooked, in fact I had trouble tearing myself away to write this review.
As no doubt you all know the series of films of the same name, where John Hammond's Jurassic Park brings dinosaurs to life so that the public can see them in their natural habitat. But now you take control of the park, hunting for fossils, building the cages, deciding which dinosaurs to breed where, right down to how much to charge for a hot dog. The attention to detail and hands on control shown here really appealed to me, perhaps saying more about me than the game. Okay, so running a dinosaur safari park is not easy, on first attempt a typhoon washed away parts of the fencing, spinning carnivores into herbivores and sending all my little customers heading for the hills - being able to see what said customers think of your park is both a blessing and a curse. But once I had my park up and running, (and suitably covered for typhoons) I was well away, there is a fast pace to the game, keeping the park running, tending to sick animals, and building bigger attractions saves the game from becoming dull and routine. Also a nice touch is the ability to see the dinosaurs from the viewpoint of the customers, and really appreciate the stunning graphics being used here. You can become transfixed watching the animals; I was expecting David Attenborough to chirp up at any moment.
There are other games to be played as well as the main Genesis 'run the park' deal. A number of challenges have been set to keep you occupied, such as driving the safari land cruiser to take photos of the dinosaurs, if you want a quick game, and I would imagine would be great for the younger dinosaur hunters.
I thoroughly recommend this game for all gamers; it has something for everyone and enough sublevels to keep it fresh and challenging for a prehistoric age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game.Jurassic Park, 29 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
This is really a great game the graphics are fantastic.I have 5600 fx, if you have a slower card just knock draw grass off.
You have complete control except over the weather.
You get to fly helicopters and land rovers.If you are a jurassic
fan it's the game for you.If you are not,it's still a great game.
It's totally 3D a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool game, 26 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
Really good, game a little like zoo tycoon. Good graphics the game is played in 3d. I only have one fault if a vehicle can go into a paddock and gets blown up people survive, why?.the best game i had in ages i recommend it to anyone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Thank you., 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
Excellent condition when arrived. Works brilliantly on the pc and made the kids Christmas! No problems what so ever. It was great that this was on a recorded delivery as this is not an item that you want going missing in the post! Speedy delivery. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, 5 Oct. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
Incredibly fun game. A must buy for Jurassic park fans and dinosaur lovers. Great for all ages due to the ease and scope of activities on the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Operation Genesis, 9 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
If you're a Jurassic Park fan, like myself, this is the ultimate fantasy game. What you have wished would arrive on the games market for years, what you have only dreamed of.
I found this game exciting and breathtaking but then I love JP.
If you are not a Jurassic Park fan beware, the graphics can sometimes cause a headache and the game is quite easy to play in self build mode which makes you want for a little more.
The missions which you can play, a bit like a platform will keep anyone entertained for hours.
Will they bring out expansion packs? I hope so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS IT ME? OR ARE YOU LATE MR.GENESIS, 13 April 2003
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
So you walk into a shop and instead of buying a stealth action packed anti terroism game I go out and buy a dorky jurassic park game. This game flops right into one category called "late" but that never stops a game being good. This game is very easy to get going, first build a visitor centre, toilets and a dino(DUH!) and charge people errrr "no expense" but of course you open your park for the rich make them pay loads of money give them a dino to stare at then kick them out. The dino are brilliantly dumb, watch them closely as they wander through there paddocks. Your lovely dino move in flock ("just like a bird" Sam Neil reminds you every 10 seconds). You can hear them singing in the sunset but then the THUNDERSTORM HITS every one of your money maker meat consuming beast rampages around your park looking for a snack (people, although i prefer jaffa cakes). Your fined for every deaf so you come for the rescue, jump on your rangers chopper and in the words of schwenneger "aster la vista dino". You strike down every piece of your precious clones. Then you repair fences, put dinos back in paddocks and you can remain open till the closing our of that day. 12 intensive missions puts you through the highs and (extremely) low of your parks. And in the words of that smart guy from the film "Life Will Find Away" (I've always wanted to say that)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 April 2003
This review is from: Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) (CD-ROM)
I saw a preview play of this game in my local PC game store>
BEATIFUL!!!!!
The only thing i cant say is that the gameplay is good, because I wasn't able to play it myself
But the graphics are just awesome and it looks like the AI is really great.
I'm gonna buy this baby as soon as i see one in the shops thats actually for sale!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC)
Jurassic Park: Operation Genesis (PC) by Sierra (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT)
Used & New from: £89.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews