Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 6th Jokers card doesn't dissapoint
After buying and thoroughly enjoying 'Mostasteless' and 'Freek Show' by Twiztid, I thought I would have a listen to some of the stuff by labelmates Insane Clown Posse. This album does not dissapoint. After listening to ICP's previous efforts, you can really hear the difference in the production of each record. Every previous Joker's card had almost an identical layout,...
Published on 3 Aug 2003 by grandaddyathlete

versus
3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this album stinks!!!
I was really looking forward to this album but what a dissapointment it turned out to be...the final jokers card is here!!! The end will consume us all!!! What a joke!! Inside the sleeve is a putrid story about a little kid trying to capture a butterfly...only to have it die on him...jeez...it turns out that all along I.C.P. were rapping for Jesus!!! Yes that's right...
Published on 26 Dec 2002 by Mr. S. Barnard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 6th Jokers card doesn't dissapoint, 3 Aug 2003
After buying and thoroughly enjoying 'Mostasteless' and 'Freek Show' by Twiztid, I thought I would have a listen to some of the stuff by labelmates Insane Clown Posse. This album does not dissapoint. After listening to ICP's previous efforts, you can really hear the difference in the production of each record. Every previous Joker's card had almost an identical layout, but this is a lot more epic in scale. There is a lot of genuine hate towards this band, and I can see why in some respects, but calling them untalented is a major mistake. From the intro right through to the epic closer, The Wraith will leave you breathless. Here is a band that have stood the test of time, continually producing diverse and sometimes challenging music for their fanbase, affectionately named 'Juggalo's'. Upon listening to this I bought the previous 5 Joker's cards, and if you like this, I urge you to get them, only then will the full story become clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ending to a Great Saga, 2 Nov 2002
First a Little History Lesson...
The Insane Clown Posse have always tried to reinvent themselves for each Album they put out, When in 1999 The Amazing Jeckel Brothers came out, (Although a good album) it seemed although this album was a Jokers Card... ICP had lost there carnival feel, The thing that made them so popular in the first place.
In 2000 ICP release Bizzar/Bizaar to Seperate Albums, Non Jokers Card Related... The albums flopped... but in more than one way. Panned by critics (as usual) The album not only failed to go gold, but got the reputation as the worst album ICP had ever produced... By there own fans.
Forgotten Freshness 3 soon followed in 2001 with 2 new tracks from ICP... This did nothing to help hype the 6ths coming as this album to is considered crap.
It seemed all hope was lost for ICP and the long awaited album, The Wraith: Shangri La...
But ICP went into hiding, and remerged 6-7 months later witha brand new look, and everyone was hyped in the 6th Jokers Card... and thats only the beginning.
The Album itself is amazing, So many styles are stuck together, mixed and matched, it's like everything ICP has tried comes up in this album. The carnival feel is back in full affect, the rapping is tight, with Shaggy sounded more alive than usual, and J flowing like never before.
After hearing Homiez and Crossing Thy Bridge before the Wraiths release, i feared another Bizaar/Bizzar type mainstream attempt album. But believe me, this truly is for Juggalos and genuine ICP fans alike. I doubt many Mainstream Rap/Rock/Metal listners would get the whole idea of this album. It's all there, the funny love songs (Coton Candy and Popsicles), The Murdering (The Staleness), the Horrorcore Story Telling (Hells Forecast) just everything is in place.
Production Wise this album does not disapoint, Good use of Guitars (Most times) and lots of scratching which works very well. I think Mike P. Done his job well and can't say i terribly miss Mike E. Clark after hearing this album.
The Album will not disapoint, ofcourse there will be some people who will hate it, but thats always expected, Stand Out tracks include, The Wraith, The Staleness, Murer Rap and it Rains Diamonds.
And i'm sure there will be alot of different opinions on Track 17, otherwise known as The Unveiling, but in MY opinion... it's a fitting end to a great saga
- Sneddon aka. Broken Bonez
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRESH, 8 Dec 2002
By 
This album is fresh. It combines all the best bits of all previous works by the Insane Clown Posse. It is not produced by Mike E. Clark, as on all the other albums, but by Mike P. It really does show, this album, from the begining of the end, is a wicked piece of work combining rap with heavy choruses and everything in between. If you like the Great Milenko then you will love this record. The stand out track is 'Juggalo Homies' with Twiztid. May the Dark Carnival be with each and everyone who reads this. (ps other British Juggalos can contact me on mattghart@aol.com)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting 5.1 music, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Wraith: Shangri-La [DVD AUDIO] (DVD Audio)
Already a great album. So does 5.1 add anything to it? Yes and no.
Most people will certainly notice elements of songs that they never noticed before. I feel like the 5.1 mixing is done well, and you really feel like you're surrounded by the music. This in itself can also be quite exhausting though. Don't expect to listen to the 5.1 album for extended periods of time if that's what you did with the stereo album.
Essentially it is a "novelty" item, an added bonus that you might listen to once a year.
That might not sound positive, but it is a good buy really, if you like Insane Clown Posse or The Wraith: Shangri-La that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice way to end the carnival, 23 Oct 2007
ok so here we have the final jokers card...of sorts as is was twinned with the slightly later released hells pit.
this is the ying to the pits yang and the final twist in the dark carnival where the boys round everything up and tie up all the loose ends.
so is it any good?
well without mike e clarke on board they do loose a little of the fluidity and variety that make their earlier work so ecclectic and so varied so with that in mind this album sounds a little stripped down in comparison.
but thats not to say that the boys havent rested on their laurels...they have tried to push the scope of their sound further if anything and have left with a slightly more electronic feel to alot of the work and they songs are a little more hit and miss in comparison to the earlier work.
but this album is definately a grower, after my first listen i was all set to torch the thing and curse their name until they died and just wosrhip at the house of twiztid. but as with all their work there is always a few immediate stand out tracks that made me go back to listen to the album and its here that the rest of the songs slowly start to creep into your mind!
this is a very good album...not their best by a long way but still a very good album that improves with every listen!!!!
plus all the usual suspects show up to give the boys a hand in the form of twiztid and esham and ABK and blaze!!! so in short the family are down with it as is pretty much every other juggalo ive spoken to!!!!
but if you are new to the carnival i would suggest starting with milenko or riddlebox as they are the aces amongst the jokers cards!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Album, 12 April 2003
By A Customer
This is one of the best albums that I have heard in a long time. The introduction (Walk Into The Light), is dark but extremely catchy, and the whole album follows suit. Top songs, that really make the album a must buy are; "Juggalos Hommies", this song is really original and by far the best song on the album another high point of the album is "Cotton Candy & Popsicles", this song really does make you think, not just one of the ICP usual kinda song.
This album also comes with a DVD which one you get depends on the sticker on the front of the case, get the silver stickered one as it includes about 30 minutes of footage from an Insabe Clown Posse concert from when this album was release. BUY WRAITH: SHANGRI LA it is the best album around at the minute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars didn't know what to expect, 27 July 2003
I bought this because it had a cool cover and it was on import. I had no idea what genre the music was. I'm not a fan of rap as such but after listening to this fantastic album i'm a bit more open minded towards rap.
The first track 'Welcome to the light' is my favourite, the powerful wave of sound that hits you on the chorus is great! Like with Eminem's songs the lyrics have the power to make you think about life.
Also 'It rains diamonds' and 'juggalo homies' are really cool tracks.
Definately a CD for those who aren't partial to rap music, or those who like turning their volume levels RIGHT UP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was like BLAAAM!!!, 31 May 2003
This is the first ICP album i've heard and it's pure genius! It's really funny, fantastic!!! I heard it and i was like BLAAAM!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best joker's card, 26 Aug 2003
By 
What can i say about this album but BRILLIANT, beats every other joker's card hands down, every song is great and i love the ending to this 10 year story told through 6 joker's cards, but we haven't heard the end not until HELL'S PIT comes out (the hell version of shangri-la)anyway buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this album stinks!!!, 26 Dec 2002
By 
I was really looking forward to this album but what a dissapointment it turned out to be...the final jokers card is here!!! The end will consume us all!!! What a joke!! Inside the sleeve is a putrid story about a little kid trying to capture a butterfly...only to have it die on him...jeez...it turns out that all along I.C.P. were rapping for Jesus!!! Yes that's right folks-we should all be good Juggalos and go to Heaven...Cop out ending to the saga aside, the biggest problem is the omission of Mike E. Clark who scored all of the music on the best albums Great Milenko and Jeckel Brothers. This album has none of the circus carnival vibe of those albums and really suffers for it. Also gone is the humour of tracks like Mad Professor, Neden Game,I stab people, Southwest Voodoo etc etc,This album is just totally lame, it omits everything that made I.C.P. unique and very very funny...avoid at all costs!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wraith: Shangri-La [DVD AUDIO]
The Wraith: Shangri-La [DVD AUDIO] by Insane Clown Posse (DVD Audio - 2003)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews