Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly atmospheric
To be honest, initially I couldn't distinguish most characters from each other but I was hoping they would survive.

Obviously the main focus of the movie is its atmospheric and spooky location. It's effective, hence so is the movie although it leaves me without much material to write about.

Two short films are present on the disk, one of which is...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Bakuryuu Tyranno

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of creepy potential, but the film just fizzles in the last half hour
Have you ever put a puzzle together, only to discover that a couple of pieces are missing in the end? It's a bummer, right? You can still see the puzzle image with a good understanding of exactly what it is depicting, but it's still incomplete, and you're left feeling frustrated. That's basically the way I feel about The Bunker. I know what the film is trying to...
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by Daniel Jolley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of creepy potential, but the film just fizzles in the last half hour, 31 Dec 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Have you ever put a puzzle together, only to discover that a couple of pieces are missing in the end? It's a bummer, right? You can still see the puzzle image with a good understanding of exactly what it is depicting, but it's still incomplete, and you're left feeling frustrated. That's basically the way I feel about The Bunker. I know what the film is trying to express, and I even understand the story, but I can't get past the missing pieces that would have made the story much more effective. Maybe I shouldn't have started watching it at 3 AM, but I just didn't feel that The Bunker made complete sense toward the end, as it never really threshes out some of its characters and ideas.

The pieces seemed to be in place for a pretty creepy film. It's 1944, and you've got a ragtag group of German army survivors holed up in an anti-tank bunker, with - presumably - American forces all around them and a mysterious, unfinished tunnel system below. Into this mix you also have some disaffection among the troops and some important questions as to what really happened out in the field just before these guys retreated into the bunker. Trapped between an enemy without and an enemy within, the viewer is basically poised to find out just what or who will get to these desperate soldiers first. The fact that two of these soldiers are an old man with a habit of getting things mixed up and a young teenager eager to prove himself just makes things more interesting. As for those tunnels beneath the bunker, all we know is that they were never finished and that there's something decidedly not good about them. The old man tells the story of how a large number of bubonic plague victims were rounded up, slaughtered, and buried there on what then became cursed ground.

Naturally, someone disobeys orders and heads down there, and it's not long before the others are down there seeing what they can find. Soon enough, things start to get really weird. The men hear strange voices, get separated, and begin to lose it - especially one really gung ho soldier. Some of them think the Americans are already in the tunnels and are trying to screw with their minds, while others fear they are being punished by the dead for their sins - for reasons that are gradually revealed in a series of flashbacks to the events immediately preceding their retreat into the bunker. Of course, the dark souls of those once slaughtered there also can't be ignored completely.

With so much going for it, though, the film just sort of fizzles in the final half hour, leaving the viewer with something that barely manages to rise above the level of a bunch of guys wandering through some creepy tunnels. With all of the hard work that went into the film, especially in terms of generating the creepy, claustrophobic atmosphere, you expect a much bigger payoff that you actually get.

This was not a big-budget film, and it is sort of strange for a bunch of German soldiers to speak English with the queen's accent (but much stranger to see a seemingly random mix of English and German signs displayed at different times), but these issues could have been overcome by a really effective storyline. Unfortunately, though, The Bunker just doesn't deliver the goods in the end. It's a good try, though, and is certainly worth watching by anyone with an interest in psychological horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly atmospheric, 24 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
To be honest, initially I couldn't distinguish most characters from each other but I was hoping they would survive.

Obviously the main focus of the movie is its atmospheric and spooky location. It's effective, hence so is the movie although it leaves me without much material to write about.

Two short films are present on the disk, one of which is somewhat creepy while the other is imaginative so the special features are definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good in places but finally looses its way, 27 May 2007
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
And so the cross pollination of movie genres continues apace with yet another entry into the war/horror subgenre (as if war in and of itself is not horrific enough) in the shape of the Bunker, a film that mines a similar vein to the likes of R Point or Michael Mann's The Keep.

It is 1944, and the allies have landed at Normandy, with the German army in full retreat. Along the French/Dutch border, a group of seven German soldiers, desperately trying to elude an unseen enemy (the Americans maybe?), happen across a bunker manned by two fellow soldiers, an old man, and a young lad. Taking refuge in the bunker, the tensions of the group and their situation soon begin to take its toll on all concerned as guilt, fear and recriminations abound. On top of all this, the bunker hides a secret, as we are soon informed that the something is lurking in tunnels below the bunker, something not altogether human. That the bunker is built on the sight of a medieval massacre only serves to unsettle things even more. Pretty soon, the enemy outside is forgotten as the enemy within begins to make its presence felt.

A cast of familiar faces (including Charley Boorman, Jack Davenport, Andrew Tiernan and Jason Fleyming as Cpl Baumann, the closest thing to a hero this film has) make a good go of the material, and director Rob Green handles the mounting tension between the soldiers with an initial deft hand, leaving things unseen and unsaid that only serve to build the tension, but unfortunately after such a promising start, the film falls down somewhat in the closing stages, as a combination of madness, duty and loyalty take their toll on the men, and a guilty secret that may well be the real source of all the horror is revealed. Unfortunately, it feels as if we have been watching a puzzle for the preceding two thirds of the movie, and suddenly we are confronted with the fact that some of the pieces are missing. Several plot points are either forgotten about or discarded altogether in the final half hour, and the film seems to fizzle out as a result. Plenty of potential then, but ultimately fails to make a coherant whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall not a bad popcorn one off watch of a film., 1 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
With a lot of spooky films they start off very good and intriguing then fall apart in the second half. The second half ain't that bad but it does drop a bit in the final third.

Basic plot is group of German's solders penned up in a bunker during World War II that has loads of spooky tunnels (don't go down there) with a spooky past. Plus the solder have been through some troubles together.

I like the close atmosphere and cinematography of this film, if thats the right word: the almost sepia colour palette. The cast's performance is good, though Andrew Tiernan is not so good as the film develops but that could more the plot than him but I don't think he helped. The horror films obligatory sage old man's put in a great performance.

I liked the reveal of the back story and a specific link though I had an issue with one key element.

Not brilliant but quite good spooky fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent it or watch it when it's on TV..not one for the collection though, 3 Jun 2007
By 
AndyB (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having read the other reviews on here, I find myself agreeing with part of most of them. On the whole, I enjoyed the film when I saw it on TV. I felt it was very atmospheric most of the way through, but I do agree that maybe there wasn't enough of a payoff at the end.

I feel that any comments about the German soldiers having English accents are slightly unfair. Ultimately, the choice is between having the film in German, with English subtitles, or just having the actors speak English. To have the actors deliver lines in English but with German accents would be ludicrous, as those of us familiar with the "so bad, it's good" British sitcom, "'Allo 'Allo" will understand. I felt it a brave move to have the soldiers not only speaking English, but speaking with regional accents....after all, Germans have regional accents too.

On the whole, a decent film where the journey is more enjoyable that the destination. Not one to watch more than once though, so catch it on TV or borrow it from a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thinking horror, 6 Mar 2003
By 
Adam Bartleby "Bartleby2009" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Taglines for movies are often superflous or just plain cheezy - take the otherwise superb film "American Beauty" with its inadequate "look closer". However, with 'The Bunker' the tagline gives you a feel for what the film is really about:
"The Evil Is Within"
Without wishing to give too much away, a platoon of German soldiers in occupied Europe have been ambushed by an American patrol. Under fire, the survivors make it into an isolated German anti-tank bunker deep in the forest. The men are trapped, low on ammunintion, surrounded by the enemy, with a mysterious network of undeground passages beneath them.
However, there is something evil in the bunker - dark secrets of these marked men, veterens of the Poland campaign, and something else, a buried history from a much earlier horror.
Though relatively low budget, the film is well shot, alternating between the dark an dank of the bunker and silent, sun-bleached flash backs to a fateful day in a Polish field years earlier.
Ratings are very individual, but for me this film far exceeded my expectations. It is not a horror movie in the US mould but is far more intelligent than that - the evil is not abstract and 'Other', it is initimate and imminient - the evil lies within - within people, within you an I.
Not a film for people who like the world simple (i.e. Spielberg) and a film better seen 'blind', without expectations, but otherwise I'd say its well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating and I'm paging John Carpenter., 19 Sep 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
We are on the German/Belgian border in 1944 and a group of German soldiers are holed up in a bunker trying to survive. But just as they find a tunnel system underneath the bunker, and the enemies outside are closing in, they suspect that something very sinister is down there with them......

One of the most frustrating British films I have watched in a very long time. You see there is a real great movie at its core, one that is desperately trying to get out, but instead of a top notch eerie thriller we get something that looks like a chopped together homage to John Carpenter. Definite shades of Carpenter's chiller, The Fog, and Russell Currie's great and creepy score sounding suspiciously like a reworking of Morricone's scoring for The Thing. The production is not helped by using an array of non German actors for this German soldier based picture. Much as i like Jason Flemying and Christopher Fairbank {my reasons for watching this film}, it's a bit of a stretch to accept them as German soldiers.

With a better director than Rob Green at the helm, Clive Dawson's story could have been fully realised as a serious and dramatic horror film. Instead the end product comes off as something that was too big a task to handle, and sadly the nicely tuned atmosphere is lost amongst the insipid and unimaginative cop out that the film invariably is. 3/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four star film with a two star ending, 28 July 2010
By 
S. Haddow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I wish I could give this film four stars because it does have a lot going for it. The dialogue in the screenplay is strong with a sense of some past event weighing on the characters coming across very well and the standard of acting is high. The various personality types are a good mix too.
However there is little sense of claustrophobia in the tunnels, the sense of menace fails to fully materialize and several of the events are completely out of context, which, given the overall standard of the writing is bizarre. The film tries to add an all-action finish which there clearly isn't the budget for and in terms of the plot as a whole feels unimaginitive and tacked-on. If the film had stuck to what it did best - staying focused on character, this would be a low budget classic. As it is it ends very much on a note of ho-hum. Probably the best example of this kind of film that I have seen is Deathwatch [DVD] [2002] Overall, I am glad I watched The Bunker mainly for the first hour, and I wouldn't put anyone else off from watching it, just don't expect too much payoff from the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Disapointing, 18 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film is based on a great concept, but left me feeling slightly disappointed. It is similar in a way to Michael Mann's "The Keep", but not quite as well executed.
The film is very low budget, and full of murky camerawork, sketchy plot and vague dailogue. In my view it also suffers from having British actors playing the roles of German soldiers. The ending is quite clever with flashbacks to previous events, but overall a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save you dosh!, 1 April 2007
This review is from: The Bunker [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Sometimes when I see a films ratings I think others have perhaps watched a different title to the one I have seen. This film is one of those. The storyline starts out OK but then goes nowhere when it could have given so much more. The acting was quite pityful but considering what they had to work on I guess it's no surprise.To me there was NO suspense and it was easy to anticipate what was coming which made it even more boring.If possible I would have given NO stars.I wasted my money don't do the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabdc0f24)

This product

The Bunker [DVD] [2002]
The Bunker [DVD] [2002] by Rob Green (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: 7.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews