Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A final fling for TV's favourite couple!
For fans of classic seventies sit-com - or fans of British comedy in general - the film version of "George and Mildred" is a must! Featuring familiar jokes in the style of the "Carry On" films it is simple, harmless humour at it's best with a good dose of sexual innuendo thrown in. Unlike many film versions of sit-coms, "George and Mildred"...
Published on 31 Mar 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seris not complete
Good to see a classic sitcom but sadly it is missing for episodes they
The Little Dog Laughed
Best Foot Forward
My Husband Next Door
Family Planning
Published on 18 July 2004


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A final fling for TV's favourite couple!, 31 Mar 2001
By A Customer
For fans of classic seventies sit-com - or fans of British comedy in general - the film version of "George and Mildred" is a must! Featuring familiar jokes in the style of the "Carry On" films it is simple, harmless humour at it's best with a good dose of sexual innuendo thrown in. Unlike many film versions of sit-coms, "George and Mildred" lives up to the standards that made the TV series so popular. Mildred is still desperate for romance and George is still desperate to avoid it. In an attempt to win him round, Mildred decides on a second honeymoon at the London Hotel. Somehow the bumbling George is mistaken for a hit-man. Chaos, car chases and shoot-outs ensue, with the Roper's blissfully unaware of their predicament. A fine supporting cast including Stratford John, Kenneth Cope, Harry Fowler and Dudley Sutton help the film along and ironically it was the last time the Ropers were seen together on screen since Yootha Joyce (Midred) died before the film was released.
Ideal Sunday afternoon viewing, "George and Mildred" will tickle your funny bone and allow you to spend two hours in the comfort zone of a television classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than some suggest., 14 Jun 2010
By 
Ce Buckle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This 1980 movie spin off does seem to attract a lot of negative comments which I think are unfair as although the movie isn't perfect it is still a funny film and as one reviewer mentioned, it's perfect to watch on a Sunday afternoon. I always believe that these movie spin-offs should offer something different to their TV parent so I think it was a good thing to take George & Mildred out of their normal surroundings, however I do agree that the Fourmiles are underused in the film. It would have been a good idea for them to all go on holiday together or something. One thing that does disappoint me about these movie spin off dvd releases are the absence of any extras at all. This movie would have benefited from a commentary track or maybe a documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars seris not complete, 18 July 2004
By A Customer
Good to see a classic sitcom but sadly it is missing for episodes they
The Little Dog Laughed
Best Foot Forward
My Husband Next Door
Family Planning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good comedy, albeit poignant, 27 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
From 1976 to 79 George and Mildred was the best TV sitcom, and is stil being shown today. Brian Murphy was brilliant as the humble working class hero (or zero) George, but even he was outshone by the sublime Yootha Joyce as the man eating tyrant Mildred. A downside is the use of a writer never used on the TV series. As a result the film feels different to the series, the characters less established, particularly neighbours the Fourmiles, central to the TV sitcom, yet barely seen here. That said any film pairing Joyce and Murphy has to be a winner. They sare many happy, funny and poignant scenes, and help the film go along relatively unscathed. Not vintage George and Mildred (for that buy the series 1 DVD) but a good film nonetheless. On a sad note, Yootha Joyce died just before the film premiered, and George and Mildred was over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good big screen attempt, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
this is a quite good tv to movie cross over george and mildred go to a posh london hotel for their anniversary they get mistaken for hitman they win and lose a fortune in a casino they both have oppertunitys to be unfaithful and end up having contracts put out on them by local gangsters totaly unawhere about any off it they head home which leads to a car chase.good afternoon film great characters and very funny a classic [if you like this cheack out the intteligence men as well morcombe and wise at there best]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars george and mildred dvd, 15 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
great 70s classic , cant beat them , this is a great price , would recommend to anyone who likes the old 70s style british comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 14 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Don't know why some find this unfunny? I think it is hilarious, I have all the TV series episodes which are brilliant and I had this on video and have now purchased the DVD too, IMHO is is every bit as entertaining as the TV series (unusual as the films of successful series are usually a flop) At the Amazon price it is a bargain and worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George and Mildred Series 1, 7 Aug 2001
By 
ptspe@aol.com (Duisburg-Germany) - See all my reviews
Asa big fan of 70's and 80's British sitcom, this was an aboloute must for me. If you are new to British comedy of that era you cannot go wrong with this series. George who is hopeless,helpless and hapless is the henpecked husband of Mildred, who feels she could do better than her momentary status in life, if only she could get george off the dole and into the novel idea of working. The first 6 programmes of a brilliant sitcom, take a break of 147 minutes of pure fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Timeless comedy, 2 April 2004
By 
J. Clark "hyperbolelad" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This magical comedy series is as fresh today as it was when first broadcast 25 odd years ago and gave me a good giggle and brought back loads of happy memories of when I first watched it in my late teens with my late dad and my younger brother who now lives in Australia...AAARGH Happy days !!!

I hope the whole of these shows will be put out onto dvd in due course...

Regards.

Jim Clark..London..England
Re-animator of great poets and literary figures at the poetryreincarnations youtube channel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 24 Jun 2008
This review is from: George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I had completely forgot about george & Mildred and how funny brian murphy was in it.
I decided to buy this cos im collecting all the classic British sitcom movie spin offs of the 70s just for nostalga .
Lets face it todays TV is pure crap.
It was so good to see the genius of yootha joyce & Brian murphy again after all these years.
George had allways made me laugh my head off when i was a young kid .
The things he will do to avoid spending money or avoid the sexual advances from his wife are hillarious.
Its funny to think that the little kid that played tristam must be what late 30s early 40s Amazing.
Good to see keneth cope who played in randall & hopkirk as well.
What can i say they just dont make them like they used too anymore.
Great family viewing and a few chuckles.
also it only took 4 days to get from the UK to the USA thats got to be a record Amazon uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD]
George and Mildred: The Movie [DVD] by Peter Frazer-Jones (DVD - 2003)
5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews