Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doubt, a five star flick...
Based on Joseph Conrad's book "The Duel", the true story of a 30-year feud between two Napoleonic cavalry officers, "The Duellists" was Ridley Scott's first major film. Starring Keith Carradine as the pompous D'Hubert and a particularly menacing Harvey Keitel as Feraud, the film climbs inside the minds of two men for whom honor is more important than life itself.
The...
Published on 27 July 2003 by John Dynan

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wont work on my Sony 370
I had understood that Blu Rays are region-free, but this will not play on my Sony S370. Unless anyone can give me an unlock - bearing in mind I have paid for it - I will have to return it. My favourite movie, but I can't watch it.
Published 14 months ago by Ian Carlisle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Duellists Blu-Ray, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For my money, Ridley Scott's little masterpiece has never looked better than on this Shout Factory Blu Ray. Yes, the film itself was shot with a deliberately soft and luxuriant look, yet the image here is pleasingly sharp and stable with just enough noise reduction to eliminate the worst of the wear and tear. The colour palette meanwhile takes your breath away.

The disc is Region A locked, therefore if you're a European buyer you'll need a multi-region player - but if you have one, take my advice and upgrade. You'll be transported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Duellists, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
This film was magnificent ! The photography was excellent which made the film and made you feel
that you were .there . The scenes were so well done that they could have taken from pictures in a London
Art Gallery.Of course all this was based on a true story of two men who fought duels against each other
for nearly thirty years ! That in itself is mind boggling .In all I think the film was down rated by the film industry
and deserved a far bigger acknowledgement !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original gem, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
A truly original film. Beautifully shot, well acted and brilliantly directed by a young Ridley Scott. Even Keith Carradine shines; something he rarely does. As for Harvey Keitel, he is great as the psycho.
Buy it; see it and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Saw this a long time ago, wanted to see it again, great film, epic tale spanning years. Sit down and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duellists, 27 Jan 2013
By 
P. D. Mcgill (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Ridley Scott's first big film. A masterpiece of costume drama set in the Napoleonic Wars that traces the lives of two Hussars who fight a number of duels whenever they meet. Some of them are quite brutal and shows that duelling was not an elegant pastime as often portrayed in other Hollywood offerings. The two main characters are played by Keith Carradine and Harvey Keitel who both give splendid performances along with a number of British actors who pop up throughout the film such as Edward Fox and Albert Finney. Ridley Scott captures the period with his use of filming locations and houses in France and the costumes and acting made this a truely enjoyable film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
The story line is not this film's strength although it does move along well ... what makes this outstanding is the fabulous scenery all filmed in bright early morning sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!!, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films! The copy of the film that I bought was excellent and for the time it was made this film is still good in my opinion. The leading actors Harvey Keitel and Keith Carradine are excellent, both are great actors. Stunning scenery also and a truly beautiful story.
Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
A ridley Scott classic in my view, seen it before a couple of times and was always gripped by this strange tale, it is a srong drama and the story is told very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Duellists, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Ridley Scott's take on the Joseph Conrad Napoleonic tale of obsession and honour is a delight of cinematic beauty and solid memorable acting from the whole cast. The careful and meticulous composition of each frame evokes a deep sense of it's period setting in the way that Stanley Kubrick achieved two years earlier with 'Barry Lyndon'. As if this was not sufficient, the whole proceeding is embraced by a beautiful haunting soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Duelists, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
For those who like their period drama firmly attached to historical accuracy (especially the costumes) then you will find it in this film. That said, no attempt to disguise the main characters American accents seems only to add an everyday believable quality to a film set in momentous times. A curious mixture which works for me every time I watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duellists, The [DVD] [1977]
Duellists, The [DVD] [1977] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2003)
3.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews