Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2003
I absolutely love this movie. It has a good story, and perhaps best of all, is jam-packed with creativity and wild action. I know some fans were put off by the amount of comedy in the film's first half, but I think it helps make everyone more human and believable, even when they are flying over churches and engaging in insane kungfu fights. It also helps the film's finale pack more of an impact.
The best thing about this movie is the visual style. The masks and set-pieces are very nice, and the action sequences are stylish and unique. It's too bad they don't make them like this one anymore. But at least they made it once.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2003
This is another Hong Kong attempt to turn a Japanese Manga into a live action movie. It can payoff but it can also turn out like "Dragon from Russia". .... this movie does have some impressive fight scenes (with some wire kung fu) and the film is worth watching for the fight scenes alone. Overall, "Dragon From Russia" is not the best Kung Fu Film around yet it does contain good Martial Arts choreography. If you are a Japanese Manga or a Martial Arts Fanatic, this DVD is for you ..... .
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
sexy comic slapstick reinvention of a great manga that doesn't really work.

The film goes from camp hongkong slapstick to noir japanese ninja sexual violence, interesting but typically bizarre.

There's some interesting setpieces and fights, but the overall plot is completely backwards.

Story: an outcast assassin raises his child in Russia(?), before seeing his family killed by vengeful assassins and then kidnapped to transformed into the Crying Freeman assassin. He meets his childhood friend, the beautiful artist Maggie Chueng, who knows his real identity but is thwarted by rival assassins.

The Crying Freeman had already been adapted by a US studio several years before this one, but I don't think anything matches the original series, or John Woo's the killer for that matter.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
No one will probably see this review. This film is ridiculous in a bad and good way. Very bizarre, sporadic but highly entertaining. The settings and fight scenes are really enjoyable. Every Seen Donnie Yen's Legend of the wolf? It's that kind of good/bad. But this story is actually quite decent, despite it getting lost and jumping from one thing to another.
I give it five stars for how purely entertaining the action and characters are and the relentless action. Despite it's faults, it's worth a watch if you are a fan of the genre. I haven't been so entertained by a film in a long time. For better or worse.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
I really liked this movie and found it rather interesting that part of it was filmed in Russia. I thought there were some great fighting scenes. It is best to watch the movie in Cantonese. I thought the subtitles were pretty good. Even in Cantonese there were times when they spoke in Russian with a Russian accent. I didn't really care for the english dubbed and found that it lacked character. Glad to have this in my collection of kung fu movies.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
Based on "crying freeman" the japanese manga,this is quite good,but for me,it was worth the money just to hear the lovely Maggie Cheung speak Russian with a chinese accent!!! if you can get this for under a tenner,it's worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Brilliant kung fu action.. Some dodgy scenes and acting but the choreography is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
excellent.good quality and fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
i gave it to a charity shop nuff said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
top notch HK action movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)