Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's SOOOOO good!
i have only ever seen "born free" just the once, which was a few years ago on T.V and i must say that i thoroughly enjoyed watching every moment of it. the part i loved the best was when elsa was released back into the wild and george and joy kept track of her for a few days just until they knew she wouldnt come to any harm. i am a musician myself and i must say that the...
Published on 15 Nov 2004 by gillruane28

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Chinese subtitles?
The film is a great old classic and my wife wanted a copy so I saw it on Amazon. The delivery was prompt and the film is OK, I selected the English version but when I played it I found it had Chinese (I think) subtitles.
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Stephen Ward


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's SOOOOO good!, 15 Nov 2004
This review is from: Born Free [VHS] [1966] (VHS Tape)
i have only ever seen "born free" just the once, which was a few years ago on T.V and i must say that i thoroughly enjoyed watching every moment of it. the part i loved the best was when elsa was released back into the wild and george and joy kept track of her for a few days just until they knew she wouldnt come to any harm. i am a musician myself and i must say that the music was absolutely awe-inspiring, beautifully written and very very moving, even to this day i still walk along to university singing "born free, as free as the wind blows". it is just an amazing thing of film history and has given me the idea to go to africa on safari!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't beat this film, 28 Jan 2004
By 
C. Muncey "mopedgirl2003" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born Free [VHS] [1966] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film at the cinema 30 odd years ago, and have watched it many times since. I just love it, it is uplifting yet sad, I smiled and cried throughout. The fact that Elsa meets a wild mate and has cubs, but also that she remembers the Adamson family and often visits them, is so emotional and wonderful. It is like she is thanking them for setting her free.
Highly Recommend it, and also joining the Born Free Foundation to help other animals in distress, through human hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Animal Film Ever, 18 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born Free [VHS] [1966] (VHS Tape)
If you like things such as Free Willy or The Great Panda Story. You will love this. Although its a bit old fashioned, and they talk strangely you get drawn in to the story. It's funny as well as intruiging. I would say it would make a great family film. It brought my family together one sunday I know that. This is a must see.
by a very much impressed 12 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opinion of Born Free, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film and have bought it for my grandchildren because my son and his wife are managing Joy's Camp in Shaba, kenya
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Chinese subtitles?, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Ward (Hove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is a great old classic and my wife wanted a copy so I saw it on Amazon. The delivery was prompt and the film is OK, I selected the English version but when I played it I found it had Chinese (I think) subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Born free DVD, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film but didn't realise it was subtitled. The subtitles was bit off putting for children.we also lost bit of the picture at the bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A TRIP TO THE WILD KINGDOM, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film to calm my soul...
There's such a good feeling in this film. The landscape, the sound, the animals.
A sight for sore eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MARVELLOUS, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IT BRINGS BACK CHILD HOOD MEMEORIES AND MY GRANDCHILDREN LOVED IT. THE MUSIC ALWAYS MAKE ME CHOKE UP. GOOD BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 10 Oct 2013
By 
L. Hardy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DVD was an in sub titles, and quality was awful, I tried to return but they wouldn't refund postage so after a couple of complaints I went through Amazon who were great and refunded the cost in full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Born free, 4 Oct 2013
Enjoyed the film and it arrived promptly. The film started playing in Chinese so we had to go back and sort out the languages but other than that there were no glitches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born Free [VHS] [1966]
Born Free [VHS] [1966] by Tom McGowan (VHS Tape - 2003)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews