Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars edited???????...essentially..NO!
There has been comment made on AMAZON regarding this release, stating that it is edited and certain scenes are missing. It has put me off buying it for a while but I have done so now and Im glad I did for 2 reasons:
1) It is the COMPLETE Bean, meaning its all here at a bargain price compared to the overpriced UK releases which are giving us bits and bobs on multiple...
Published on 17 Oct 2005 by P. D. gray

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars does this dvd play in uk
can anyone tell me please does this dvd play on normal dvd player in uk,,,i have ordered this but a friend told me i need region 2 i have tried to cancel but not having any luck from seller
Published on 20 Nov 2008 by B. J. Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars edited???????...essentially..NO!, 17 Oct 2005
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
There has been comment made on AMAZON regarding this release, stating that it is edited and certain scenes are missing. It has put me off buying it for a while but I have done so now and Im glad I did for 2 reasons:
1) It is the COMPLETE Bean, meaning its all here at a bargain price compared to the overpriced UK releases which are giving us bits and bobs on multiple DVDS, not even in chronological order.
2) They are NOT edited..let me explain. The only fans who will notice bits missing are American ones because the MR BEANS when shown in the USA were done on a tv station without adverts, opposed to in the UK where they were shown with ad breaks. Because of this the USA tv station requested extra material to be put in to pad them out to the required length. The production company obliged, put in little bits n bobs to stretch them and so when this release came out, comprising of the official versions..shown everywhere else in the world they thought they were edited. Essentially although slightly different to the USA broadcast versions, these ARE the way Rowan Atkinson intended them to be viewed, the oddments which were added to the USA episodes as a necessity were considered surplus to requiremenrs, inferior in many cases and left on the cutting room floor. OK, so perhaps these scenes could have been included as extras..outtakes for example..or even the extended episodes used for this release BUT I dont think its any major crime, Rowan Atkinson decided these were what he wanted broadcast in the UK/Europe etc and thats good enough for me. Basically only USA fans will notice any change, and even then just slight changes...all in all this is a great set, cheap and VERY funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!, 13 Nov 2005
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Classic Mr Bean all at once on this DVD. Every episode (including never before seen on tv episodes) are included. From when Mr Bean visits the dentist, to when he stays in room 426 even to when he has his "friends" over for new years eve...every episode has comical appearance to it and is very funny. A great buy for any Mr Bean fan and every episode is included in this DVD. Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-notch silent comedy for the modern world, 28 May 2009
By 
D. M. Farmbrough "Dave Farmbrough" (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Rowan atkinson is a very clever man. As the lead actor and principal writer of these little comedies, he shows a skill and attention to detail that is often lacking in physical comedy. While there are a couple of ideas repeated over the show's six year run (1990-1996), these are good ones and are done with such style that it can be forgiven. Most of the situations poor Mr Bean gets into are quite original, as are his ideas for things like getting out of a car park without paying, packing a lightweight suitcase for his holiday, or getting changed on the beach while retaining his modesty.

There are fourteen episodes presented in this set, plus a couple of odd sketches, and two Comic Relief interludes. There is also a pretty good documentary showing some behind-the-scenes work on the show.

I would recommend this set to anyone who has seen a few Mr Bean episodes and liked them. They're all THAT good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 10 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this dvd for a friend,but i made the mistake of opening it,so now it is mine.

This is vintage Bean, all the classic sketches and more.

My stomach ached while watching him tune his telly in,make a sandwich,and being chased by a wasp.

This is a classic dvd,i could safely recommend this to all ages,all nations everywhere.

This is comedy masterpieces in action,thouroughly,scripted and acted by Rowan,and his colleagues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Bean, 1 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Great to finally see all episodes together in this box set, as the uk version is on 5 discs & retails at around 70, where as this one only cost 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Aug 2005
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
First Of all i would like to say that Mr bean is stil one of the funniest comedies around. if you want comedy and if you want to laugh all day then buy this excellent DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Love this mr bean DVD, when the kids need something just put it on and it keeps them entertained for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars reccomended for the price, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
its as good a set as you will find at this decent price if you really like mr bean! go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Deecee "Deecee" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was in two minds as to whether to order this DVD set as it clearly stated on the product page it was a region 1 DVD only and you would need of course a region 1 or multi-region DVD player. I read the reviews and one of the reviewers stated he bought one and it was a multi-region DVD (would play on any DVD player regardless of region)so I took the risk and ordered it considering it was only 10 and compared to the UK sets this was cheap. I wanted it for christmas but the delivery date was estimated for 5th January (the latest). It actually turned up on christmas eve (Yay!). Of course the first thing I did was try it in my Samsung blue ray player and it worked! I then tried it in my Digihome tv/dvd combi and it worked! The risk paid off! It is actually a multi-region DVD as the manual of my tv/dvd combi stated the DVD player is only region 2. So if there are any Mr Bean fans out there this is the one to order and avoid the costly UK DVD sets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Bean - The Whole Bean (Complete Set) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I like a few episodes in this boxset, for example, the hairdressing episode is hilarious. But there are quite a lot that aren't as good. True, they have their moments but they just don't quite hit the mark. My younger cousins seem to love them and maybe if you're that age then you would enjoy them, but sadly, only a few live on (fondly) in my memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10472fd8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews