Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back in town... and how!
A very welcome return by a superb British rock band, and more importantly a return to the signature sound that made them one of the best acts on the live circuit in the 90s. This album contains a stunning blend of out-and-out rock (Loser, Shake The Tree, Out Of My Head), soulful ballads (If I Can't Feel Love, A Lover Not A Friend) and those upbeat, somewhat quirky...
Published on 17 Aug. 2003 by sunsetovereden

versus
4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flogging a Dead Horse
Thunder were once one of the most prolific bands on UK rock scene and were rightfully rewarded for their distinctive brand of bluesy rock.
However, Thunder seem to have now joined the likes of Status Quo as one of a number of bands who refuse to move on, develop their sound or experiment with new ideas.
The lull the band experienced in the early part of the...
Published on 1 Feb. 2005 by Ben Cottam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back in town... and how!, 17 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
A very welcome return by a superb British rock band, and more importantly a return to the signature sound that made them one of the best acts on the live circuit in the 90s. This album contains a stunning blend of out-and-out rock (Loser, Shake The Tree, Out Of My Head), soulful ballads (If I Can't Feel Love, A Lover Not A Friend) and those upbeat, somewhat quirky offerings that Mr Luke Morley pens so beautifully (Everybody's Laughing, Pimp and a Whore). Danny Bowes has never sounded so good and the musical arrangement is spot on. There isn’t a bad song on the album and anyone who lists Backstreet Symphony and Laughing on Judgement Day amongst their favourite Thunder albums should seriously consider adding this to their collection. It has the makings of a classic album. Welcome back, lads. You’ve been missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of veteran British rockers delights faithful fans, 28 Nov. 2003
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
British rockers Thunder returned to the fray after a brief split in 2002 and delivered this, their full comeback album early in 2003. The album contains few surprises, opening with an almighty wallop with "Loser", the lead off single from the album before delivering another set of high octane rockers and plaintive ballads. It really does feel as though the boys have never been away; guitarist/songwriter Luke Morley is straight back in the groove lyrically with some acerbic writing, especially on the anti-Pop Idol "Pimp and the Whore", and the dig at cocaine-loving party animals in "Everybody's Laughing". The powerful yet soulful voice of Danny Bowes has been much missed in a rock scene filled with grunting vocalists or worse, rappers(!), and in particular it is a pleasure to hear him sing on record again. Several of these songs have already established themselves in the live setting and it is clear that this album will sit comfortably alongside the back catalogue.
If you are a fan of the band already you will love this album; if you like well crafted hard rock in the traditional style few bands do it better than these guys. They are unlikely to convince waverers with this album, but for the converted, the preachers make a welcome retun to the pulpit! Returning Thunder fans can buy this album with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THUNDER - Back in business, 17 April 2003
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
In 1999, when Thunder announced to the world they were splitting up, most fans wondered just how long these guys would stay away. Well now we know, they're back with a superb album (and a tour shortly), the opening track Loser, will get the hairs on your neck raised. There are elements of the Thunder of old with a feeling of Backstreet symphony running through the whole album. If you've got any Thunder albums in your collection, do yourself a favour and get this one too. You will not regret it.....trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thunder Roar, 19 May 2003
By 
P Rich (Bracknell, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
They're back - and how!
A definite contender for the album of 2003, Shooting at the Sun is the best Thunder long player since Back Street Symphony. Their brief time apart seems to have re-energised and put the thunder back into Thunder.
From the first track 'Loser' to the final track 'Blown Away' - which leaves the listener pretty much feeling just that - the album just soars.
Consistently good, and with excellent production throughout, I found this album almost impossible to dislodge from my CD player!
The best tracks are include a tale of the current pop idol phenomenon, 'A Lover, Not A Friend' and the clever 'Somebody Get Me A Spin Doctor' but I could easily list all eleven. The lyrics for all songs are sharp and the turn of phrase and wit is as good as ever.
In producing this album the band have given themselves one almight headache - just how do they follow it!
Shooting At The Sun - Buy Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaded... Never. More like a return to core principles, 13 July 2005
By 
Jim Frodsham (Wigan, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
Having read some of the more ascerbic reviews of this album I was driven to put my thoughts in writing.
How anyone who claims to have followed the band from the early days can call this flogging a dead horse I don't know.
During the split Bowes and Morley to my knowledge made two albums together, both of which are quite experimental delving into rythym n blues, and even some northern soul influences.
Luke Morley's solo effort El Gringo Retro obviously lacks in the vocals department, but again shows what a talented, and diverse song writer and guitarist Morley has developed into.
OK this album has more than a few influences from their earlier material, but for my money it's the best they have put out for a while...and a most entertaining band live! As anybody who saw them at last years Rock and Blues custom show will testify.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thunderous applause, 7 Dec. 2003
By 
G. Cooper "george355gts" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
This is Thunder's latest album,and as good as the first(Backstreet Symphony).It starts of with Loser,which everyone who doesnt hear this album is.Track 3 is a ballad fit for number one,if westlife or will young sang this track it would be enormous.Neither of these artists have the presance or voice of frontman Danny Bowes.Danny is one of the best vocalists this country has ever produced.The album rocks on and after a few plays you will be humming every single track.There is not a bad song on the album.Why this band gets zero radioplay is a surprise to me,they are each and every member a great musician.Having 16 top 40 hits undr there belt,tells how good this band is.Maybe if they were an American rock band radio would play them.Rock on guys your talent will shine through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back, 7 April 2003
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
Fantastic, the best album since Back Street Symphony. Great to have the guys back after a 2 year split. The opening track Loser is a must for the new single and would ya know it, it is!
Every track has it's merrits from the humorous Everybody's laughing to the bluesy Shake the tree. Can't wait till May to see the guys on tour, welcome back boys, keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back lads!, 11 May 2006
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
Shame on me for losing sight of Thunder after being disappointed by the softer 'Giving The Game Away', to the point where not only did I not know they'd reformed, but I didn't even know they'd split up in the first place...and then I discovered this album and...well, wow!

With all the expected Thunder attributes back in place, this album is a spectacular return to form. A brilliant mix of classic heavy rock, funk, blues and soulful ballads, 'Shooting At The Sun' is easily on a par with their most critically acclaimed efforts 'Back Street Symphony' and 'Laughing On Judgment Day'.

And with genuine guitar-hero Luke Morley and the unfeasibly talented Danny Bowes at the helm, how could this band possibly get any better?

I can heartily recommend this release to fans and newcomers alike...I reckon you'll love it.

Welcome back lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting on all cylinders!, 10 April 2003
By 
Ian Thomson "ian11641" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
It's great news that "Thunder" are back up and running again, but I was apprehensive as to what the new album would be like after a couple of years off. I was not dissapointed, from the first chord on the first track, I realised this was going to be a classic. Their sheer power mixed with musicality provide a unique blend which must be up there with the greats of Deep Purple, Led Zep, etc.
Not only can they rock, but their slow more bluesy numbers are arranged with taste, and subtleness that I have not found in any other rock band of the last decade.
In short, this album is as good as anything else they have come up with, I only hope that they can reach the mainstream rock audience as their talent is undisputable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody's Laughing, 31 Aug. 2003
By 
This review is from: Shooting At The Sun (Audio CD)
what can I say : I got my copy today and its been on almost constant loop all day! In fact I even recorded it onto my min-disc so that I could leave the house and listen outdoors! The tunes are full of typical rock and blues Thunder trademarks, the lyrics soooo well observed and the emotion ranges all the way from bearing the soul (If I cant feel Love) to taking the P*** (Spin Dr. and Pimp and Whore). These gents are amazing real musicians, real artists and I cannot urge you enough to buy this wonderful album. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shooting at Sun
Shooting at Sun by Thunder (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews