Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good thing just got better...
I admit it, I love this performance. I have the CD and the video and both have been played to death. The DVD brings the extra versatility of that medium, such as the ability to go to any part of the performance quickly, or to Gardiner's interesting essay on the piece. My one minor quibble is that the red shifts in which the Monteverdi choir are decked out seem to glow;...
Published on 18 April 2003

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful performance and sound, off-putting picture quality
I think this is an excellent performance (there are now versions of the Vespers on CD to suit all tastes, so people are bound to differ), and the recording seems worthy of it, but for me the video quality was so poor on a fairly large screen that I found it distracting, and in the end just listened with the picture turned off. It seemed fuzzy and oversaturated, on my...
Published on 27 April 2011 by Livfoss


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good thing just got better..., 18 April 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I admit it, I love this performance. I have the CD and the video and both have been played to death. The DVD brings the extra versatility of that medium, such as the ability to go to any part of the performance quickly, or to Gardiner's interesting essay on the piece. My one minor quibble is that the red shifts in which the Monteverdi choir are decked out seem to glow; they do this on the video, and I was hoping that DVD would tame it. Alas, it seems to be a flaw in the filming.
The performance remains an absolute knockout, IMHO simply the best ever recorded. Followers of the devotional school, who go for Andrew Parrott's minimalist version, hate it and will stay away. Those who like the CD will absolutely adore this, with choir, soloists and instrumentalists making full use of San Marco's acoustics and odd nooks and crannies. The orchestra (the English Baroque Soloists, with 5 players from His Majesties Cornetts and Sagbutts) is quite small - it's amazing how so few players can make such a racket in such a big space. The stars of the show is the Monteverdi Choir itself (singing from memory, without scores), which is simply stunning. You'll never hear the big choral numbers such as "Nisi Dominus" and "Lauda Jerusalem" sung with such precision and excitement - they give me goosebumps on my goosebumps. And in the middle of it all is Gardiner, obviously having a ball. Three cheers for Archiv for bringing back this brilliant record of a unique event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 20 Sep 2003
By 
Werner Schmidlin (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This inspired version of Monteverdi's "Vespro della Beata Vergine" by John Eliot Gardiner I first saw on Christmas 1989 as a BBC simulcast. So many years later, as a DVD, its innovative rendering is as fresh as ever and the picture quality is holding up reasonably well too. For me this performance is still the best version of Monteverdi's master work.
John Eliot Gardiner researched this work thoroughly. There is no gimmickry in his rendition, but it feels as if in his mind's eye he had collaborated across the centuries with the ancient composer to produce a truly outstanding performance. We are all familiar with Gardiner's masterly use of early instruments and the careful selection and balancing of soloists voices and this performance makes full use of all of this.
The obvious choice of the location for this performance was Venice's San Marco, where Monteverdi spent much of his career. But it is far from obvious how John Eliot Gardiner used the near perfect acoustic space of this church. Every voice and instrument is placed just right to render a superb sound picture. The "Vespers" ranges from powerful full sound of orchestra and singers to intimate love songs. In support of the need of this diversity Gardiner makes the singers change positions to the various balconies and alcoves throughout the performance. This is a truly memorable performance.
I deducted one star of my ratings for the regrettable omission of the subtitles from the original BBC telecast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir John Eliot strikes again!, 24 July 2006
By 
J. Hutchings "jjhutchings" (Framlingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having heard the CD, I was thrilled when the DVD came out.

In terms of performance, I should be amazed if anyone can better it: the soloists are expertly chosen (a young Bryn Terfyl for all those Classic FMites out there) and sing the music with great passion and sincerity. The vocalists (both concertato and ripieno) perform the work without scores - no mean thing!

The DVD itself is of excellent quality. Granted, the 1989 picture is naturally a little dated, but the photography is expertly done, capturing the real beauty of San Marco. The extras are useful, especially Sir John Eliot's 20 minute documentary , which naturally leads into the performance (following Mr Robson's feet up to the pulpit). Whenever Sir John speaks, he does so with such passion and understanding that one cannot help but believe him!

Cannot be faulted, and has proved an excellent tool in teaching students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vespers in Venice, 20 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I enjoyed the original BBC broadcast, bought the VHS tape and was delighted to upgrade to DVD. Watching this marvellous performance in San Marco is a Christmas tradition in our family. When dusk arrives on Boxing Day we settle to listen to the marvellous music in a dramatic presentation of the text (performed from memory by the soloists and choirs using the pulpits and balconies in San Marco) and to see interior views and close ups of one of the glories of western civilisation. The vocal elaborations constantly delight the ear with the unexpected. It is always a moving and uplifting experience. I also own the CD and it is my favourite version of the Monteverdi Vespers of the two I own. Unmissable, especially if you love Baroque music and Venice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The singing is exquisite and the setting in Venice is beautiful, and its original home. A feast for the eyes and ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must have for your collection., 10 July 2014
By 
Scribbler (Bedford, Beds, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
John Eliot Gardiner provides a beautiful insight into the history and architecture of Venice in combination with his unique skills and passion conducting his beloved Monteverdi Choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 April 2011
By 
A. Withers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is a reissue of a BBC transmission from St Marks Venice. Not having all the equipment, I was unable to sample the advertised surround sound. I echo the sentiments of my fellow reviewers about the excellence of this DVD - to see and hear this classic work from St Marks Venice where Monteverdi was the maestro di Capella is just wonderful. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful performance and sound, off-putting picture quality, 27 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I think this is an excellent performance (there are now versions of the Vespers on CD to suit all tastes, so people are bound to differ), and the recording seems worthy of it, but for me the video quality was so poor on a fairly large screen that I found it distracting, and in the end just listened with the picture turned off. It seemed fuzzy and oversaturated, on my setup anyway. I wonder if it could be remastered - after all it was a professional TV production and the quality of the original tapes must be good, even if not up to HD standards and of course the aspect ratio will always be 4:3. There is probably no realistic chance of it being reissued as it's too much of a minority item. I suggest that people either get the CD, or watch it on a small screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct 2014
By 
A. Hofman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As ever all went according to plan. Fast delivery and everything as promised.
Thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splendid DVD, 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I recorded this from the BBC, when it was first broadcast. It remains the DVD recorded performance by which others ( there aren't any!) would be judged. The video was thrown out long ago, but I have the sound recording. In introducing a friend to it, I thought she'd love to see the splendour of the original.

The video quality is at best adequate, but the sound is good and the performance glorious. JEG conducts with his usual serious dramatic flair, and his orchestra, chorus and soloists are wonderful. It is fun to see a VERY young Bryn Terfel in the lineup. But, it is expensive for an old and discontinued DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vespro Della Beata Vergine: The Monteverdi Choir [DVD] [2003]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews