Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

185
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2003
Pokemon ruby and Sapphire are the 2 new Pokemon games and since i got them months ago i still can't put them down,this Pokemon game has so much more to offer then the other Pokemon games with:
over 100 New! pokemon which all of them look Ace,
The new 2 on 2 battles are one of the best things ever to happen to a pokemon game
The graphics and sound have got so much more better
The gameplay is ace
The colours have got so much better aswell
and thers loads more...Want to be in a Pokemon World...then go buy Pokemon Ruby or Sapphire..Now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 5 December 2005
This is the biggest improvement ever between 2 games. There is more pokemon added to the originals. Also it's hard to miss the amazing graphics. The pokenav is good how it has a zoom button so that you can see what is in it. I like the den idea and the pokemon competitions like the beauty contests and berry blending. Also the running shoes are a great idea too along with the two differenrt type of bikes. One of them is a BMX which can do bunny hops and wheelies and stuff. The other one is a speed bike. The map is a lot nicer as well(probably the best out of all of them). The raining looks good as well. There is an improvement in gym puzzles also. To go with it I would recommend the strategy guide as it tells you where to get different pokemon.
This game should be purchased by all pokemaniacs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 27 November 2005
When you look back at pokemon yellow and the older games you realise how brilliant the graphics are.I would probably say it has the best graphics a game boy advance game ever has! It has got a wide variety of pokemon. The only problem is when you finish it, it's boring and you can never be bothered to do it again. Regarding that it is still an outstanding game and is well worth buying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 3 November 2005
i just started playin this game... and its amazing! i read some reviews that say its not as good as some of the others, but the last one i played was the old gameboy blue one,, and this seems like a MASSSIVE improvement. its all colour and animated. im lookin forward to gettin into this game
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 26 July 2006
Ruby is possibly one of the best Pokemon games to date. The legendary pokemon look amazing and have brilliant attacks. The two on two battle feature is a nice new addition, adding more strategy to the gameplay. This is a must have for Poke-fans and gamers alike!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 July 2010
Pok'emon Ruby was released in 2003 and the first Pok'emon game to be released for the Game boy Advance, it is part of the 3rd generation series and the 5th game to be released in Europe.

For those of you new to Pok'emon , in the 90's and early 00's a craze following of the Anime Pok'emon began, it follwed Ash katchum, a 10 year old boy in Kanto who lives alongside creatures known as Pok'emon. He wants to become a trainer , to battle using Pok'emon. There's two main objectives from it , one to become the ultimate trainer and two to "catch em all".
This is passed over to the games where you control new characters , battling through different areas to become the ultimate trainer.

Pok'emon Ruby keeps the same gameplay mechanics and style which made the series so popular, but as well as the carrying over of simple story and engaging gameplay their are also a few new features of Ruby, as well as a new region and 135 new Pok'emon.

But I'll mention the stroy quickly , this is a completely new region to explore named Hoenn and based on the japanese city of kyushu. Here there are nine citys and 6 towns to explore, all designed in great detail and new characters to meet.
You start as a young trainer who has just moved to his new house in Littleroot town in the back of the moving lorry. So after all the usual chatting to your mum and seeing your room (Gamecube is sitting by the TV) , it's off to find Birch for your new Pok'emon. But he is no were to be seen , after a short wander you find him being chased by a wild Pok'emon and you must quickly decide on a Pok'eball to use to fight off the Pok'emon and save Birch.
Your new Pok'emon choices are Treecho, Torchic or Mudkip and all of these look really cool making it quite difficult to decide which one you want and so can spell a bit of replay value.
You also have a new rival in Birch's kid who turns up sporadically throughout the game to have a battle.
The new start to the story is a lot more exciting than the previous games and feels as though it is getting you engaged quicker with the dangerous world of Pok'emon, the use of quick sound while your choosing makes it a really pressing situation and so you end up picking the one you really like.
The main plot does remain the same in beating the gym leaders and defeating the elite four, as well as catching all the Pok'emon in the game. The side plot still involves Team Magma for Ruby and Team Aqua for saphire, and both involve using the Cover Pok'emon of their respective title to either flood or dry up the region, with you tasked to stop them.

The first of the features has to be the graphical enhancement of the game, seeing as the GameBoy Advance was the most powerful incarnation of the GameBoy this was widely expected.
This is clear from the beggining as you meet Prof. Birch , giving the regular Pok'emon speech about what they are and how the world is full of these creatures. He has a much more rounded design than the blocky look of past games, the colour in his face and karki shorts really pops out of the screen.
This is also represented in the gameplay is a lot more colourful and is more detailed, a complete overhaul has happend and it makes it intresting to travel the new region and see the new Pok'emon in all their glory. A few examples of the detail are that right at the begging of the game Pok'emon are helping to move stuff into the house, their grey muscles are tensed and they look very cool. Another is the houses themselves which now look more solid and 3D, having chimneys and brickwork as well as the roses outside popping out from the grass.
Similarly with the battle system , it's all a bit more colourful and bouncy as well as keeping the animation when opening a Pok'eball which all looks really realistic.

The second new feature is in the Battle system, due to the increased capabilities of the Advance you could now have 2v2 battles over 4 devices. This makes the game more fun and also has a bit more of a competitive edge, especially playing against mates.
An addition on this is an adaption to the stats, Pok'emon now have innate abilities, nature and condition.
Innate abilities are ones which are shared between all the Pok'emon of the same species and so really define the type your using. These mean that certain Pok'emon have immunity to moves or increases damage of a move.
Natures do the same as abilities but are more to do with the inner workings like the defense, attack or speed levels of the Pok'emon and aren't as obvious, although they are just as important.
Conditions are used in Pok'emon contests which are mini games where you do moves in front of a panel, a bit like a Pok'emon crufts. These contents are an intresting bit of the game, there are numerous areas to enter in which can be Beauty, Cute, Tough, Cool and Smart.

Pok'emon could be exchanged between the Advance and the Gamecube , allowing a trade between the likes of Pok'emon colloseum to get all the Pok'emon.

Finally, because of the improved ability of the Advance the game was not backwards compatible meaning you would have to start from scratch in your collection.

The soundtrack for the game has also changed and is one which is a bit happier and light hearted, although the noises of Pok'emon and conversations have remained mostly the same.

The controls too have stayed exactly the same and are as simple as ever , making it really easy for anyone to pick the game up and enjoy it.

Has 100's of hours of gameplay to be had.

Overall, it is a strong transistion to the Advance, however the game maybe didn't bring as many new features to the game as expected , although it is a new area with over 100 new Pok'emon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 22 April 2003
Pokemon Ruby and Sapphire are 2 great games that a big improvement on the previous Pokemon titles - the best improvements being the new Pokemon, Pokemon Contests and 2-on-2 trainer battles. There's hours of gameplay in it - I haven't even beaten the Elite Four on my copy of Pokemon Sapphire yet, and I've already spent over 40 hours playing!
The only downside is the fact that you can't trade with older versions of the Pokemon games and that you can only actually catch 200 Pokemon because many of the older Pokemon can't be caught (they've been programmed into the games, but you can't catch them without using a Gameshark). This leaves a big question about how to catch these Pokemon though... perhaps they will be unlocked with a Gamecube game in the future??? I hope so!
After saying this though, if you've enjoyed the other Pokemon titles, you won't be disappointed. This is well worth your money, and not to be missed by Pokemon fans.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 3 July 2003
Playing Gold/Silver and Crystal,I thought that there's no Pokemon game that will beat this lot.Guess what?Pokemon Ruby came along with a 100 new pokemon added to the original 251.That makes an incredible 351 pokemon to catch!!Pokemon Ruby is set in a new world called Hoenn.New places,trainers,gym leaders awaits.The Pokedex has turned from good to excellent.Lastly the graphics,it has got a new 2d/3d look.There's some nice touches too,like seeing your own refection in the water and leaving footprints in the sand.If you like Pokemon and RPG games,buy this you won't regret it!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 29 November 2007
I used to LOVE Pokemon when I was younger and my cousins had this game and I loved playing it, when I got it myself I was very happy with it, it's good and long and you can play it for months. The only problem with it is that it's basically impossible to get all of the Pokemon seeing as you need a Mystic and Aurora Ticket from a Nintendo Event, which are nearly always in America. It's a fantastic game though, and I love it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
You know, when I picked this up from the local import store, I wondered if it was going to be worth the price. It really is.
I pretty much agree with everything alodee2002 already mentioned. This is one increadably vivid game. The sheer level of interaction is impressive. The weather system, as subtle as it is, is downright staggering - to simply see the sun come out after a rainstorm, and clouds reflected in the puddles, comes as a complete surprise. The level of interaction that you can have with the game is facinating - enter contests, train creatures, battle, explore, even create a secret lair.
It's a smooth, easy game to get to grips with, but provides a real challenge. Unlike the previous games, it has a full storyline. Managing to capture all the creatures will no doubt take years, but it's a fun adventure.
Pretty much, this is an RPG that any game fans should try, especially if they don't care for the anime, movies, or media hype for the series. It's thoroughly involving, and is able to keep even myself, a 20 year old guy, facinated. I've had my copy for only a week and I've clocked in over 30 hours gameplay time.
It's also worth mentioning that there are few differences between this game and Saphire - more differences than the previous titles which only featured different creatures. As well as that, the adversaries that you face in Ruby (Team Magma) are not the ones you face in Saphire (Team Aqua). Also the fact that the storyline revolves around the creature shown on the box (which can only be captured in that specific game) is an excellent touch.
If I was pushed to find any flaw with this, it would be that there is perhaps just too much ocean area to explore in the later part of the game. Without a coherant map, it's just downright bewildering and very easy to get completely lost. Just a warning, it may be worth your time to draw up a map for yourself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pokémon Fire Red (GBA)
Pokémon Fire Red (GBA) by Nintendo (Game Boy Advance)

Pokémon Leaf Green (GBA)
Pokémon Leaf Green (GBA) by Nintendo (Game Boy Advance)

Pokémon Gold
Pokémon Gold by Nintendo (Game Boy Color)
£147.97
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.