Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dodge This!
I have seen a lot of websites and magazines criticise this game and after playing it I would have to say that they have been very harsh. I saw one website give it 4/10. This game is great fun! I'm a fan of The Matrix and the game does capture the true spirit of the films.
I love taking out a squad of SWAT Team without having to fire a bullet, by running sideways down...
Published on 2 Jun 2003

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars matrix video game
A very poor game, mostly because of rubbish controls, and dodgy camera angles. Also there is little skill in invloved, (run and shoot with press of a button) I Completed this game in 6 hours and found it very frustrating.
The only reason gamers think its good, is beacuse of the popularity of the martix trilogy and good non playable cut scences. Sorry guys this game...
Published on 3 July 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dodge This!, 2 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
I have seen a lot of websites and magazines criticise this game and after playing it I would have to say that they have been very harsh. I saw one website give it 4/10. This game is great fun! I'm a fan of The Matrix and the game does capture the true spirit of the films.
I love taking out a squad of SWAT Team without having to fire a bullet, by running sideways down a wall and jumping straight in the middle of the team only to start mixing it up some geniune Matrix moves. (Don't think it's an easy game though)
You know you're playing a unique game when you disarm an enemy with some quick hands only to beat them away with the gun that was once in their possession.
Agents really do make you think 'oh s**t' when you see them appear, which again is true to the film as you are only either Niobe or Ghost. (It wouldn't be much of a game if you were the indestructible Neo, although it would be pretty enjoyable.) It's normally best to run in the game when one appears!
You could say the game is very linear and that there are better games out there such as 'Max Payne' and 'Metal Gear Solid 2', but 'Enter the Matrix' holds it's own and is defiantly worth playing.
Overall; entertaining, rapid and stylish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENTER THE MATRIX: THE FIRST EVER DECENT MOVIE TIE-IN, 28 April 2003
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
You've had enough of this. Every movie tie-in is rubbish and dull. But every cloud has a silver lining, after all, and Enter The Matrix may just be it.
The game isn't just based on The Matrix: Reloaded, it weaves in with the plotline. Certain scenes in the movie are extended. Good so far.
You can choose which character you take control of at the start of the game. You have a choice of Niobe or Ghost. The story and gameplay change slightly depending on who you choose. For instance, if you choose Ghost, you get to fight Trinity.
The fight sequences are stunning, combing uber-cool kung-fu moves with awesome gunplay. But the main attraction is Bullet Time.
"Hold on!" I hear you say. "Didn't Max Payne do Bullet Time in 2001?" Well, yes, but it was inspired by the first Matrix movie. So was every game of 2002........... And guess what? They did it rubbishly! But as this is The Matrix, you can give it a bit of an easier time. Just increase your focus, and hold down a shoulder button.Bullets slow to a crawl, enemies move at a snail's pace and you can pull off some fancy moves.
The driving sections are great as well. You control Niobe as you tear through the streets in your car. But there's more! You can prompt Ghost to lean out of the window and fire a machine gun. Later on, you even get to ride the Logos hover-craft, but I'm not giving away too much..........
Whether you're a fan of The Matrix, action or video games, then this is highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Extra Dimension to The Matrix, 27 May 2003
By 
J. N. Rendle (Her Majesty's Grand Brittania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
The makers of "Enter The Matrix" told us that this game is sort of like The Matrix 2.5 - a hybrid between the 2nd and 3rd episodes of the movie. Right from the start we see that this isn't just hype. Actors from the second movie appear in FMV sequences not seen in The Matrix Reloaded, because they were filmed solely for the game. While this adds to the feeling that you're really part of the movie, the lack of a coherent plot in the game takes part of this away.
Playing as one of 2 characters from the movie (which can only help with replay value of the game) you really get to do everything that Neo and Trinity do in the movies. Being able to slow time down while you leap in the air, ninja-kick a guard under the jaw, and send his friend flying across with your fist is so much fun, you'll want to yell out "Bring 'em on!"
The controls are a little weird to get used to. One joystick is pointlessly and unhelpfully used for both turning and moving, but a few levels of gameplay and this quickly doesn't become much of an issue. There are plenty of savespots, and loadtime isn't noticeably painful.
As a 'special feature' the game blurb says that you get to "hack into your console" - which is a lot less exciting than it sounds. You get a UNIX-style prompt to work from within the special features, and in the file structure you'll find a password you need to enter into a website. I've not bothered with that yet, but it would be nice if this feature gave you extra powers or abilities within the game. I'm having far too much fun slowing down time and kicking butt for this to distract me, but it may well be useful in extending the lifespan of the game after I've finished.
In summary then, it's a very kung-fu, action-oriented game. Not nearly as thought-provoking as the movie, but still a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game for the fans, 14 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
basically if you're a big fan of the films this game has everything you could possibly dream of. its got the extra hour of footage (and a sneak peak at revolution when you complete the game) that ties in with reloaded. its got the soundtrack from reloaded which is wonderfully atmospheric. and the action plays like out just like it does in the films with you running up walls and breaking people's necks in slow motion. graphically this game is pretty good-not great and not bad. you'll easily make do with the graphics. the game itself is a pretty short ride but it does have alot of replayability so dragging out the story to further the length of the game may have proved a bad decision plotwise. i'm giving this game 5 stars but you should only read it as a five star review if you are a big matrix fan. other people should look elsewhere for their action needs-they won't have a clue whats happening for a start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPLOSIVE!!!!, 31 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
The game starts off with some pretty good screen shots then goes on too choose a character (the only characters that are available are niobe or ghost).
Throughout the game you must complete different tasks and go through different buildings or cities.
Through your character you are able to run up walls, jump great distances,be the all time fighting machine and even dodge bullets but to do these moves succesfully you must free your mind (all you have to do is press the focus button).
With explosive graphics and great scenes this game is off the hook.
I recommend this game to a matrix fan or anyone who's never heard the matrix because this game is a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Didn't They Make This Game Earlier?!, 4 Aug 2003
By 
Oliver Deans (YARM, CLEVELAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is well worth the money. It is just soo realistic, it makes you want to play on it non stop until you have got to the end! If you have seen the film 'matrix reloaded' then your in for an even bigger treat as the characters are almost identical. The best bit i found was the way you can take the action and put it into slow motion (but this time is limited). All you have to do is hold down L1 and your character will run across walls, do backflips to dodge bullets etc all in slow motion! Mega ay? Not forgetting the fighting, which you can also put in slow motion. Not only that, but you have a mixture of guns to use aswell! The only down of this game is that if you happened to play it all the time it could get a bit boring. But that is only in my opinion. Anyway, Enter The Matrix is a must for anyone who loves to play action games. Thank you for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so much as game as an interactive movie..., 11 July 2003
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
First things first - do not expect this game to bring any great advancements in the computer game field - it doesn't. What it does do, and very well at that, is give us an alternate view at goings on around the time that the Matrix Reloaded is set.
The storyline runs basically parallel to goings on in Reloaded, and the characters are all much the same, though there are a few extras. Whereas in the film we concentrate on the activities of Neo, Trinity and Morpheus, in Enter the Matrix you take the role of Niobe or Ghost, their equals on another ship.
Gameplay is good, though very linear. This is obvious though, as the story for this was written basically as a movie plot by the wachowski brothers, therefore the game must stick to that plot. The various 'focus' skills available are interesting, and some quite entertaining, but can wear a bit thin after a while.
To put it simply, this is one to go for if you want to see the underlying story to what goes on in the matrix reloaded. Without the Matrix connections, this would be a distinctly average game, but the plot is interesting and it has been tied up nicely.
The hacking mode is mildly entertaining, though the items and levels you can unlock are quite disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Know Kung-Fu!, 1 Jun 2003
By 
tom wilks (brigstock, northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
This is one of those games that could have turned out really bad, and I really mean bad. Just think of the seemingly endless stream of titles that populate your local bargain-bin, and you'll realise that an awful lot of them are awful movie-games that had the potential to be so good. Thank Heaven then, for the Wachowski brothers, who have ensured that this game is one of the best I've played, particularly in its genre. Probably the best thing about the game is the sheer number of times you go "Wow!" whilst playing it. The sheer joy you experience when you replicate one of those gravity-defying moves we all marvelled at in the cinema, is unrivalled by any other game, and the immense variety of amazing stunts means that you don't stop gawping until the very end. Sharp graphics and the specially-written plot with unique film footage, combined with the eratic, orchestral music common to the films creates a real sense that you really are part of the Matrix world. The only disappointing thing is the hacking, which I feel should be a lot more in-depth and allow you to change a lot more things once you get used to it. With the release of this, and "The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers", things seem to be looking up for movie-games, and the bargain-bins may be a little less full in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is absolutly amazing, they seem to have got everything right. I have always enjoyed hand to hand combat games but usually that means something like 'Tekken', where you are just fighting. This combines hand to hand combat, gunmanship and with that extra litle twist that the game gives by use of the focus button so that you can atempt real 'matrix' moves yourself.It does sound complicated but trust me the fighting is easy to control, so taking out traind SWAT teams is a challenge, but not because of the complex nature of the controls, which is normaly a draw back.Also when you are in 'the matrix' you get supurb computer genarated graphics but when you 'jack out' you get real live dvd quality scenes preformed by the actors from the movie.All of the qualities that make a good game are combined so well in this game i swear you will enjoy playing on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slower than you'd think, 11 Oct 2003
This review is from: Enter the Matrix (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is a god-send for fans of The Matrix, even people who don't like The Matrix movies or are at all intrested in the franchise, will still like/love this. The graphics aren't at all great, but decent enough. The controls are definetley neat, making it so easy to understand while playing, you might find some of it just TOO easy, especially if you're the Hardcore Gamer. But, despite this, like all games should, it does gradually get harder towards the end. Taking control of 2 characters is great, especially when they both have a variety of individual skills and moves. When you hear about the hour extra movie footage, you might find that a weak spot for your'e wallet, but when it comes down to it, you won't really notice or really appreciate it at all. (Unless you're a Matrix nutcase, of course)
All in all, 4 Stars in bang on when it comes to Enter The Matrix, with 2 different playable characters, with their own seperate missions and storylines, it's pretty lengthy, not to mention a host of great cheats like multiplayer and training levels. If you should like the idea, the fighting stuff, and flashy slow-motioned eye candy, then you WILL like this. So, go buy this, it's cheap too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa429a8)

This product

Enter the Matrix (PS2)
Enter the Matrix (PS2) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation2)
7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews