Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is heavy...
'Amplifier worship' shows just how heavy music can be. The first track is so slow it's almost stationary. The bass frequencies on this album are so unbelievably low and heavy it makes you feel as if you're being crushed by it! The vocalist's gutteral screams and shouts are actually quite haunting, yet he sounds like he's trying to escape from a mental asylum! Track 4 or 5...
Published on 23 Sep 2003 by janedutton4

versus
7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars down-tuned sludge-o-rama.
for the last decade or so music coming out of japan has been increasingly interesting and diverse. from the acid-drenched wailings of the boredoms to legendary noise terrorist merzbow we have come to expect japanese bands breaking through into the western markets to be challenging. and on paper boris are a mouth-watering prospect.
there is no mistaking the fact that...
Published on 21 April 2004 by Mr. M. C. Hood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is heavy..., 23 Sep 2003
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
'Amplifier worship' shows just how heavy music can be. The first track is so slow it's almost stationary. The bass frequencies on this album are so unbelievably low and heavy it makes you feel as if you're being crushed by it! The vocalist's gutteral screams and shouts are actually quite haunting, yet he sounds like he's trying to escape from a mental asylum! Track 4 or 5 (can't remember which one) is more upbeat, with a more punky vibe to it and yet more manic vocals.
This album is great- it's dark, heavy, yet quite a good album to sleep to. The c.d case is green and there's a gummy worm in the spine of it! I was gonna give this album 4 stars but the artwork/ design pushed it up a star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well chewy, 28 Nov 2004
By 
G. S. Collins (Belper.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
This is a re-release of a 1998 slab of gewiness(?) with a gummi worm jammed into the jewel case. The cover artwork is by Stephen O'Malley, and the band took their name from a Melvins song. Like both of these artists, Boris bring a dry sense of playfulness to everything they do (frog sounds, "Amplifier Worship"???!!), and still manage to trepan the heck out of any willing headphonaut.
This disc is best listened to straight through, so that the various parts get a chance to work together. Even the quiet bits have a heaviness, like Bohren und der Club of Gore, or Corrupted's acoustic dirge,'Gekkou No Daichi'. The heaviness, like the opening track, is Huge.
I just wish someone would license the rest of this band's output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boris power!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
I already had a copy of their 'Smile' LP (and I've heard a few others) but after seeing Boris live recently I just had to get another album by these awesome Japanese sludge-rock legends. If you haven't seen them live I can't reccommend them enough; a double-necked guitar, a massive gong,a singing (and very enthusiastic)drummer, and layers of bone rattling noise! Boris use stacks of huge amplifiers live so this albums title couldn't be more perfect. 'Amplifier Worship' also manages to transalte that sense of huge, overwhelming power that the band wield live- as if to further emphsise this the first track is called 'Huge'. 'Huge' is nine-minutes of deathly slow doom-rock riffage and Sunn0))) levels of volume- it's incredible. Boris have a pretty eclectic sound but 'Amplifier Worship' definately focuses on their love of doom-rock, heavy-psychedelia and the Melvins. It's an uncomprimising, experimental album with a few of the tracks stretching out into 15 minute beamoths- they sound brilliant on headphones! A great Boris album........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and very varied, 18 Sep 2010
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
This is my first venture into any of Boris' music, but I have been rather charmed by it. I am a huge fan of stoner and sludge stuff anyway so it was probably inevitable that I would like this band, but what I'm saying is that just on the first listen this CD hooked me... and suprised me too which is not something I can often say for the genre.

So how does it sound? Well it's very heavy for the most part, being either droney or sludgy... but not in an oppressive Sunn O))) kind of way, more in an enthralling Pelican sort of way i.e. it's very loud and very heavy but it just sounds powerful, not depressing. It's a pretty standard rock band setupd (Drums, bass, guitars, vocals) but it's used in various, very effective ways. For instance the song Kuruimizu starts out like a heavy sludge song then drops down to near silence with just a distant bassline line and then... it turns into a full on Explosions in the Sky-esque post-rock song. No joke; it sounds like it shouldn't fit but it worked so well. The last thing I will mention is that many of the riffs herein instantly reminded me of the Melvins, but I don't suppose that's too suprising seeing as how this band take their name from a Melvins song

Vocals/Lyrics? The vocals are good, I like them. Nothing groundbreaking... nothing varied really; more or less just constant shouting in a sort of EyeHateGod Sludge style. But it works for the album and it doesn't get tiresome as it has some nice echo effects that keep things fresh.

I can't comment much on the lyrics since I haven't read them but from what I can hear they all appear to be in Japanese (No suprise really, Japanese band and all that); a language which I unfortunately don't speak and as such I am unable to critique what I heard.

Overall I would highly recommend this to any open-minded rock/metal fan but particularly to those who already have a leaning towards the sludgy stonery stuff. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Dom x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avoid If Your Face Easily Melts, 20 April 2008
By 
Tom Chase (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
Never have I come across an album with such a wonderfully accurate title. "Amplifier Worship" is a bludgeoning, mind-numbing onslaught of guitar tone at its most heavy. It is also a complex and very progressive album, and this is what separates Boris from the rest of the doom/drone/stoner field - their ability to utilise extreme doom and drone amidst various contrasting genres.

The bookends to the album, "Huge" and "Vomitself" are pure unabashed outings into heaviness - the former is an abrasive and threatening opening, fully equipped with lumbering doom grooves, shrieked vocals and slogging drone blasts. The counterpart bookend "Vomitself" is 17 minutes of classic drone a la Earth and Sunn O))), equally otherworldly and epic. The middle section of "Amplifier Worship" makes for a more varied and eclectic listen. "Ganbou-Ki" starts in a similar vein to "Huge" but a sudden tempo change breakdown cuts in and shifts the atmosphere completely. The song grooves and drifts into a base-lead march with hypnotic ambience, tribal drumming and atmospheric guitar antics. "Hama" starts with energetic punk rock then breaks down with a very retro 70s stoner rock groove. "Kuruimizu" fashions a brooding finale, sounding part ambient and part post-rock with down tempo, gentle and trippy guitar layering. These songs are superbly varied, showcasing a band in full control shifting genres, tempos and dynamics with ease.

Fans of stoner/doom/drone will find much joy here. "Amplifier Worship" is on of the sheer heaviest albums I have ever heard, but also one of the most compelling and perfectly experimental. Highly recommended for fans of this sound and style or just those wanting something heavy with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crawl into your little noise, 12 July 2005
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
Boris....well its wierdness isn't it. I had a hole in my music collection that escaped my detection until one corblimey afternoon in a friends house. Stuck on this cd he did and pushed my face into the ground. its a mucky, dirty album this. the tracks are long and punishing and yet these crazy Japaneseophiles manage to pull structure and melody from the ashes of nothingness. Its not as challenging as Merzbow and one step towards stoner rock with a little tickle from death metal. If a man with a raspy cough made sweet sweet love to six pints of bass and breakdown then this is what you'd get, the drone, obey it. standout track Hama. I had this song playing out of some lamebum computer speakers with windows media player visualisations on. It put me into some kind of bango trance. If you dont buy this then you're off my xmas card list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars down-tuned sludge-o-rama., 21 April 2004
By 
Mr. M. C. Hood (Bury St Edmunds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amplifier Worship (Audio CD)
for the last decade or so music coming out of japan has been increasingly interesting and diverse. from the acid-drenched wailings of the boredoms to legendary noise terrorist merzbow we have come to expect japanese bands breaking through into the western markets to be challenging. and on paper boris are a mouth-watering prospect.
there is no mistaking the fact that boris are, at heart, a drone band. songs last 8-9 minutes often with lengthy interludes of monotonous feedback yet unlike labelmates sunn o))) they introduce elements of stoner and even crusty punk to their low end rumble. its an inspired concept, yet unfortunately boris dont have the song writing skill to pull it off to best effect. in order to use feedback you have to do something interesting with it. sunn o))) bleed frequencies to create thunderous walls of sound and khanate incorporate it into eerie atmospheric, pant-soiling tableaus of sonic evil. boris, however, hold the same note for a very long time which may be all arty but is in fact terribly boring. thankfully they are not a one trick pony as other elements of their style are commendable. they show a sound grasp of stoner riffing playing in a similar vein to sleep and their punked up numbers lurch and grate like discharge on downers.
this is all well and good but, and this is a big but, boris dont seem to know how to structure a song. they have all the right concepts to impress southern lord devotees and should, by all rights, be producing an extremely tasty slice of psychadelic pie. yet it just doesnt fit. blissful drones burst into mammoth riffs without warning and tribal drums appear out of nowhere. these sort of 'turn-on-a-dime' dynamics are exciting in hardcore music but in snail-pace sludge it just sounds awkward.
with a bit more time spent on melding their waywards styles together boris could be something truly spectacular. perhaps a collaboration with drone overlord stephen o'malley or some sonic advice (there are more dials than just reverb!!) from experimentalist aaron turner could see this japanese trio mate their drone tendecies with their zepelin fetishes successfully. until then, however, boris will continue to be a mediocre band with ideas above their station.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amplifier Worship
Amplifier Worship by Boris (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews