Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars62
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2004
I love this album. There's no sanitised production job, it's simply the band staggering into the studio, plugging in, turning it up to 11 and ripping through some loud and fast rock'n'roll. All the songs can stand on their own two feet and easily compete with the title track. It's raw, heavy, no nonsense music. It leaves you feeling used and dirty, just the way Lemmy intended!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
It gave me great pleasure to reconnect with The Ace of Spades.
Now at 68 years I still remember what I was doing when I first heared it!
Good disc for old rockers! J.Ryan
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2002
For those of us lucky enough to have seen them play in their early days this album is one of the definitive heavy rock albums of that era (I would never call them a heavy metal band). If you weren't born when this came out and you want to know why your dad's deaf listen to this....
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Ace of Spades was the album that bought motorhead and fast, aggressive music to the mainstream. this album is a ripsnorting, face blasting gut busting masterpiece of intense hard rock. Fast paced and relentless, all 30 or so minutes of it.

With suck classics as the well known Ace of spades and Jailbait. this album is a must have, every rock fan should have this in their collection. The drums come bashing on driving you forward with an energy and Attitude that instantly makes you feel happy and energetic, the music has such energy and passion you cannot help but want to play it again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2010
My introduction to Motorhead was hearing 'White Line Fever' from their first album, a lumbering, growling song, but good all the same. Then they turned up the heat and the pace. Lemmy might have cut his first records during the old wave era, but by the time this album came out it's probably fair to say he'd influenced many of the so-called 'new wave of British heavy metal' bands. 'Ace of Spades', the single and the album, are just the commercially successful culmination of what Motorhead had been doing for years, relentless, loud, high energy music. They're a far better band than they seem on first hearing. The title track's fame seems to loom large over the rest of the material, but it's all worthwhile. The only danger is that their one-way approach leads to one track sounding much the same as the previous song, but on this album at least it isn't a problem. 'Ace Of Spades' represents a peak; after this, they began to lapse into self-parody, though I never got the impression they were serious. Enjoy without prejudice.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
AFTER SOME YEARS OF LIVING WITH A "DEAD MAN"- WHO HAD HIS HEAD IN A BOOK, FIXED ON THE FOOTBALL MATCH, AT WORK ALL HOURS, PAID MORE ATTENTION TO THE DOG, OR HIS HEAD WAS IN A NEWSPAPER, MY THREE SONS AND I WOULD LISTEN TO MOTORHEAD AND I FOUND SOME EXCITEMENT FROM LISTENING TO THEIR SONGS- ESPECIALLY "ACE OF SPADES" . I GOT TO LOVE THAT GRAVELLY VOICE OF LEMMY, IN FACT I STILL DO NOW I AM 71! GREAT BEAT AND BACKING.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
This album opened up the 80's, and with a start like this the decade should have been blistering, where did the rest of the music industry go so wrong?

This album is unrelenting, no room for introspection, navel gazing or romanticism, aim for the throat and ram it down, machine gun-like bass lines from Mr. Kilminster drive from one track to another, take no prisoners, Motorhead are staring into the whites of your eyes and shooting with both barrels, it is like ZZ Top's "Tres Hombres" at an orgy and on speed!

The remaster includes an EP Motorhead did with Girlschool for valentines day, including a brilliant cover of the Johnny Kidd and the Pirates song "Please Don't Touch", an excellent addition.

My only criticism would be (hence 4 starts not 5) the pace of the album is the same all the way through and each track can tend to blur into the previous one and by the time you get to the mindblowing finale of "The Hsammer" you can be thinking "this is the same riff as the opening title track, however that could be seen as very clever, a never ending circle that starts exactly where it finishes.

An album everybody should own, buy it now!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Great rock album. was a favourite of mine while I was still a teenager. 50 now and I can play this as loud as I want. First time I had ever noticed Motorhead. Great album for us ageing rockers. Can still remember mum and dad moaning about how loud and noisy they were/are>
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
If you only get one motorhead album,this is the one to get!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2008
A great album, everyone will know "Ace of Spades" but "love me like a reptile" "fast and loose" and "road crew" still regularly appear on the live set of the loudest rock and roll band in the world. If you want fast and furious you want this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)