Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britains favorite songbird singing as beautiful as ever
"The Collection" is a so-called "compilation album" containing a total of 19 songs from Jane's two lastest albums, 7 songs (out of 16) from the June 2000 album "Inspiration" and 12 songs (out of 14) from the October 2001 album "Love At The Movies". Look out especially for the songs "Somewhere" (a song with a very special meaning for Jane), "The Girl That Used To Be Me",...
Published on 24 April 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
present
Published 2 months ago by iceman877


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britains favorite songbird singing as beautiful as ever, 24 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
"The Collection" is a so-called "compilation album" containing a total of 19 songs from Jane's two lastest albums, 7 songs (out of 16) from the June 2000 album "Inspiration" and 12 songs (out of 14) from the October 2001 album "Love At The Movies". Look out especially for the songs "Somewhere" (a song with a very special meaning for Jane), "The Girl That Used To Be Me", "The Hand That Leads Me" (Jane's very moving tribute to her mother), "Alfie". Finally, let me point out that one of the songs is "Show Me Heaven", a very fitting title to include, as that is exactly what Jane has done with this album and with her singing in general: She has shown us heaven. Pure ear-candy, pure eye-candy. Buy The Collection and listen to it late in the evening, when it is dark outside. Unplug the phone, switch off all lights in the room, lean back in your favorite chair, put up your feet - and allow yourself the luxury of disappearing into the marvelous, magical universe of Jane McDonald. When the CD has played its 19th and final song, I promise you that you'll return to this world with a big smile on your face and with tears running down your face - after an emotional rollercoaster-ride like you have never experienced it before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection: A Must For Fans Everywhere, 20 April 2003
By 
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
The Collection, a `greatest hits` album by the legendary singer Jane McDonald, is a must for fans everywhere - and for those who have been unsure about Jane`s music.
It brings together 19 tracks taken from Jane`s three albums, and is a superb showcase of her vocal talents. Moving from laid back ballad to high energy dance, this albums shows why Jane became a star after appearing on BBC TV`s `The Cruise`, and why her subsequent albums have all been best sellers.
Highlights for this reviewer would include: "To Sir With Love", "Ain`t No Mountain High Enough" (a massive dance floor hit for Jane across Europe), "The Hand That Leads Me" (a moving tribute to her Mother), "The Windmills of Your Mind" and "My Heart Will Go On".
Jane has recently moved into musical theatre, but at heart she is a solo performer.
If you have wondered what all the fuss was about then buy this cd and see why her fans adore her and her voice. If you are a fan, you will love this collection, which should have been called "The Collection Part One" because Jane surely has a long recording career ahead of her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Collection, 20 April 2003
By 
L Fennings (Scunthorpe, N. Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
For those who know Jane McDonalds' talent you will not be disappointed in this album. It is a compilation of her favourite songs that she has put her own stamp on. Those who are not familiar with this lady's talent should invest in this CD and enjoy a wonderful mixture of old and new songs sung with passion. I am sure that you will be back for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT!!!!!, 10 Jun. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
HAVE PURCHASED OTHER CD'S FROM JANE AND THIS ONE IS FABULOUS AS THEY ALL ARE.... LOVE HER, WHAT A GREAT VOICE !!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE COLLECTION, JANE McDONALD, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
A friend bought this CD off me and gives it a five-star rating. My friend says the clarity is excellent and he enjoys listening to all the tracks over and over again. One thing he liked was that he could listen to snippets of the tracks beforehand and says it was well worth the money. The only drawback is, if you buy it from a Marketplace seller, like my friend did, you do not receive the 'Autorip Free MP3 version'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Show boat, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Jane McDonald is very much underrated and although her initial fame was achieved by a reality tv show, she proves that it was no fluke, In this collection of song she demonstrates a great talent has a great voice and the ability to tackle many variations of songs. I have no idea why she not rated higher than some of the X factor or b.g.t so called singers, in my view she outperforms them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sit and relax to Jane!, 24 April 2012
By 
Helen (Hornchurch, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
When you listen to Jane, you just have to relax! The choice of songs on this CD are among everyone's favourities and she sings them so well. I have to admit to preferring original artists on original songs but Jane does the songs a lot of justice. Once you play this CD it isn't long before you play it again. She deserves all the success she has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britains favorite songbird singing as beautiful as ever, 18 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
"The Collection" is a so-called "compilation album" containing a total of 19 songs from Jane's two lastest albums, 7 songs (out of 16) from the June 2000 album "Inspiration" and 12 songs (out of 14) from the October 2001 album "Love At The Movies". Look out especially for the songs "Somewhere" (a song with a very special meaning for Jane), "The Girl That Used To Be Me", "The Hand That Leads Me" (Jane's very moving tribute to her mother), "Alfie". Finally, let me point out that one of the songs is "Show Me Heaven", a very fitting title to include, as that is exactly what Jane has done with this album and with her singing in general: She has shown us heaven. Pure ear-candy, pure eye-candy. Buy The Collection and listen to it late in the evening, when it is dark outside. Unplug the phone, switch off all lights in the room, lean back in your favorite chair, put up your feet - and allow yourself the luxury of disappearing into the marvelous, magical universe of Jane McDonald. When the CD has played its 19th and final song, I promise you that you'll return to this world with a big smile on your face and with tears running down your face - after an emotional rollercoaster-ride like you have never experienced it before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is the one that got me well and truly hooked. I seldom travel in my car without a good old sing along with JANE, she is amazing, since purchasing this I seem to be hooked on her voice. I even go to her concert now. BRILLIANT if you ever get the opportunity it is NOT TO BE MISSED !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the music, 24 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
i love jane,s music and have seen her live many times. i listen to her cd,s in the car and when ironing. she is so witty and truly a lovely person. i also have her book "Follow your dreams" and have read it many times. look forward to reading her next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Jane McDonald (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews