Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 60s RnB!
This is a terrific package of 50 tracks from the Small Faces. They were the very first band I saw (1965!), and I had forgotten just how good they were.
A raw, but soulful sound, with every member contributing 100%!

Points of particular note to me are the great Hammond organ sound of Ian McLagan, who was undoubtedly a Booker T. fan, without just being a...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by J. HOLMES

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
All the well remembered tracks on this c.d.
Published 21 days ago by M. Neal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good album from a good band, 6 May 2010
By 
D. Dixon "plotholder" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
this cd was for me an i pod filler . i never realised i knew so many songs when i played this . i saw them live in manchester but this was on the strength of itchycoo park + tin soldier .if like me your not a great fan of the band . this cd is a very good place to start your collection from .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 11 July 2008
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I expected to find three well-know vintage hits here and little else. But a week on and I'm still playing it constantly and still putting down whatever I'm doing to give it my undivided attention. Which is surprising as this was never quite my kind of music. There's stuff here I doubt I'll ever really get to like (such as the later singles on disc 1 where the B sides tend to be better). But there's also much that seriously grows on you. What was good becomes great and the best is outstanding.

Good as disc 1 (I especially like the first two singles, the intrumentals and Come On Children) disc 2 is really where it's at, dominated as it must be by the peerless Itchycoo Park, Tin Soldier (how come I never heard this before? What an intro!) and Lazy Sunday. It's easy see why some critics looked askance at the likes of Lazy Sunday but when you sit down and listen properly, instead of catching it casually from the radio, you can appreciate the perfection. What a pity that Marriot himself didn't see it that way (see the sleeve notes).

This album is a labour of love, beautifully produced, carefully selected, intelligently annotated and sartorially impeccable. It tells the story from the point of view of the two surviving group members but it is even-handed and sincere. In any event the music speaks for itself.

I'll just mention as an aside that I came to this group after listening to Blur's Parklife and on listening to the opening bars of Autumn Stone I knew I'd heard it before somewhere. Now which track by Blur would that be?

So where do I rate them? Up there with the best without any doubt. Again you reflect on the mystery of prodigious talent at such a tender age. (Most of them were only 18 when they formed and 22 when the split came.) And what exactly is it that makes it such compulsive listening?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Faces, great value!, 13 July 2011
By 
a.cage (Essex, Britian) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
One of those albums with so many good tracks where you keep thinking 'I didn't know this was one of their's!'. If you like the music of the sixties, you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Small Faces Album, 12 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The word ultimate says it all,simply superb listening to Steve Marriott's voice the ranges he reaches excellent.This album is a must for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
All the well remembered tracks on this c.d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aptly named, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
If you are as old as I am (born 1948), you will remember some of their singles even if you don't remember the Small Faces name.
This is a very representative collection of a top group of the top 60's. With 50 tracks for less than 10 it is a bargain.

My experience is that collection issues are usually unrepresentative of the the work of the artists involved. That is not the case here, probably because the Small Faces was a relatively short-lived group issuing 4 albums and about 15 singles in the period 1966 to 1968 (excluding the "reformed" group's 2 albums in 1977 and 1978). Steve Marriott as lead singer and guitarist was the mainstay of the group.

They were best known for their singles and their most well-known album is (probably) Ogdens Nut Gone Flake. When this was originally issued it came in an oversize tobacco tin (large enough for the 12" vinyl). I never owned this at the time, but in the last few years was put this on my wish list for Christmas and received a CD as a present - see my separate review of that.

The compiler's of the Ultimate Collection for the Small Faces did not have a huge collection of tracks from which to make their selection, so it was probably more a case of choosing what NOT to include. The result is very good. The singles (which were repeated on albums anyway) are included, together with album tracks including the best parts of Ogdens Nut Gone Flake (without Mr. Unwin, and with good equalisation).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (MP3 Download)
The Small Faces are a great band and this gives all their classic hits so more than pleased with cd and delivery time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab...., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This CD was purched to replace my vynyls...Steve Marriott had a fantstic voice and the music takes me back to my youth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
One for the avid collector which brings back happy memories. All the best Small Faces tracks are here and it's great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 27 Jun 2013
By 
J. KING (S.E. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for pre Rod Stewart solo career fan. He seemed pleased.Good price and swift delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Collection
Ultimate Collection by The Small Faces (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews