Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supreme Maria Callas
Maria Callas was a matchless soprano. No longer with us, she has left a legacy of her recordings that reinforce the opinions of those who believe she was the greatest opera singer and performer, not only of her own generation, but those that have followed. Self-critical of her own vocal abilities and subject to comparisons with other great sopranos, Callas has a purity...
Published 5 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan
I consider Callas as an overrated voice.
This album was really bought for one track "Mama Morte".
An aria which moved me in the film "Philadelphia" with Tom Hanks.
Published 17 months ago by John A. Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supreme Maria Callas, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
Maria Callas was a matchless soprano. No longer with us, she has left a legacy of her recordings that reinforce the opinions of those who believe she was the greatest opera singer and performer, not only of her own generation, but those that have followed. Self-critical of her own vocal abilities and subject to comparisons with other great sopranos, Callas has a purity and clarity in her delivery and vocal mastery that are distinctly hers and hers alone. Montserrat may be more vocally rounded and robust but for my money, Callas has the edge, although please listen to both artists. On this 2 CD recording, Maria Callas sings beautifully and perfectly with the passion and emotion expected from the composers Puccini, Bellini, Donzetti, Bizet and Camille.

Starting with 'Vissi D'Arte' by Tosca, 'Un Bel Di Vedremo' from Puccini's 'Madame Butterfly' to 'La Mamma Morta', and beyond, Maria Callas is a pure delight with her passion, vocal control and translation of operatic movements that evoke an emotional response. This is a compilation that is so attractive and enticing, these operatic arias should have a wide appeal. This is enduring world-class operatic singing that evokes the scenery of the dramatic events of their stage settings; enchanting, enthralling and stunning both in it beauty and intensity. Highly recommended. EMI sound is excellent as is the orchestration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GReat album, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
I am not a good reviewer of opera and classical albums, at least in the terms that will do the artist justice. But then again if you are buying this album you know what you are getting right? The album is well recorded and if you have a revealing system you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very best possible, 4 July 2009
By 
C. E. Oomkens "carol elaine" (the hague, holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
Would recommend every one who loves Maria Callas to have this as a basic 'must have'. Good quality and no 'yelling whatsoever'.
Please enjoy these 2 cd's - I have given this item as a present to my friends and they too were delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Views of a non-opera buff., 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
Although a non-opera buff I was astonished at how many times this was played during/after Xmas. Perhaps the reason for this is the quality of her voice and the way she expressed the sentiments of each piece.

Maria is clearly a great loss to the opera world although she died a little while ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Best of Maria Callas, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as a present for a friend.She has always admired Callas and found this re=mastered version very enjoyable and a great addition to her collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maria Callas Music CD, 22 April 2011
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
This was excellent, received in very good condition and is everything that we had hoped it would be. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Divina, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
You either adore her, as I do, or you think she sounds like a cat on the roof. Many of the items on these disc I have on various discs so it is nice to have them on this set. I shall sit back in my armchair and enjoy many a pleasureable evening. If you are a fellow admirer sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maria Callas at her best, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most enjoyable CD with good quality sound recordings considering the time they
Were recorded,where Maria Callas sounds at her best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
I cant say I love opera but Maria Callas was someone very special and this album is unbelievable. Recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 19 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Edward J. Spicer (Plymouth, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of: Maria Callas (Audio CD)
This CD is wonderful! She has such a great voice that it needs a great recording to show it off. The CD was quick to arrive and well packaged. I love this and to get it within a couple of days, well, says it all really.
Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of: Maria Callas
The Very Best of: Maria Callas by Giacomo Puccini (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews