Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surely unforgettable
The film tells us the stories of various individuals and their behaviour during a heat wave in suburban vienna, whose life's collide in some way during the film. Hard to say whether I like it or hate it, this is definitely one film that I'll be stuck with forever. That is on account of the actors' the brilliant portrayal of the weird, sick characters and the lean...
Published on 30 Sep 2004 by Esther Niemeier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A trip to the dark side
The story line was pretty grim. All that is squalid, lurid, petty, ugly about people in general. There were parts of this film I could not watch as it left me wondering whether humanity is worthy of redemption of any kind!
Published 3 months ago by Rupert Hanmer Grant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surely unforgettable, 30 Sep 2004
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
The film tells us the stories of various individuals and their behaviour during a heat wave in suburban vienna, whose life's collide in some way during the film. Hard to say whether I like it or hate it, this is definitely one film that I'll be stuck with forever. That is on account of the actors' the brilliant portrayal of the weird, sick characters and the lean direction of Ulrich Seidl. The cinematography, whose freeze frames make you feel watched and somehow give you an itch to move out of the picture but keep you frozen to watch at the same time, definetely does its part. It's a film to watch but beware, you'll never get rid of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog Days, 9 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Not exactly a film that is easy to enjoy but one which will stay with you long after viewing. It follows the foibles and pecadillos of a group of not especially likeable characters in clean, antiseptic, suburban Vienna. There are few redeeming features of any of the characters involved in various abusive or self-harning behaviour all hidden behind a veneer of bourgeois life. The film cuts between the different but interconnected relationships painting a not especially pleasant picture of life behind the netcurtains.
Had this film come from Germany or France perhaps or some of the grittier FilmFour productions, it would not have been so surprising or uncomfortable - from Austria, it makes me rethink my admittedly superficial image of the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dark master piece, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Don't know why it has taken me so long to get around to finding this dark surreal gem . A series of miserable characters attempt to get on with their lives despite the oppressive heat and the abuse , violence and misery of every day life . I know very little of Austrian cinema , but this film made me laugh , cover my face , suspend belief and feel the power of being alive and connected to all around . A world cinema classic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Voyage into the Dark Side of our Humanity, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
This film takes a voyage around the dark side of the human condition all set on a backdrop of an Austria which has turned in to Californian retail park, this gives the film a dreamlike quality. It feels like an exploration of the nightmare of man's inhumanity to each other and in particular, women. Although there are some highly comic moments, it is not an easy film to watch but extremely compelling. Five stars all the way, this is a quality nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A trip to the dark side, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Days (Amazon Instant Video)
The story line was pretty grim. All that is squalid, lurid, petty, ugly about people in general. There were parts of this film I could not watch as it left me wondering whether humanity is worthy of redemption of any kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oddly Compelling..., 21 Feb 2013
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
Not the sort of movie you expect to find for 99p in a medieval market town's Cash Converters!

I HAD seen Dog Days before, probably on Film 4, where such oddities belong but unaware of this director's subsequent films, though I had seen Import/Export on F4 but not made the connection.

Firstly, I find it strange that many, including some reviewers here have the notion that Austria to be a genteel place. They're human as everybody is everywhere, whether that be LA, London or Vienna. And didn't a certain A. Hitler come from Austria and more significantly, cinematic provocateur extraodinaire, Michael Haneke is Austrian and all his early movies were about and showing almost exactly the same kind of under-the-target unrest and spiralling human life of his fellow Austrians.

To be honest, whilst Haneke is much more the international film-maker (the Oscars in 2013, I believe?) and is much revered, critically, I find his rather sadistic and humourless approach just a bit too trying.

Uri's sardonic and often ridiculous scenarios are often achingly funny - such as the habitual hitch-hiker who soon gets spouting off crazy top ten lists, obviously not knowing what they mean (top ten positions for lovemaking, for example, then, for most popular models of TVs).

Filmed in one long heat-wave with lots of (frankly) overweight Austrians removing their clothing as much as they can - and not just for sex - adds to the strangeness and won't appeal to everyone, but in the 34C heat and in and around our own homes, wouldn't we want to do this too?

There are quite long periods of fairly trivial talk about trivial things - but what might be trivial to the modern suburban Viennese, is actually strangely fascinating for us. Then, there are quite long periods of sadistic cruelty - visiting Haneke's 'Funny Games' territory and as much enjoyment. These, as they should be, are an uncomfortable watch and their inclusion might be questioned, but I would guess are as otherwise the whole exercise would be a quirky, near freak-show comedy.

There are simply too may elements to go into - and if you're not one who can handle a couple of minutes of actual hardcore orgy porn, filmed specially, not as a video on someone's TV, simply ignore this movie. Over ten years have passed since this movie came out and time and viewing habits and expectations have obviously lessened many of the potential shock elements, now.

Indeed, there's almost nothing new here, that hasn't been said, now. That aside, no genre is seemingly unique now and Dog Days still appeals due to its fresh fizz and liberal attitudes. It still remains a unique viewing experience and for the liberally minded adult, has much to offer as both an offbeat social statement as well as entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable movie, 11 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
ok so its not brilliant,but its not bad either.Its a group of peoples life in very hot weather not a great plot but if you stick with it it tells quite a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A movie with a rushed script that ACTUALLY HAS LISTS of product placements, 9 Mar 2014
This review is from: Dog Days (Amazon Instant Video)
the best thing about this film is the crazy lady, mostly because I assume that the bloody insane writers were knowledgeable about this subject. Apart from that, its a long, dull mess that spoils it for all the other Austrian films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously, don't bother, 23 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dog Days [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a genuinely dreadful film. It's been done countless times before in countless other independent films - Julien Donkey Boy being the obvious example. Watch that, if you like seeing odd, seedy people doing odd, seedy things, but don't watch this. It's depressing for all the wrong reasons. A film that is depressing for all the right reasons is Lilya 4Eva. Unfortunately this has more in common with another of Moodysson's films, A Hole in My Heart (don't bother with that one either).
I didn't even get to the end of this, I had to turn it off it was so dull. The film clearly sees itself as edgy and confrontational but it is simply dull and pointless. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dog Days [2002] [DVD]
Dog Days [2002] [DVD] by Christine Jirku (DVD - 2003)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews