Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great old style chick flick!
spoilt rich girl who longs to lead a normal life, takes up a job as a nanny/housekeeper with a widowed, wealthy businessman who doesn't know her secret...
This is the kind of film that Sleepless in Seattle and While You Were Sleeping try to be! Good as those films are, they still can't match this one. The chemistry between Cary Grant and Sophia Loren is amazing...
Published on 5 Mar. 2004 by F. Mclachlan

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his finest........
Cary Grant has few opportunities in this film to be the suave urbanite seducer we know and love him for - after all he has three children, no wife and an interfering family to cope with! Having said that, he shows his unfailing comic timing and while Sophia Loren is playing as usual, Sophia Loren, there are some nice touches. She's on the run and takes a job as...
Published on 25 Oct. 2000 by michelle.hurst@virgin.net


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
As for the previous DVD, Houseboat with Sophia Loren and Cary Grant was again something I saw years ago and enjoyed and wished to see again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film houseboat, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
One of Cary grants best comedies with Sophia Loren at her most beautiful.
After viewing the film discovered that both stars had been in love with each other. Maybe that's why it such a special film the chemistry on screen shows.
The children were great actors and gave Sophia a rough time when she fell in love with their widowed father Cary.
Happy ending makes it worthwhile.
One of those films you can watch with the family over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film to curl up on the sofa with coffee & chocolate!, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
A. Richards (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
I loved this film. It's a real rainy day, feel good film. Guaranteed to put a smile on your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned fun, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
S. Crispin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
Cary Grant and Sophia Loren - if you like them then you can't help but like this film. Ms Loren sings in it too.
Basically absent father becomes successful father; reluctant lover becomes enchanted husband. Usual thing with the added warmth and light comedy of a couple of film stars who have done it all before - successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not a great movie, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
I vaguely remembered this movie from when I was little and wanted to see it again to remind myself what it was like. It's silly and romantic but it really hasn't aged well - the makeup looks ridiculous and the overacting and tenuous plot development (eg the house getting hit by a train) leave a lot to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I loved this when I first saw it, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
I loved this when I first saw it, probably around the time of it's release, but watching again now, Cary Grant was Cary Grant, charming and witty as usual, but I hadn't remembered the extremely poor acting from Miss Loren or how irritating and totally out of place was the one song which she sang repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
The fact that there is a good selection of classic movies available on amazon means you can get something that will bring back good memories time and time again for your elderly relatives, and they have it on DvD format means it won't be necessary for any old vhs machines to be laying around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bing, Bang, Bong., 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat (Amazon Instant Video)
I love this film.... It is a bit smaltzy but that is its charm. Sophia Loren was in her prime and truly beautiful. Fully understand why Cary Grant fell for her off set as well as on. And now all these years later the song, Bing Bang Bong, is being used in a TV advert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for a rainy afternoon, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
I like Cary Grant and Sophia Loren generally speaking that is why I bought the dvd.I think the films of that period have aged a lot..Well, I watched it one evening when there was nothing interesting in TV. That is all I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houseboat [DVD] [1958] (DVD)
You just can't go wrong with Cary Grant at any time and this presents a nice little romantic comedy in the truest sense of the word. This is not a 'romcom' this is fun and great acting. Timing and delivery from the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Houseboat [DVD] [1958]
Houseboat [DVD] [1958] by Melville Shavelson (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: £15.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews