Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2003
A phenomenal item which stands apart from the DVD released in tandem as a must-have package in its own right.
First impressions hark back to the days of opening that treasured new gatefold and finding goodies spilling out with the LP sleeve: within the evocative box are a poster containing press clippings, a reproduction ticket stub (how many people will sit at B17 I wonder?), a booklet and the two CDs - themselves in neon red to match the overriding chroma of the movie footage.
But enough of the ephemera. The remix has brought the concert back to life in dramatic style: the drums are loud, the guitars sqeal, Bowie and the crowd are in fine voice. Regardless of the status of this gig as the famous 'Last One', as presented here this concert stands out as one of the all-time great recorded events.
If you like Bowie, if you want a slice of the 1970s at the Hammersmith Odeon, if you want to avoid searching online auctions for this gem in future years, get it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2003
I first bought this about 15 years ago on cassette and loved it then even though the sound was ropey and it was heavily edited. When this 30th anniversary edition came out remastered and in the impressive presentation package I had to get it........it was like listening to it for the fist time. This really is a piece of history, ok the sound isn't perfect (a lot better than before) but the atmosphere really comes through. My favourite is the medley of Wildeyed boy from Freecloud/All the Young Dudes/Oh! You Pretty Things, My Death (brilliant for the final concert and where Bowie tells the audience to shut up!), and Width of a Circle. Mick Ronson will have all air guitar freaks jumping around their living room throw in Mike Garson on piano and this concert is about as good as it gets! Loved the red CD's and packaging........a must for all fans!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I have both releases, the early 80'ties (vinyl) and this one..
If you are looking for the real early 70'ties sound, skip this 30th anniversary version..
I like both, if you just want a better quality sound, take this one.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
Being a Bowie fan since the seventies. This album is a must. Although "roughly" recorded, it has been cleaned up very well, good enough to close your eyes and go back in time. No collection is complete without it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 January 2016
Of all the Bowie live albums, this is one that's most easily overlooked. I think the problem is the title. If it had been called something like "Ziggy 's Last Stand: The Final Hammersmith Odeon Concert 1973" it would resonate more strongly.

This is nearly the complete goodbye concert and earns it's place in rock history. How many other artists create an alter ego and how many reach the greatness of this strange, red haired alien?

The set list has considerable overlap with the Santa Monica '72 album because of the focus on the Ziggy Stardust studio album but this also draws on the Aladdin Sane album. Several songs are missing because they featured guest star Jeff Beck and contractual issues haven't been resolved. That's a shame because it would have been nice to hear the full experience.

I write a blog about the best live albums and in the Bowie poll, the Santa Monica and Nassau Coliseum 76 live albums fight it out for the #1 spot and this hasn't had much support. I think that's a shame.

The original release had a muddy sound but this latest version is very clear. I feel a stronger emotional attachment to this album than Santa Monica. That was a great gig but this is a historical milestone in rock, signalling the beginning of the end of glam rock. I wish I had been there.

If you're a casual Bowie fan, I think you need this or Santa Monica so that you have some experience of live Ziggy. If you're a more causal fan of 1970s Bowie, I think you need at least one live album by Bowie but my favourites are Nassau Coliseum '76 and David Live from 1974 which takes a more soulful, sax-drenched approach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Had this on vinyl for years now and went to see the movie mid 80s.
The sound quality is really good on the cd compared to the vinyl. Loving having a playback of my Bowie collection and he doesn't seem to date, a PROPER MUSIC LEGEND
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
what can i say as a 100% bowie fan, this is a must have sound track, fantastic live album, close your eyes and you are there, I wish, you feel the music with this exellent sound track, i must buy for all bowie fans out there, exellent would recommend to a freind, and take a look at the DVD too, mind blowing, if you have not got the DVD, Oh boy, get it, david bowie at his best, exellent.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
This is the Motion Picture Soundtrack 30th anniversary special edition and comes with all sorts of extra goodies in the cd case.

The album itself is really superb ... even if you're not a die-hard Bowie fan you can't help but appreciate it, and if you are, well ....
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I originally owned the first CD release of this soundtrack and found the mix a little challenging.

However, Tony Visconti has taken the master tapes and produced a far more enjoyable and listenable version of the same show. It now makes for a great audible experience and includes a host of banter and material that had originally been culled.

The show itself is legendary and extremely important to Bowie fans. The interplay between Bowie and Mick Ronson is fabulous.

With regard to the packaging, the anniversary edition comes in a perspex slip case (mine has now discoloured over time) in which is house a box containing sleeve notes, a replica ticket and of course the two discs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
This and Hunky Dory are Bowie's masterpieces, genius. Rock 'n' roll suicide is a cherry on top of a heavily iced and fruitful cake and My Death is hauntingly beautiful! I have it on vinyl but it's a must buy?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)