Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
Since I have enjoyed so many bands on Drive Thru records, I decided to check out the rx bandits even though i hate ska music. But what a decision it was. This album is packed with ska, reggae,pop,punk and rock. All the songs are amazing and Matt's vocals are really cool. The lyrics have political meaning, the songs are catchy and it's a cd you can listen to again and...
Published on 29 Jan 2003 by William Lester

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Progress" is a varied album with lots of different influenc
I don't like the experimental part of the album where they go into slow ska-ish parts, but do believe there's some really good songs on this album as well that really rock. Especially the title song is an absolute cracker. In some ways they reminded me of the latest Reel Big Fish album. My rating would go as high as 90%, thanks to songs 2,4,5,6,9 and 13 and 30% for the...
Published on 11 April 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 29 Jan 2003
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
Since I have enjoyed so many bands on Drive Thru records, I decided to check out the rx bandits even though i hate ska music. But what a decision it was. This album is packed with ska, reggae,pop,punk and rock. All the songs are amazing and Matt's vocals are really cool. The lyrics have political meaning, the songs are catchy and it's a cd you can listen to again and again. I would also recommend their first album, Halfway Between Here and There, a mellower album which is mainly soft ska but just as good. It is hard to pick out a standout track as they are all. Whatever music you like, this a definitely a cd for everyone and it is unbelieveable how underated the Rx Bandits are
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative, original, a timeless classic, 4 May 2004
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
The title of my piece might sound more like i'm about to review Casablanca than a Drive Thru records album. But rest assured i do not make any false pretences here; this record is an absolute must in ANY music fans collection.
As others have noted, Rx Bandits have a come long way from their first two albums 'Those Damn...' and 'Halfway Between Here and There' (which were both fantastic albums it is worth remembering) and moved from a fairly straight forward, generic third wave ska approach towards a completely new and unchartered territory in music.
From the first song proper, VCG3, they kick off with a blast of intense, angsty hardcore but not the crap that all the kids with bandanas in their pockets are listening to. Its aggressive without losing its musicality and has such a fantastic groove in the verse you'll most likely find yourself swinging your pants in your chair if you have the misfortune of being sat down while you listen to this. The chorus of this song, like the rest on the album is soaring and massive and paves the way for experimentation with samples, keyboards and other unusual effects that i can't account for throughout the rest of the various songs.
For those familiar with the Bandits older sound though, there is still a great measure of a more pop-punk sound in places, but not so much that you lose a sense of what this band is about, eg. putting forward a serious message together with an unrivalled level of musicianship, particularly for a band so young (they were 21 when this record was released)
I could probably write for hours about Chris Tsagakis incredible drumming and innovative playing but instead i'll just make sure that anyone in the know is aware that this guy could push Stewart Copeland extremely close in an "all time greatest ska/reggae/post-punk/whatever" drumming contest, and for anyone interested in drumming, this is an amazing album to own.
So my advice to you ladies and gentlemen of the general public, please take heed of my advice and buy this album TODAY! Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something different, 17 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
For anyone who is tired of the whole less than jake ska trend that kicked off just recently, here's the album for you. It mixes a little bit of everything, and if you thought ska couldn't sound any different, think again. Whether you're a Capdown fan or a Reel Big Fish fan, you'll be glad you got this CD, listen to the sound clips that are up of 'Anyone But You' and the second track, which is the first song (I can't remember the name right now) the two best tracks on the CD but the others are almost as good. Not to mention, this band is an amazing live experience. Be sure to catch them with NFG in october and get blown away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
I really love this album. The songs are beautifully constructed and the album as a whole flows together. Great lyrics, with a bit more complexity than some stuff you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Uplifting, 25 Mar 2004
By 
Ron (Porthcawl, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
Buy this album if you want to see how beautiful the world can be.
There isn't a bad song on the damn thing, if every one could make albums as close to perfection as this one, we'd all be very lucky.The music is incredible even if you aren't a ska fan,they incorperate so many styles of music that you will like/love something. The lyrical content deals with alot of political issues, but not in a contrived way. You don't feel like you are having other peoples opinions forced on you, rather they are trying to open your mind and invite you into their utopic universe. To them we are all on the same ride facing the same struggles. We should learn to enjoy the ride and always remember that that is exactly what it is, a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god just buy it!!!, 29 Oct 2003
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
Ok ok i may be slighlty biast here ever since their first album ive totaly loved this band and have seen them the few times they have travelled over to this country (uk) to play.
this album is just absolutley fantastic ive owned it for about 2 years and its never beenout of my cd changer ever it realy is that good!
they are a ska ish band at heart esp if you listen to this and the first album the new album the resignation moves more away from ska although it still has a few influences in there from time to time.
but progress is damn progress its hard to believe they are the same band from the first cd but you instinctively knwo its them with those sharp lyrics and great riffs!
all i can say is buy this cd if you liek ska and even if you dont other wise you could be missing out on a great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 22 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
This album is a must have. From the reggae of Babylon to the ska punk of status this is a flawless album from start to finish. For any real music fan it is a crime not to own this album. BUY NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Progress" is a varied album with lots of different influenc, 11 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Progress (Audio CD)
I don't like the experimental part of the album where they go into slow ska-ish parts, but do believe there's some really good songs on this album as well that really rock. Especially the title song is an absolute cracker. In some ways they reminded me of the latest Reel Big Fish album. My rating would go as high as 90%, thanks to songs 2,4,5,6,9 and 13 and 30% for the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Progress
Progress by Rx Bandits (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews