Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC!
Ah, such fod memories of this TV programme, back in those halcyon days! So when it was released on DVD I bought myself a copy from Amazon, watched it and realised that I had missed some quality cult viewing!
The sets, fights, acting all oozes nostalgia, not in a corny way, as it is genuinely well made with some brilliant stories.
I recommend it to all those who...
Published on 4 Aug 2008 by Ibraar 'Le Saracen'

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars misprtint in this descrption.... (o:
The descrption of this dvd says that it contains episodes 1 thru 3... it only had one and two. Having said that, I enjoyed my trip down memory lane watching this again. Well worth a look for the price.
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by Lord A. Loch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC!, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Ah, such fod memories of this TV programme, back in those halcyon days! So when it was released on DVD I bought myself a copy from Amazon, watched it and realised that I had missed some quality cult viewing!
The sets, fights, acting all oozes nostalgia, not in a corny way, as it is genuinely well made with some brilliant stories.
I recommend it to all those who watched it back in the days, and those who haven't who appreciate fine Japanese drama.
Since I bought it, the DVD has been all over my work place, everyone wanted to borrow it!
A fine addition to my collection - to any ones collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars misprtint in this descrption.... (o:, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
The descrption of this dvd says that it contains episodes 1 thru 3... it only had one and two. Having said that, I enjoyed my trip down memory lane watching this again. Well worth a look for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Despise The Snake Because He Has No Horns, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Mike Sadler (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I have dim memories from my childhood of my father watching the Water Margin. My father disliked and disapproved of TV, so the fact that he watched the series made me look it up about 10 years ago.

The complete series is 26 episodes covering the formation and exploits of a group of Chinese outlaws based in the Water Margin - an area difficult for troops to penetrate, and thus the ideal retreat for hunted fugitives. All the characters have their history - the troubled 'Honourable General'; the virtuous 'Good Judge'; the mighty 'Tiger Hunter'; the drunken 'Flower Priest'; and the feisty Hu San Yan - who refused to be a concubine to the evil Grand Vizier and tried to kill him instead.

At one level, the stories are similar to our Robin Hood legends, but the overlay of oriental culture makes it slightly harder to predict the direction it's going to take. It is certainly a classic tale of good vs evil ("nine dozen heroes and one wicked man"), and the characters are straight-forward - but very engaging.

Don't expect modern production standards - the fighting choreography is primitive by modern standards, and it's not always PC (although one of the best fighters is a woman - unusual for the time). That said, the sets are well made, the acting (and dubbing) is good, and many of the scenes are filmed outside.

Every episode starts and ends with an aphorism, mostly from the Tao Te Ching - classics such as:

"Do Not Despise The Snake Because He Has No Horns - For Who Is To Say He Will Not One Day Become A Dragon?", and
"The Sea Is Master Over All The Rivers, Because He Lies Below Them!"

We're also watching a new (2011) Chinese interpretation of the story. They've gone the whole hog with good martial arts choreography, full town sets, etc, but it doesn't quite have the same pace and charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
i thought it might contain more than one episode of the series from the initial description by Amazon and it arrived on time well packaged just a bit disappointed that it's only one episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good story but old pictures., 26 April 2013
By 
Tan "PhilipTan's comment" (NL (EUR) & CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
The story and the acting are quite good. But, the dubbing in English makes it unreal since the story is supposed to be in China. There is no subtitle, and the movie looks 'old'. The pictures are not so bad considering the old age of the movie. I wish they would remaster these dvd movies and put the original cinese/japanese spoken language with subtitles. That would be really wonderful!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memories, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I remembered this from my childhood and it was great to revisit it. I preferred it to Monkey. It has intrigue, magic and mystery but reflects the age it was produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blast from past, 12 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
very happy with product and service. arrived quickly.
real trip down memory lane.
remember watching in 70's late at night on bbc2.
its just bril to watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Water Margin., 19 Feb 2014
By 
Denise M. Bennett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
My husband watched this on TV way back in the 70s, and thoroughly enjoyed it, so I decided to buy it for him to relive old memories. We haven't watched it yet, still ploughing through all the DVDs we got for Xmas!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong region, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly I didnt specify that this was for viewing in the USA which has a different broadcasting standard so the gift I sent was never used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD]
The Water Margin - Vol. 1 [1976] [DVD] by Toshio Masuda (DVD - 2003)
£7.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews