Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars115
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2012
Filming key events in the life of the Holy Prophet Muhammad sallallahu alayhi wassalam without ever depicting him caused some scenes to be filmed rather oddly or clumsily. Still, I would prefer this situation to having scenes that were either inaccurate or blasphemous. I have no other complaints. It is wonferfully-filmed even if in a '70s way that has dated a bit. The actors are fantastic (even if they are not Arabs in the main roles), and the story is as uplifting and rewarding as you could possibly imagine. The combat scenes are really something.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2004
This film was produced almost 30 years ago. However, the sound and visuals still deliver. The visualisation of 7th Century Mecca and Medina is impressive. Considering the limitations on showing the face of the Prophet and the central characters, the story-telling flows very well and is educational. The acting is average, apart from Anthony Quinn, who is pure class. Its the only film I have seen about the origins of Islam, and I enjoyed it. I would recommend it to anyone interested in finding out more about the origins of Islam and the trials and tribulations that were faced by The prophet and his followers.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
good audio and video, clear and watchable. only drawback is that the actual screen of the movie is small when watching ideally i wud like it full screen.but that doesnt happen. otherwise happy with purchase
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2005
Being a muslim it is very easy for me to be carried away with the plot and characters of this movie but yet I tried to be as fair as I could. In the beginning the movie is plotted in the time of injustice within the Arab community as well as thier good deeds which include thier hospitatlity and thier honor. Film is shown as a point of view to educate non-muslims about the points they raise about islam and prophet muhammad. Like it deals with the issue that how muslims are close to christians more than any other religon and how the message is from One God and the moral values within the message are alike.
It also tell you that Islam is the religon of PEACE, like before the first battle between believers of islam and non-believers a set of rules are put forward to be followed by the army of muslims which were:
- do not destroy fields or life stock, do not harm women children and old, do not harm innocent, your battle is with only those who drove you out of your homes and did wrong to you. You battle is with only those who raise thier Arms against you.
which clearly shows that islam is against which it is blamed for. not only non-muslims yet even muslims of today are ignorant of the true values of thier religon.
I recon this movie to every muslim and non-muslim because of two reasons. first it portrays you a true picture of history and tell you about a greatest movement in the history of mankind. and secondly it refreshes one's faith in One & only One God.
Those who portray Muhammad as a poet should know He was illetrate, he did'nt know how to read or write so this claim is baseless...anyways Enjoy this movie and let your faith Revive
Thanks
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
If you want to get to know Islam and if you want to know how much they suffered for God please watch this film. If shows the real Islam, the real message that God has sent to his people. This film shows the purpose of our lives is worshiping God. This film shows that Muslims and Christians were and are one. If you believe in God you give love not cruelty.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
This is a great insight into the truth about Islaam, and the life of Mohammaed .
I had first seen this film at the cinemas nearly 30 years ago.
It is an authentic account of the birth of Islaam.
The acting is superb especially Anthony Quinn.
The dialogue is to the point and not long winded.
I educate myself every time I view it.
A must see.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
an epic that i did not want to take my eyes off, of course one you can watch again and again and learn something new everytime.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
Great way to educate yourself about islam and its history. Friends and I really enjoyed watching this dvd, learnt alot from it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
A great film for people of all religions. A detailed account of how Islam came about and the Prophet's journey to spread the word of God. Recommended for the whole family. Perfectly directed. Anthony Quinn's performamnce is outstanding.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
Ordered the film for the month of Ramadan and it arrived very quickly. I have watched the film in the past but, watching it again on DVD is brilliant. I will recommend the film if you are interested in the story of the Prophet Mohammed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)