Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It really is pretty good...
There's a lot of disparity of opinion here about whether the film is great or terrible, and the truth is that it really is pretty good; not mind bendingly brilliant, but a really honest artistic attempt at recreating the life of the Doors and Jim Morrision at the time. I was afraid it would be a shameless rummage through Doors hits, and an excuse to plaster them on...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by B. Howe

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok but definative
An ok film, but if you are looking for truth and facts about the lizard king then probably best to read a book or do your own investigating rather than watching this as it is a film after all and not a documentary. I have read a couple of books on Jim Morrison and you need to make your own minds up after reading, not watching this. But saying that this is mildly...
Published on 20 Aug 2011 by NELLY


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Doors Biography, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this DVD, brought it for a friends birthday as she had it on VHS but not DVD. Quality of the DVD excellent and thoroughly enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Certainly not one for me. Maybe if you are or were a Doors fan you would like it. Most of the time I fast forward it. It was terrible.
I know this might sound contradicting but Val Kilmer was terrific in the part of Jim Morrison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars extreme uplifting and heartbreaking, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First my dvd player won't work it. However I have a very old dvd and this film gives you a rain drop off pure genius insight to our beloved Jimmy. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors - Special Edition [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Having been a huge Doors and Jim Morrison fan for a while I was sceptical of this film but overall I enjoyed it. It is difficult to determin whether it is awful or good. The acting can seem contrived and forced but Val Kilmer sucks you into the film and the enigmatic character of Jim Morrison. Overall a good film with a great soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you gotto love this film, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
One of Stones better films.
Good performances, epic music.
I will not ruin the ending just watch it for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doors - Special Edition, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors - Special Edition [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I have given this DVD 5 stars because it is a brilliant movie. It gives you an idea of what life was like for the people who were close to 'Jim Morrison'. Val Kilmer plays 'Jim' really well and you can see that he really gets into the part. I would highly recommend this product. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doors, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great movie, masterwork of Oliver Stone. Excellent Val Kilmer, great music, that's sure because of The Doors. Must watch for every music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
What's here to say. It's a very good film about the doors, the music is great, most of the facts are accurate, there's some fine acting and it's idea for the girls night in for the obvious reason (Val Kilmer ;-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Miss B. A. Freeman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
This is my all time favourite movie, I only had it on VHS so wanted it on DVD - It did not disappoint x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars .....if you like the Doors music, you will like this film., 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doors [DVD] (DVD)
A colourful film, focused mainly on Jim Morrisons life, and role in the Doors, great music, after watching it again after a few years, it seems like a 2 hour music video, enjoyable, but not gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Doors - Special Edition [DVD] [1991]
The Doors - Special Edition [DVD] [1991] by Oliver Stone (DVD - 2003)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews