Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite movie!
Based on Lewis Carrol's 'The Jabberwock', Terry Gilliam unleashes the full force of his creative talents in this brilliant film.
We follow the adventures of Dennis Cooper, besotted with love for the gruesome Griselda Fishfinger, as he is disowned by his dying father and goes off to seek his fortune in the city. The city is however besieged by the eponymous monster,...
Published on 6 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Twas brillig, and the slithy toves...
It was a discusion that sparked a return to this film to this for me, having seen it on its original release. Was it as good as I remembered.? Could I relate to the inane humour after nearly 40 years? Overall yes and yes. The Terry Gilliam / Monty Python-ish elements are stamped all over the film with loads of visual humour alongside plodding sections. A wealth of British...
Published 2 months ago by xenrin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My absolute favourite movie!, 6 Jan 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Based on Lewis Carrol's 'The Jabberwock', Terry Gilliam unleashes the full force of his creative talents in this brilliant film.
We follow the adventures of Dennis Cooper, besotted with love for the gruesome Griselda Fishfinger, as he is disowned by his dying father and goes off to seek his fortune in the city. The city is however besieged by the eponymous monster, so the king (played to wonderful effect by Max Wall) arranges a tourney to select the best knight to kill the beast. Of course, Dennis is carried along and wins the day.
Doresn't sound much of a story, does it? - but the intricately detailed sets, the wonderful staged humour and brilliant direction make this a cut and a half above anything else in the genre. It knocks the Monty Python films into a cocked hat - and they are GOOD! Not for nothing did this film win the best comedy at Montreux. Particularly good performances from Max Wall, John leMesurier, Harry H Corbett and of course, Michael Palin, who just IS Dennis.
I don't understand how a great film like this has been allowed to fall out of circulation. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coopering? that's no life for a man, 26 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Don't write this off as failed Python. In the entertaining commentary on this disk, TG and Michael Palin not only state that they were trying to get away from the Python style with this film, but even that they think there are too many gags in it. I wouldn't go so far as that; Lewis Carroll's eerie source poem doesn't really have a great bearing on this story, but what they share is an ambiguous tone somewhere between epic, comic and surreal. All Gilliam's early films are about the relationship between real and fantasy worlds, and this is really no exception: Palin is the modern-minded mediocrity unwittingly (and unwillingly) caught up in a fairy tale.

Visually there's a certain similarity to `Holy Grail' (this is far more accomplished); in comedy terms, the closest thing is Palin's quirky, understated `Ripping Yarns' - but that doesn't have the same deep, ineluctable strangeness. In all honesty there's no other film like this. Just see the `you might also like' films trailed on the disc - `First Knight' and `Knight's Tale'! Good grief.

I'm also indebted to the commentary for the following fascinating trivia: TG's `diamond mine' character was originally to have been played by Dudley Moore; both the Black Knight and Palin's master are played by David Prowse (of Darth Vader fame), voices by Max Wall (King Bruno); and John Boorman apparently showed the film a dozen times to his crew before making Excalibur. How's that for a recommendation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker than Python & that does it no harm., 1 April 2009
By 
M. Stribley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Plenty have written more detailed reviews, suffice to say Jabberwocky is much darker than the usual Monthy Python productions and the story works really well in this style than, say the slapstick style of other Python productions. Some of the character acting by many well-known faces is great and there are some scenes that are both hilarious and grotesque simultaneously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Python?, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
You really need to be a Python Gruppie, to really like this movie at its best? Jabberwocky, goes on to play part in, Alice in Wonderland? Good humoured film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Twas brillig, and the slithy toves..., 18 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It was a discusion that sparked a return to this film to this for me, having seen it on its original release. Was it as good as I remembered.? Could I relate to the inane humour after nearly 40 years? Overall yes and yes. The Terry Gilliam / Monty Python-ish elements are stamped all over the film with loads of visual humour alongside plodding sections. A wealth of British character actors festoon and cavort thoughout the film, which although doesn't quite reach the height of Life of Brian, is still very watchable and enjoyable. Pass me the raw potato.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
on the theme of Monty Python, so many jokes to tap into and so many other things...too many to mention but a lovely film for all the family and a great tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A classic! This is such a fun film and has stood the test of time. You should watch this now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Not as good as I thought it would be, but there were a few funny bits in it, and as it was a good price I am satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm not in over-awe of Python...., 16 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having just seen and reviewed the TV movie "Jabberwock", made by and for the sci fi satellite channel Sy-fy, I thought it high time I re-investigate the only other film made about the Lewis Carroll based winged monster, this Terry Gilliam "Jabberwocky".

That was sci-fi fantasy nonsense, this is of course, a precursor to The Holy Grail and largely, shows no Jabberwocky. Medieval mayhem, in the Pythonesque manner, with Michael Palin being the idiotic Dennis Cooper. Stereotypes firmly in place, there's missing tooth old crones and beautiful princesses to rescue, plus a who-who's of post Carry On comic actors.

I was born too late to be held under the spell of Monty Python and have learned to like and enjoy them in retrospect, where it is easy to pick and choose the best bits. Therefore, I am not of the school that says "everything Python is brilliant", because, frankly, it is not. It can't be, really - they did so much stuff from a variety of fertile imaginations that there's always going to poorer material.

Therefore, some parts of Jabberwocky drag and are a little tedious; others, such as the charging knights, where we see the onlooker's faces and bodies getting covered by more and more splattered blood as each knight falls, whilst they chat inanely, is brilliantly and darkly done.

Since my previous viewing, many years prior, I have seen all the Python films and thousands of others and my appreciation of this debut from Gilliam has increased enormously. You have to be of a certain mind and in a certain frame of mind to fully appreciate a Python film.

It says in listings and on the DVD box that it is rated as PG. I'm not sure how they came up with that one - though there's no strong swearing, there's full frontal nudity and a surprising amount of blood - inc. slo-mo's. Fine if you're an adult but if you think that it's suitable for the under 15's, it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Schoolboys Humour in the High Middle Ages, 25 Feb 2005
This review is from: Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Jabberwocky has much of the Python about it, but takes its story much more seriously - perhaps more seriously than it should. I like medieval costume films that juxtapose modern life with the rubbish of a mythic Middle Ages and, being a sucker for Zeffirelli's vision, admire it being satirised here as it was later in A Knight's Tale. This is no 'Brother Sun Sister Moon' or 'Romeo and Juliet'; this is a schmaltz-free zone, a grim-but-true Middle Ages played for laughs. Here we meet the all-but senile Bruno the Questionable and the achingly ugly Griselda, with Michael Palin as the luckless commoner-hero Dennis who defeats the creaking monster Jabberwocky. There are parodies of Jaws that manage to be tense and funny in the way the monster's pov scans through the trees, some moments of real disgust with steaming corpses - the blood-spattering tournament is very good - and a lot of questions raised about toilet arrangements in the High Middle Ages. Schoolboy humour with a touch of the bizarre. But it is over-long, and lacks the wacky sketch-show pace of Life of Brian - and comparisons with Monty Python and the Holy Grail are inevitable, with this film usually coming off the worst. Funny? Certainly; but not Holy Grail funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003]
Jabberwocky [DVD] [2003] by Terry Gilliam (DVD - 2003)
3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews