Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good scary movie...lots of thrills but not too many kills
This is one of my favourite scary movies for a night with my mates, because it's quite scary and creepy without too much blood and guts. Most of the movie is basically the three friends running away from Rusty Nail, and it relys a lot on tension and suspense for thrills, rather than grossing you out with lots of killing. I first watched it when I was quite young, and let...
Published on 1 April 2010 by Jennifer Malsingh

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars predictable
predictable but well paced and funny in parts. not what I would call a classic but worth an evenings entertainment
Published on 28 July 2010 by Mr. Pj Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good scary movie...lots of thrills but not too many kills, 1 April 2010
By 
Jennifer Malsingh (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite scary movies for a night with my mates, because it's quite scary and creepy without too much blood and guts. Most of the movie is basically the three friends running away from Rusty Nail, and it relys a lot on tension and suspense for thrills, rather than grossing you out with lots of killing. I first watched it when I was quite young, and let me tell you that me and my friends found it really scary! Watching it now, it doesn't scare me so much, but it's still pretty good.

I think the ending to the actual film is really good, and I was disappointed by the alternative endings on the DVD. You can see why they chose the one they did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **** JOY RIDE ****, 4 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. N. Carnegie (Kirkcaldy, Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Directed by John Dahl, previously best known for Red Rock West and The Last Seduction (the movie that launched Linda Fiorentino's career), Roadkill is very much a homage to the seventies Spielberg movie Duel but rather than being just a cheap rip-off Joy Ride is in fact a very entertaining, genuinely scary edge of the seat ride, which proves that you don't need a big budget to make great movies.
THE PLOT: The film's instantly likeable hero, Lewis, played by Paul Walker (The Fast and The Furious) a scholarship student at Berkeley, buys a battered 1971 car so he can pick up Venna (Leelee Sobieski), who he has a major crush for, from the University of Colorado and drive her to the East Coast for summer vacation. However, on the way he unexpectedly has to pick up his irresponsible older brother Fuller (the always excellent Steve Zahn) who's in a Salt Lake City jail on a drunk-and-disorderly charge. During the journey Fuller buys a cheap CB radio and involves Lewis in an unpleasant practical joke at the expense of a truck driver with the CB handle 'Rusty Nail' but they find themselves in fear for their lives when old Rusty turns out to be a psychopath who takes a violent dislike to them. From then on, they themselves become the objects of the unseen Rusty Nail's revenge. After several hair-raising encounters, they resolve not to tell Venna of their adventures when they pick her up at the clean, well-lit Colorado campus.
It would be easy to criticise Roadkill (known as Joy Ride in America). Its premise is hardly original and its reliance on a CB radio as a plot device harks back to the seventies, rather than the present day when everybody (except in this movie) has a cell phone. However, Roadkill is actually a stunning success due to its faultless direction, which creates Hitchcock like suspense and provides many heart stopping moments. The script is excellent too combining and balancing humour and horror in equal measures, often hinting at violence that is not actually seen and providing nervous moments of humour whilst avoiding corniness. As for the three leads they are perfectly cast with Paul Walker, minus the blonde beach boy locks he sported in The Fast and the Furious, making a good fist of the part of the boy from the wrong side of the tracks in love with the girl from the right side of the tracks played by the equally impressive Leelee Sobieski (Deep Impact). Steve Zahn (Out of Sight) as the misfit brother Fuller is also excellent and he steals many of the scenes with witty one-liners but ultimately this is a movie whose strength lies in the sum of all its parts. Cheaply made it shows that its not big budgets that make great movies its talent and imagination. Here's hoping there's a sequel! Four stars, well merited. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roadkill, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
love this film, ive seen it like 4 times and it never tires , love it and i like the actors and the storyline and its a good thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roadkill, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
once again paul walker is great in any film he has done. this film was rather scary which I liked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadkill, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Very tense thriller that has more twists and turns than a grand prix track. Absolutely brilliant and great value !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY ENTERTAINING MOVIE THAT WILL TAKE YOU ON THE RIDE OF YOUR LIFE, 29 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is such a brilliant film that will have you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. The extra features are also excellent (especially the alternative endings)and Paul Walker makes a hot lead, which is an very nice bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good suspenseful movie, 24 April 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
'Roadkill' is a great film to watch on a Friday night with a group of friends. Although 'The Hitcher' is superior, the two movies aren't all that dissimilar, and the plot is along the same lines.

The movie stars two brothers, University student Lewis (played by the recently late Paul Walker, RIP) and troublesome Fuller (Steve Zahn). Lewis is traveling with Fuller to pick up and drive home his childhood friend Venna (Leelee Sobieski), trying to impress and hopefully become romantically involved with her. On the way there, with their CB radio, they decide to have some fun and play a prank on a mysterious driver calling himself as 'Rusty Nail' (Ted Levine). Lewis pretends to be an attractive young woman named 'Candy Cane' who would love to meet him. A meeting is set up in the motel where the boys will be spending the night, and the brothers tell 'Rusty Nail' to bring along some pink champagne.

It may seem like a cruel trick to do someone, but the joke is soon on them - 'Rusty Nail' only turns out to be a psychopath, and when someone in the motel is found laying there brutally attacked with his jaw ripped, the men soon realise the full extent as to just what they have got themselves into. Rusty Nail will stop at nothing for revenge.

'Roadkill' very rarely goes into any cheesy territory, and the whole film is a genuinely tension filled thriller. The storyline is hardly anything original, but still makes for an intense thrill. It spawned a sequel, and another one, due for release this year. If a film which came out in 2001 can still have a second follow up thirteen years later - you know it must has something. Sit back, enjoy, and think twice about playing pranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It started as a joke. Now the joke is on them., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Three young people on a road trip from Colorado to New Jersey talk to a trucker on their CB radio, then must escape when he turns out to be a psychotic killer.

Well directed, solid acting all round, will have you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. enjoy.

Well worth the purchase, great service. many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest films of its kind, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul Walker and Steve Zahn spark off of each other with a blistering chemistry. Add Leelee Sobieski to the mix, plus a god send of a male nudity scene and you have an unmissable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant customer service, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This company sent the wrong product, when contacted we very helpful. They sent the correct product immdeiately. Fantastic! a great model for other compamies in this competive field. As a consequence, I would pay more to order from them again as they have more than earned my loyalty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002]
Roadkill (aka Joy Ride) [DVD] [2002] by Steve Zahn (DVD - 2003)
3.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews