Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gilbert & Sullivan ... pure delight!
I have been a lover of the light operas of Gilbert & Sullivan for many years, and this filmed stage production of the best of those light operas is as close as one could come to being there and yet not be there! This production stars the D'Oyly Carte Light Opera Company towards the end of their greatest years but still starring some of the greatest members of that...
Published on 30 April 2007 by Anthony Scheinman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mikado
The Mikado is one of the best operetta's by Gilbert and Sullivan, the feel of this version is very old and dated, but it is by the Doyle Carte company who are brilliant. The costumes are fab, the singing is brilliant so even if it's got a dated feel to it, it is still enjoyable.
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gilbert & Sullivan ... pure delight!, 30 April 2007
By 
Anthony Scheinman (Forest Hills, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a lover of the light operas of Gilbert & Sullivan for many years, and this filmed stage production of the best of those light operas is as close as one could come to being there and yet not be there! This production stars the D'Oyly Carte Light Opera Company towards the end of their greatest years but still starring some of the greatest members of that Company's history! John Reed as "Ko-Ko", the hapless Lord High Executioner, is a joy to both see and listen to; Kenneth Sandford as the Lord High Everything Else "Pooh-Bah" is perfect in the role that might have been made for him; Donald Adams is the ultimate Mikado, especially in his signature song "My Object All Sublime"; Philip Potter is a marvelous "Nanki-Poo"; and Valerie Masterson is as charming, demure and beautiful a "Yum-Yum" as one could wish, especially in performing "The Sun Whose Rays", one of the most beautiful songs Gilbert & Sllivan ever wrote. The sets and costumes for this filmed stage production are as historically accurate as a purist could ever wish for, and not a single line of dialogue is changed, altered, or updated (another joy for G&S purists).

If you're just starting to learn about Gilbert & Sullivan, this is the very (indeed ONLY!!!) video to start off with. A must for any lover of G&S, of light opera, of true theatre, or for a truly classic video collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous record, 24 Jan 2003
By 
Robert Ray (Sassafras, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say it is a disappointing transfer. It looks like a straight copy from a VHS tape - but probably isn't. There seems to have been no attempt to restore the master, and the whole thing looks quite deteriorated, and full of artefacts. The ABC have recently issued the Australian Ballet film of Don Quixote from the 1970's and they detail a lot of restoration which had to be done. Apparently, it was saved in the nick of time, just like the masters of "My Fair Lady". That hasn't happened here. It is comforting that as it is now on DVD some sort of permanence (100 years they say) has been assured. However, if this vital part of the D'Oyly Carte history is not restored and better preserved then we shall all be the sorrier.
The box contains no information as to the aspect ratio or to the sound. It appears to be about 1.77:1 but is not enhanced for 16:9 widescreen TV's. The sound, although coming from 2 channels sounds mono to me.
That's all the down sides. The up sides is that it is good to see it again in widescreen without the clipping required for 4:3 transfers. One gets the whole picture. It's faults as a record of the D'Oyly Carte have been well documented, however I feel it stands head and shoulders above the competition on DVD available in Region 1: The 1939 film with Martyn Green, the Australian Opera and the Stratford (gasp) versions.
It is a dream cast in many respects: Donald Adams, Valerie Masterson, Philip Potter, John Reed, Kenneth Sanford and the delectable Peggy Ann Jones - who could wish for more? Thomas Lawler, Christene Palmer and Pauline Wales are also terrific. The main fault is in the direction and concept. It is neither fish nor foul. It is neither live performance (like the AO or Canadian ones) or re-thought for film (like the 1939). It would have been better had the performers been allowed to do exactly what they did on stage, and with a live audience. There are some phoney contrivances (like Pooh Bah talking to Pish Tush) just for the camera. However, dear John Reed as Ko Ko appears to be the least constrained by the medium. His performance is a comic delight.
Worth supporting and worth getting, despite the negatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Mikado version I have seen, 8 Jan 2007
By 
H. J. Mcqueen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
If you only buy one Gilbert and Sullivan DVD then get this one. It is in my opinion the best version of the Mikado, being by the D'Oyly Carte Opera Company itself performed in 1966. It is, as far as I can gather, the only one on DVD of the Company. I would love to get more of them. Not quite DVD quality as it must have been converted from film recorded at the time, but no regrets at buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A travesty..........., 31 Dec 2006
By 
K. E. Fay (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
I totally agree with the previous reviewer. I found watching this DVD a sad experience. The cast are the performers who generated and developed my love of G&S, they deserve much better than this production. I can only assume that they allowed a YTS lad to direct the filming.

However, I wouldn't swap it for anything. To be able to watch John Reid playing Ko Ko whenever I wish is enough to ignore the faults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical record, 20 July 2010
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
Having read comments that the vdieo to DVD transfer was poor I still went ahead and bought. It has not been digitally enhanced etc...but as a historical record of the Doyle Carte it is wonderful. If the audio is put through a decent system the sound is very acceptable and whilst one might be The Mikado [DVD]critical of the production, as distinct from watching on stage, it still manages to capture the original Doyle Carte atmosphere and the facial expressions of the performesr, John Reed especially, are really good to see in close-up. I am happy that I have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dont be put off by the age this is brilliant, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
had read reviews and not sure whether to chance buying or not, so glad I did.
just so brilliantly English, the voices and diction beautiful, the sets and costumes magical.
so ok the recording is old but that adds to the atmosphere, just so much quality no one can do better than the D'Oyly Carte, couple of hours of sheer delight, I will certainly be wearing out this DVD.
Winter nights of lousy tele not a problem now Mikado in the house.
If in doubt, don't be, buy it, and don't go for the awful aussie recordings, this is G&S at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was filmed in 1966, 26 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
You have to make allowances for its age - it is, I assume, filmed directly from the stage production and camera angles and techniques seem very old-fashioned now. With that proviso, I thought it was excellent. I loved the costumes and stage design, and the quality of the singing and acting was superb. I particularly enjoyed Kenneth Sandford's Pooh-Bah and Christine Palmer's Katisha - they both managed to make their blatantly unrealistic roles utterly convincing. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Mikado, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Michael Smith "mik" (north west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be the best complete Mikado available,the cast is perfect,as is the staging.Unfortunatley the film has deteriorated,and the staging has a strange greenish tinge to everything.But if you can put that aside this is a joy.We are spared any kind of updating of the list song,the only song slightly cut is "a wondering minstral",can only think it was to save on the overall length of the film.I saw it origionaly at our local Odeon,where it was shown with a great deal of reverance as if we were seeing somthing very special,which i suppose we were,as no other G and S was filmed and given a cinama release.just wished it had been restored,but glad i purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mikado, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent production. Why is it that I cannot find any more D'Oyly Carte Opera Company DVDs of Gilbert and Sullivan?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mikado, 19 Aug 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] (DVD)
The Mikado is one of the best operetta's by Gilbert and Sullivan, the feel of this version is very old and dated, but it is by the Doyle Carte company who are brilliant. The costumes are fab, the singing is brilliant so even if it's got a dated feel to it, it is still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD]
The Mikado - D'Oyly Carte Opera Company [DVD] by Gilbert and Sullivan (DVD - 2011)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews