Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars229
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£9.99+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2003
There are only so many things that you can do with a teen drama. There is always that element of "seen this theme before" and "how predictable".
What makes this movie different is the deeper level of emotion and sacrifice from all the characters. It is not just about Bad Boy coming good and getting the girl.
My wife couldn't stop “blubbing” and I have to admit that I had to pretend I had something stuck in my eye a few times.
Mandy Moore and Shane West are totally believable which I think lends a big part in making this movie a success. The other 2 main ingredients are the story, and one of the best movie soundtracks ever.
This movie easily makes it into my top 10. It is just one of those movies that no matter how down you are feeling you will always finish watching it and feel a lot better about the world.
I cannot recommend this movie enough especially if you are a guy trying to impress the ladies with your movie selection prowess.You'll score huge points.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2007
I was quite suprised when it was actually my boyfriend who selcted this film for us to watch because for me it seemed like a bit of a chick flick from what was written on the cover. However, once I actually started watching I discovered that this wasn't just another tired old story regurgitated again in a new form for the latest generation of teenagers. This was a touching, sensitive story which actually reflected reality unlike so many other teen films. It didn't have the typical makeover scene which caused the popular boy to fall for the nerdy girl, it didn't have the classic bet which the girl eventually finds out about- it was missing all that which I have to say wasn't a bad thing. This was something I found very refreshing.

The story that unfolds is one of real love in real time. There is no slushy scene where they eventually fall in love after half an hour of delibertaing whether they like each other or not. This is realistic and shows that love grows over time and can eventually overcome anything that is put in its way. It has a truly touching message to it and a heart-wrenching twist which keeps you captivated. It has an excellent ending which seems very fitting and leaves you thinking. I would say that this is well worth a watch, even though the script in the end is a little cheesy. Up to that point everything is excellent and if you can forgive a few little cliches that are thrown in then I'm sure you will thoroughly enjoy this like I did. Give it a try.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2006
This is one of my favourite films ever!
I was so moved by this film; it gave you mix of warmth, happiness, romance, sadness, pain, tragedy-all the essential ingredients of a romantic drama.
Without giving too much away, the movie is about the daughter of a vicar/priest, who is a good, church-going girl. Also, in the story is her complete opposite,Landon. He's sexy, rogueish and on the wrong side of the tracks in life. When the two of them are thrown together, you see their relationship grow into one of the most beautiful love stories EVER!
HOWEVER, Jamie (played by Mandy Moore) has a tragic secret that could destroy their love forever.
This movie shows how love can take everything that's thrown at it, as well as showing you how important it is to live life to the fullest. Shane West and Mandy Moore were the perfect couple in this movie.
I have never cried so much in my life. It's truly a movie that EVERYONE should watch!
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
when i did first get this film i was expecting the same usual cheese thats thrown at you in a teenage love story but it preceded my expectations. This film had me caring about the characters and you get really involved with them.
you could say that the whole opposites attracting is quite old and cliched but this film really does do it so much better than the others. the attraction is subtle and certainly not thrust in your face so you cant avoid it! this film is just so well made that i couldnt help but like it.
how jamie (moore) and landon ( west) do fall in love is so sweet and wonderful. theres none of those gushy (completely unbelievable) chasing through an airport or down a road scenes, it's much simpler and easier to relate too. this film is just one of the best teen romances ever and i strongly recommend it -especially to any romantics!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2006
i watched this film with a friend and honestly thought it was just going to be another chick flick, romantic and a bit funny but i was surprised. i thought my friends were exagerating at how good the film was so wasn't expecting it to live up to expectations imprinted. how wrong i was!! i cant tell you how many emotions i felt during this film, it takes you on a roller coaster ride through rejection, love, happiness, sadness, showing what lengths one will go to to express their tru love!

this film was so awesome, i really does focus on true love, and how important true love is rather than sex and physical reationships which feature so commonly in most films these days! it was truly beautiful to see bad boy, and 'in crowd' guy landon fall for christian jamie. they teach each other a valuble lesson about love which is very memorable and practical to life!

it was great to see the attitude towards a christian change throughout the movie, so often christians are seen in such a negative light, as shown at the start but it is truly moving to see these attitudes change.

this film is so worth watching, dont think about it, just buy it, you wont regret it! its not just for girls but i think guys could really learn something about love here!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2003
landon carter is the coolest boy in school and hangs around with the 'in-crowd'. when a prank goes wrong, landon just escapes jail, but his punishment is to be a student tutor and be the star role in the ministers christmas play. landon has never been the goody type to take part in school activities so this comes as a big challenge to him. jamie sullivan is totally the oposite to landon, she studys, gets good grades and lives life to the full. she is always taking part in school activities and helping other people. she is the ministers daughter and is also the other main part in her fathers play. this gradually brings them closer together and jamie starts talking to landon, but he obviously doesn't but neither does jamie care about what people think of her. during the course of the play landon asks jamie to help him with his lines. jamie says 'only if you promise not to fall in love with me'. landon replies laughing 'i'm not sure that'll be hard'. so they have a practice and her father disagrees but jamie tells him that they are only rehearshing. at school jamie asks landon, in front of his gang, if he is still on for tonight. of course landon, not to be embaressed replied 'in your dreams'. so jamie leaves. later that night landon visits jamies house ready to practice and she gueses why he is here but shuts the door on him. so landon practices and practices which takes up all his time. he is starting to realise what is happening, he cannot help it but he is falling in love with jamie. after the show he keeps trying to see her and after a while she gives in, though she says she is not allowed to date. on this note landon asks the permission of the minister to go and have dinner with his daughter. so they have dinner and it progresses from there. this portrays that landon changed from a waster to a conserver. if you do not cry at the end of this movie then you obviously do not understand it. the actors shane west (landon), mandy moore(Jamie) and others were stunning and they were definately picked to suit.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2003
This is an amazing film. Popular Landon Carter (Shane West) finds himself falling for the school geek, and ministers' daughter Jamie Sullivan (Mandy Moore). He tries to hide it but can't conceal it for long. Jamie has a list of ambitions, things to do before she dies. Landon, by now totally besotted with Jamie and her will to do what she wanted no matter what anybody else thought, makes those dreams happens, no matter what they are. Then Jamie's secret is revealed and Landon, deeply cut by what is going to happen, persists in making all her ambitions become a reality and makes sure the whole world knows how much they love one another.
A truly tear-jerking tale with amazing actors and a great soundtrack this film can be enjoyed by anyone and will definitely pull your heart-strings, no matter how strong they think they are!!! Brilliant film!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2004
This romantic tear-jerker is based around the characters Landon and Jamie two 18 year olds from a small town. Landon is Part of the 'in' crowd at school, popular and good looking, Jamie on the other hand is the quiet daughter of the towns minister. They couldn't be more different from each other. Landon is involved in an incident which leaves another student injured and in hospital, as punishment for his involvment, he is put forward for the school play, in which he ends up with the lead role and also put forward to help tutor kids. Jamie has volunteered to do this in her own time, which of course Landon has trouble understanding.
During the play, Landon kisses Jamie and this is when things start to get interesting, Jamie has already told Landon she will help him on one condition that he promises he will not fall in love with her.
Landon and Jamie start to spend a lot of time together, and they end up falling in love, this is when Jamie lands a secret on him that shes been trying to hide from everyone.
Everyone has to see this film you'll laugh and cry, but you will love it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2003
Mandy Moore sizzles on screen as Jamie Sullivan, the daughter of a minister in this charming movie about love, hope and tragedy. In her debut role, she oozes talent and appeal as does the rugged and reformed character Landon Carter Rollins, played by the understated Shane West.
The movie ignores the "teen genre" with it's dialogue, wit and storyline - adapted from the novel by Nicolas Sparks, an inspiring writer of love and heartbreak.
The movie see's Landon as an oppressed teen moving in the wrong direction and carving out a career of mayhem until he is forced to look upon his life. Alas he teams up with Jamie in a surprise twist and her simple love for life is almost infectious as he slowly begins to appreciate the little things in life. With each day he finds himself falling in love with the preacher's daughter and so ensues a romance of elevated measures.
It's highly entertaining, romantic, sad, witty - with two amazing performances from it's lead stars. A story of strength and hope - something for all romantics at heart!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2008
A walk to remember has got to be one of the best teen movies of all time, although I will be very suprised if you won't need a tissue. The story revolves around Landon Carter(Shane West)someone who is going no where fast, the local bad boy. Jamie Sulliven(Mandy Moore)is the minister's daughter and as far from the in-crowd as she could possibly get; especially in contrast to Landon.They have never really got on but when they repeatedly spend time together it alters their lives forever.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)