Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: DVDChange
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 21 April 2003
Now this is typical of Pearl Jam...they have released this DVD, it's called Single Video Theory. Sounds pretty good, sounds interesting....let's see what the DVD itself contains....the back cover says absolutly nothing on what the disc itself contains, and just lists band members and production staff. That's just so typical of Pearl Jam. Infuriating to the end. But of course, that is what we like about them...
So hesitantly (although I love everything Pearl Jam have ever done) I purchased the mystery disc. I got it home, and was quite pleasently surprised. So now for the mystery to be finally over...
This fine disc is actually an inside view into Pearl Jam's studio life during the Yield era. Many class Yield as Pearl Jam's worst album, but it is my personal favourite, so I was indeed happy with this purchase.
There are some fine interviews with the band throughout, letting you inside what it's like to be in the studio in Seattle with everyone's favourite fame back-pedalers. Gossard let's you in on his guitar styles and secrets, and the band generally tells you what's on their mind. There are also fine performances of songs from Yield itself.
So a fine package from the PJ boys. There are no additional extras, and no menu either, and amazingly no chapters, but you get the feeling that that's the point. This is Pearl Jam upfront and personal with no barriers, nothing to distract you, and nothing to skip to or past because you need to watch it all. Because this is a fine experience into the minds and matters of a band who although have shyed away, have always wanted your full attention.
It would be of great interest for any Pearl Jam fan, or for anyone who's interested in how a band of such high calibre works, and it may also be for those who dislike the album Yield itself, of which this DVD was based on. It may just change your mind a little.
Oh, and it's worth nothing that there's a barcode on the DVD case, if nothing else...
Excellent. 4 Stars.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 June 2003
I was a bit surprised by the length of the video - a short 45 mins - but don't let this put you off! I have no regrets buying it and it is still definetely worth getting! It is very interesting to see them perform in the studio and all the songs on it are incredible! There are some great interview clips, a lot of them had me laughing! It shows you how funny and down to earth the guys in PJ are! If you are a big fan of Yield (like me) then you will be able to enjoy this even more. In saying that, i still think every Pearl Jam fan should get this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 31 July 2004
As cloud_connected says regarding the packaging; pretty economic lol.
The DVD itself though. Brilliant.
I can't fault this DVD, it's one of my favourites. It's only 45minutes long, contains some moments of genuine humour among the band and in general just feels like a superior quality DVD.
The performances of songs like "In Hiding", "Do The Evolution", "Faithfull" (my favourite number from Yield) and the general attitude of the band really make you think. They've never been so 'together' since the first couple of records, and it shows.
A great DVD. Buy it. Their best by far.
5 Stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 February 2001
If your a pearl jam fan and have not yet seen this video its a must!!! The video gives an insight to the making of the Yield album and features the majority of the album's songs being played by Eddie and the band. These include Wishlist, Faithfull, Low Light, In Hiding and All Those Yesterdays. The video also includes interviews with all of the band and shows clips of the band in concert. Any guitar players should also note that the video includes a close up of Mike Mcreddy playing Given to Fly!! Buy it!! Its great!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
This is not a live concert but a film of the band during the studio sessions for the Yield album. Music is great, features Given to Fly, Do the evolution, In hiding & more. Nice insight into the rehearsal process & the relationships between the band members. Great band. Excellent entertainment. Would recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2000
This video is a great piece shoving us the work of Pearl Jam when rehearsing in the studio. We hear great versions of Yield-songs while watching them arrive to rehearsal on their bike or whatever. It gives us an idea of the fact that they are actually quite normal -but quite talented guys as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2000
It's been ages since Ed and his mates have visited our fair shores and this gives you the chance to view them at your will, playing a fine selection of tunes from the FINEST ALBUM EVER MADE, 'YIELD'. So if you haven't already I suggest purchase this video and do the evolution baby!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2000
If like a lot of Pearl Jam fans you are waiting patiently to see them live in the UK then you must but this video it is purely 50 mins of sheer brilliance which will just get you in the mood to see them in the flesh this summer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2000
This video is an excellent way of getting up close and personal with pearl jam without even being there. The tracks that appear are the best tracks from there most successful album. Every pearl jam fan should get this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
An inspiring little DVD that gives an insight in to the bands creative process. A must for all PJ fans!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Pearl Jam: Twenty [DVD] [2011] [NTSC]
Pearl Jam: Twenty [DVD] [2011] [NTSC] by Cameron Crowe (DVD - 2011)

Pearl Jam: Touring Band 2000 [DVD]
Pearl Jam: Touring Band 2000 [DVD] by Jeff Ament (DVD - 2001)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.