Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight into the studio life of Pearl Jam., 21 April 2003
By 
S. Wright (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD] (DVD)
Now this is typical of Pearl Jam...they have released this DVD, it's called Single Video Theory. Sounds pretty good, sounds interesting....let's see what the DVD itself contains....the back cover says absolutly nothing on what the disc itself contains, and just lists band members and production staff. That's just so typical of Pearl Jam. Infuriating to the end. But of course, that is what we like about them...
So hesitantly (although I love everything Pearl Jam have ever done) I purchased the mystery disc. I got it home, and was quite pleasently surprised. So now for the mystery to be finally over...
This fine disc is actually an inside view into Pearl Jam's studio life during the Yield era. Many class Yield as Pearl Jam's worst album, but it is my personal favourite, so I was indeed happy with this purchase.
There are some fine interviews with the band throughout, letting you inside what it's like to be in the studio in Seattle with everyone's favourite fame back-pedalers. Gossard let's you in on his guitar styles and secrets, and the band generally tells you what's on their mind. There are also fine performances of songs from Yield itself.
So a fine package from the PJ boys. There are no additional extras, and no menu either, and amazingly no chapters, but you get the feeling that that's the point. This is Pearl Jam upfront and personal with no barriers, nothing to distract you, and nothing to skip to or past because you need to watch it all. Because this is a fine experience into the minds and matters of a band who although have shyed away, have always wanted your full attention.
It would be of great interest for any Pearl Jam fan, or for anyone who's interested in how a band of such high calibre works, and it may also be for those who dislike the album Yield itself, of which this DVD was based on. It may just change your mind a little.
Oh, and it's worth nothing that there's a barcode on the DVD case, if nothing else...
Excellent. 4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 3 Jun 2003
By 
belle (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I was a bit surprised by the length of the video - a short 45 mins - but don't let this put you off! I have no regrets buying it and it is still definetely worth getting! It is very interesting to see them perform in the studio and all the songs on it are incredible! There are some great interview clips, a lot of them had me laughing! It shows you how funny and down to earth the guys in PJ are! If you are a big fan of Yield (like me) then you will be able to enjoy this even more. In saying that, i still think every Pearl Jam fan should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 July 2004
By 
J. T. Hooker (Albion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD] (DVD)
As cloud_connected says regarding the packaging; pretty economic lol.
The DVD itself though. Brilliant.
I can't fault this DVD, it's one of my favourites. It's only 45minutes long, contains some moments of genuine humour among the band and in general just feels like a superior quality DVD.
The performances of songs like "In Hiding", "Do The Evolution", "Faithfull" (my favourite number from Yield) and the general attitude of the band really make you think. They've never been so 'together' since the first couple of records, and it shows.
A great DVD. Buy it. Their best by far.
5 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How All Music DVDs Should Be, 16 April 2003
This review is from: Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD] (DVD)
Filmed during the recording of their 5th album Yield in 1997 this is an excellent documentry on the band. The interviews don't give much away, it's all very positive, but the perfomances of the songs are so strong that when the band members speak it's really the least interesting thing on the DVD. It's plain to see that all five members are all very different people, but in a way that's what makes Pearl Jam so unique, and their music timeless. Standout moments are "Faithful" a song of true genius & the rousing "Given To Fly". Eddie Vedder comes off looking like a laid back surfer dude which is not exactly the way he's been descibed in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam - Single Video Theory, 13 Feb 2001
By 
randidil@aol.com (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
If your a pearl jam fan and have not yet seen this video its a must!!! The video gives an insight to the making of the Yield album and features the majority of the album's songs being played by Eddie and the band. These include Wishlist, Faithfull, Low Light, In Hiding and All Those Yesterdays. The video also includes interviews with all of the band and shows clips of the band in concert. Any guitar players should also note that the video includes a close up of Mike Mcreddy playing Given to Fly!! Buy it!! Its great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best band in the world, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD] (DVD)
An inspiring little DVD that gives an insight in to the bands creative process. A must for all PJ fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam great as ever!, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a live concert but a film of the band during the studio sessions for the Yield album. Music is great, features Given to Fly, Do the evolution, In hiding & more. Nice insight into the rehearsal process & the relationships between the band members. Great band. Excellent entertainment. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are just normal people...!, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This video is a great piece shoving us the work of Pearl Jam when rehearsing in the studio. We hear great versions of Yield-songs while watching them arrive to rehearsal on their bike or whatever. It gives us an idea of the fact that they are actually quite normal -but quite talented guys as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you ready? Ready for Eddie?, 27 April 2000
By A Customer
It's been ages since Ed and his mates have visited our fair shores and this gives you the chance to view them at your will, playing a fine selection of tunes from the FINEST ALBUM EVER MADE, 'YIELD'. So if you haven't already I suggest purchase this video and do the evolution baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD]
Pearl Jam: Single Video Theory [DVD] by Mark Pellington (DVD - 2003)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews