Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest package from Global Underground ... ever
Cor blimey! Amazing mix, plain and simple! A mix of two very different halves, and a complete departure from what usually goes on with the Global Underground mixes. Out of the window goes the 'deep progressive for disc 1, tough progressive for disc 2' template that just about everyone seems to follow on mixes and in comes something special. Nick Warren was generally...
Published on 3 Oct 2003 by Simon J. Whight

versus
5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars easily forgettable
I see a couple of other revies of this albumn rate it very highly, but I dont feel quite the same. I own the majority of the global underground collection, and i find this CD reasonably forgettable in the grand scale of things. Most of the CDs in the global underground collection seem to have a theme (digweed in los angeles= seedy and slow moving US house,lavelle in...
Published on 19 Jan 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest package from Global Underground ... ever, 3 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
Cor blimey! Amazing mix, plain and simple! A mix of two very different halves, and a complete departure from what usually goes on with the Global Underground mixes. Out of the window goes the 'deep progressive for disc 1, tough progressive for disc 2' template that just about everyone seems to follow on mixes and in comes something special. Nick Warren was generally regarded as having created the best mix of the Back To Mine series, what he does here completely blows that mix out of the water.
Disc 1 takes you on a journey from chilled out ambience, dubby house right up to perky electronic breaks. And all perfectly seamless, the mix carries you along through the tempos without erratically jumping between styles. Listen to the way the mix blends from Ulrich Schnauss to Boards Of Canada to Yunx. Spine tingling. Also check the way it subtly ramps things up for the superb breaks journey as Planet Funk ends. Warren has some inspirational moments here, like layering Global Communications 14:31 over the breakdown of Burufunk's Outsider to completely change the mood of the track. It feels like thats how the track was always meant to be heard. And if thats not enough, thats only disc 1. Hell, I'd just fork out the money for disc 1 alone, whack the setting to 5 stars for this review, bobs your uncle. Warren is lovely enough to provide a counterbalance to his ambient/breaks journey of disc 1. The second disc sees him get to grip with some deep and trippy Progressive Trance, long melodic electronic journeys, sometimes cosmic like the opening two tracks, sometimes uplifting like the fantastic Rise by Vector and Crayons by Starkid, and sometimes plain pounding and bassy like Aquaculture - Don't Play The Game. Words cannot sum up how good Warren's vision is on this CD.
This CD is something you can chill to, dance to, wonder at its scope and musical genius. The wintery feel of Reykjavik is capture perfectly in the icy but never unfriendly electronic landscape that Warren crafts. Absolutely NO big name hitters on this really but the quality of every aspect of this mix is of the highest grade. This is a mix which will stand the test of time, no doubt be revered in the same light as the likes of Northern Exposure, a really special release from Global Underground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Regained? Paradise Exceeded., 31 Oct 2003
By 
Tom Douglas (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
I dip in to and out of the GU series... mainly becase it does not sustain the high peaks it sometimes reaches- and of course it COULD not sustain them. There are always hits and misses. Although GU have definitely raised the standard for all mixes.
There are peaks that (merely?) match previous high points and then there are new peaks - mixes that snatch the breath.
And so it is with Nick Warren in Reykjavik. Not for the first time he has taken GU to a new level. Disc 1 is the killer. Nick does ambient/chill out. Nick *rewrites* ambient/chillout. Gently raising the stakes, darkening the tone, leading you astray.
This is not to take anything away from Disc 2. Its starts fresh and stays there, never really settling into sedate middle-age.
Its a killer double CD. Disc 1 sucks you in and gets you hooked. Disc 2 feeds your addiction in a wholly irresponsible way!
We already knew that Nick Warren could cut it. With Reykjavik he adds even more to a great reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave and vindicated., 12 Mar 2006
By 
Mitya (Nottm., UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
It's a view held by many that Nick Warren 'is' GU. And it's not a wholly unfounded view, either, given the Boxed boys have called him more than anyone else to get on the decks. His offerings have been consistently superb, GU24 (intended originally as NW's last GU, a decision divinely reversed later for Shanghai) bears little resemblence to his former offerings, nor those of any other DJ. Which was rather brave at the conception stage.

Warren here goes back to his Massive Attack DJ roots since this album is far more about unhurried depth of sound and trip-hop than it is house. The inclination to fill dance floors is only occasionally visited, and is instead flanked by a more constant presence way down at the bottom of the BPM scale. It's a lesson in track selection and mixing, and its structure is one of human-like mood changes that one could easily experience when immersed in such music or a related club night.

So it's all the more confusing that all the tracks seem natural in their progression, given that the structure is mood-like not directional. There are precious few mix albums like this where you can see each track belongs - forget fillers. So it would do injustice to those I don't mention if I were to pick out highlights (although the fact that there's a Planet Funk song should accelerate your dive to the 'buy now' button). The songs fit, the mixing is, well, Nick Warren, and it shows that the slowing and broadening of prog house only makes it more deserving of its 'intelligent' tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re Freshing GU Mix, 14 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
An Excellent GU Mix from Nick Warren. One of finest in the series by far. Resident Advisor.net's review hits the nail on the head. Refreshing, New, Exciting and just what the series needed. The 1st CD goes down as one of the best mixes ever - purely through breaking the boundaries and trying something different and pulling it off. It still gets played today 7 years later.
Highly Recomended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally sublime mix, 8 Jun 2010
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
Curiously, the Reykjavic edition is just about the hardest in the series to get hold of - out of production and never re-issued - and yet is a contender for "best of bunch". Nick Warren always gives us something a little different, and here he's in chillout psychedelic mode, finding tracks of superior intelligence and sophistication. The mix never reaches any dramatic crescendos and this really works in its favour, setting a flavour from the very first note and maintaining it throughout....too often other DJs in this series attempt to mix too many different moods together and it all goes pear shaped. Not surprisingly, Warren is the only DJ who has been with this series from the beginning and is still working hard....other big names like Sasha and Digweed have been dropped because, let's face it, they just became great big yawns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GU regains its momentum, 1 Aug 2008
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
This was the first GU CD I'd bought in awhile, as the series seemed to be disappearing into a listless progressive void. Then Nick Warren comes along and changes my perception of GU and him as a DJ forever. Sneaky fecker!
I'm a sucker - I keep buying CDs on a whim, to the point that my living room is creaking. Included in this huge collection, is a substantial amount of progressive house. Sure there are some gems in the collection - Fundacion, Sequential Vol. 2, Therapy Sessions, etc, etc, but much of it has been stuck on to I-tunes to be heard once in a blue moon. It's due to lack of originality and imagination. Progressive house doesn't progress anymore!! Now though, the dying flames of my love affair have been fanned.

CD1 is imaginative and refreshing. It breathes life into the genre and the choice of tracks is faultless. Warren chooses to splice a number of tracks with others (a trait that has been much-copied since) to great effect, adding new dimensions to individual works.

CD2 is more run of the mill progressive house, but it's energetic and funky and merits a fairly regular listen.

For me it's all about CD1 and on its merits, I've ordered GU Shanghai. I wait with baited breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent GU vinyl pack, 2 Aug 2005
Quality package, with the tracks on the first two discs being downtempo breaks and ambience inluding the haunting Tom Middleton produced 10+ minute wonder 14:31.
The final disc goes deep and lush progressive via Aural Imbalance (being an exclusive to this vinyl as at the time not released fully), and the solid chugging Don't Play The Game via Aquaculture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars easily forgettable, 19 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Global Underground 24: Nick Warren in Reykjavik (Audio CD)
I see a couple of other revies of this albumn rate it very highly, but I dont feel quite the same. I own the majority of the global underground collection, and i find this CD reasonably forgettable in the grand scale of things. Most of the CDs in the global underground collection seem to have a theme (digweed in los angeles= seedy and slow moving US house,lavelle in barcelona = massive breaks with deep basslines).however i dont think this compilation has any real direction. You seem to find yourself using the skip button on the CD player an awful lot more then you should do, and to listen from begining to end can feel more like a chore at times then enjoyment.I cant really pick out any tunes of distinction. If your just starting out in listening to global underground stuff can i suggest you give oakenfold in new york, digweed in los angeles (for some very dark house) or sasha in ibiza ago first before buying this.I know everyones got there own tastes so dont read this as gospel, but i just found this one a bit bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfef7018)

This product

Only search this product's reviews