Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rose Red is......
yet another superb piece of work from the King of horror and tale-telling: Stephen King.
Like many here, I am a die-hard King fan and never fail to be captivated by his work.
You can't simply watch a King movie once and expect to be swept away - you really need to get into the story and characters, which often calls for repeated watching of any of his movies...
Published on 30 Nov 2003 by muttmummy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rose Red comes with many a thorn of disappointment
No one admires or idolizes Stephen King more than I do, but Stephen King's Rose Red falls quite short of becoming the ultimate haunted house movie. There's really nothing frightening about it, for one thing. For a six hour miniseries (which equates to just over four hours viewing time on DVD), the characterization is rather spotty, some of the casting is questionable,...
Published on 6 Nov 2003 by Daniel Jolley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rose Red is......, 30 Nov 2003
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
yet another superb piece of work from the King of horror and tale-telling: Stephen King.
Like many here, I am a die-hard King fan and never fail to be captivated by his work.
You can't simply watch a King movie once and expect to be swept away - you really need to get into the story and characters, which often calls for repeated watching of any of his movies. Often, King's work is so deep and multi-layered that you cannot grasp the complexities of it in one viewing. He is heavily into character development and group dynamics (IT, The Stand and Dreamcatcher are good examples), where he takes time to build strong character profiles and timelines - resulting in very rich and in-depth stories. His aim is not to instantly shock or provide wall to wall action. His aim is to REALLY tell a story and that takes time and attention to detail. As such, King's work often demands patience and heavy involvement from the viewer/reader. You get from King's work what you put in. Often, you will find only repeated viewing of a King movie will provide the total satisfaction his work can bring to a fan.
Bearing that in mind, let's talk about Rose Red......
Written specifically for the screen (initially at the request of Steven Speilberg who wanted the ultimate haunted house story), and the very first project tackled after King's terrible RTA, Rose Red's aim was to be the ultimate haunted house story. King's slant is to develop a HOUSE that is evil, as opposed to the ghosts that inhabit it. A house with a personality all its own......
Built in the early 1900's, on that dodgy old piece of ancient burial ground, Rose Red is a house that feeds off the lives of those within it. For years, it has lain dormant - abandoned after many lives were lost and the original owner disappeared. Enter a group of researchers and psychics, who spend a few days at Rose Red aiming to collect indisputable evidence of paranormal activity. Naturally, it all goes horrible wrong.
This was aired on American TV as a 6 hour mini series - the DVD version is 4 hours but you do get special extras.
I agree with the other reviewer here - this movie is NOT scary. It IS eerie and atmospheric with excellent special effects and an extremely imaginative plot line - especially the aspect of the house shifting and changing and rebuilding itself. It is never boring and I find it enthrawling every time I watch it.
This is one of my absolute favourite movies - sometimes watched every day for days, occassionaly watched more than once a day.
I think the other viewers concerns about not all characters being deep, would have been resolved had we have been given the whole 6 hours version (I was disappointed with that to be honest - I see no reason for that editing).
Anyway - I think that any King fan will be more than happy to have this two disc set in their collection. I would highly recommend it to any serious King fan - simple horror fans not especially lovers of King will still gain a lot from viewing this great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rose red - brilliant, 23 May 2005
By 
anne taylor (bangor, co down United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rose Red [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I absolutely loved this film and have watched it several times (will probably watch it several more). I found it really gripping and every time I watch it, it still makes me jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary as anything, 20 Feb 2004
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
I got this a while ago and only got around to watching it last night. I think that some Steven King books wont translate to film very well but some are just amazing. I have loved Steven King for a long long time now and own almost all his books.
This is by far one of the best Steven King films ever (Although it was a made for TV show) Buy it you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luxurious Horror, 10 Sep 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
Rose Red is the story of a vast, rambling, shape-shifting mansion with her own persona that has the nasty habit of "swallowing" visitors up in her apparently infinite rooms, and who are never seen or heard of again. A parapsychologist, driven to exasperation by the derision of her psychology department peers, sets out to recruit a team of psychics to prove beyonmd doubt that a haunting can be recorded scientifically.

A mini-series adapted into a two-disc DVD set, Rose Red actually plays out like a long movie. The production is sumptuous for a TV show, and in technical terms surpasses much of the other Stephen King stories that have been adapted into big screen films. The colourful characters, the elaborate sets inside the rambling old haunted house, and both the costumes and camera-work are all well done and frankly a joy to watch. The ghostly appearences are more in the brightly shining mode of the "Poltergeist" flms, but it's not the special effects that are the winners here.

The acting is really good from a cast portraying a highly eccentric group of ghostbusters paid to enter Rose Red, after twenty years of the house lying empty. From the deeply religious and goody-goody to the selfish and arrogant, the larger than life characters and their idiosynchracies provide the life of the story.

One of the most fascinating is the parapsychologist herself; at equally as eccentric as the rest of her team, she is a real enigma. Like many of the other strange characters, as the film picks up in its pace, one begins to doubt (or at least think about) what their true role and agenda is.

Although not in the gore-vein of horror, Rose Red is nevertheless a film of luscious creepieness with a strong cast and an engrossing story, which includes a history of the house's former occupants built up in flashbacks throughout. Well worth watching, whether you're a Stephen King fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another haunted house., 11 July 2003
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
Not just another haunted house film, but something else from the twisted mind of the master. I was riveted to my seat for the full 245 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rose Red comes with many a thorn of disappointment, 6 Nov 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
No one admires or idolizes Stephen King more than I do, but Stephen King's Rose Red falls quite short of becoming the ultimate haunted house movie. There's really nothing frightening about it, for one thing. For a six hour miniseries (which equates to just over four hours viewing time on DVD), the characterization is rather spotty, some of the casting is questionable, insufficient background information is provided, and all of the elements in this expanded story production fail to click. There is nowhere near enough blood and gore for my liking, but of course one has to always remember that this was a made-for-TV miniseries and not an R rated theatrical motion picture – there is a nice finger-chopping scene, though. The viewing experience on DVD is much better than the original miniseries experience, I might point out (although the video quality is surprisingly shaky). It basically took the first night of the miniseries for things to really get going, and now one can plunge right into the heart of the story without delay; what little sustained creepiness is to be found inside the walls of Rose Red works much better without the handicap of commercial interruption. This does lead to some soap opera moments, however, in those spaces that lead up to the original commercial breaks. I think the real weakness of the film, though, is the ending, as it comes across as somewhat contrived; it certainly does not satisfy this viewer.
Initially, we spend some time meeting the central characters in this drama; I say "meeting" because I never felt as if I actually "got to know" more than two or three of them. Nancy Travis plays Dr. Joyce Reardon, a scientist obsessed with proving the existence of the paranormal. Despite the harassment she receives from her boss Professor Miller (David Dukes), she goes ahead with a scientific investigation of Seattle's supposedly haunted mansion Rose Red, intending to wake up what she perceives is a dormant cell and thereby gain the proof she seeks that spirits do exist. She assembles a most unusual team of helpers, each of them psychic in one way or another (mind reading, post-cognition, automatic writing, etc.). The key, though, is the teenaged Annie Wheaton (Kimberly J. Brown), an autistic youth with a proven track record of psychokinetic powers (e.g., pummeling a neighbor's house with large boulders out of the sky a la Carrie White). The only really interesting characters besides Annie and Dr. Reardon are Steven Rimbauer, the last living descendant of the Rimbauers and sole owner of Rose Red (as well as Dr. Reardon's lover) and Emery Waterman (Matt Ross). Emery sees dead people, is burdened with a mother who is exceedingly overprotective and a compulsive shopper, and whines and complains to beat the band.
Naturally, weird things begin to happen, we piece together more of the story of the house, and eventually individuals start wandering around alone basically begging to die. Frayed nerves are snapped like rubber bands, and a few ghostly manifestations appear in zombie fashion from time to time to assist new victims of the house to their untimely deaths. Needless to say, Reardon and her team are trapped inside the house. A couple of other related characters find their way on the land to meet a most unkind fate, and eventually final resolution comes in a rather silly manner.
I'm just not sure that Nancy Travis was the right actress to play Dr. Reardon, but there are also problems with the character she plays. Fairly early on in the film, for instance, Reardon has a confrontation with Dr. Miller, and this scene as it played out had a negative impact on my enjoyment of the film as a whole. David Dukes, the man who played Dr. Miller, died tragically during the filming, leaving behind a great performance of a despicable character. I liked Annie, and I make a point to say this because King movies all too often feature young characters so incredibly annoying that you have to hate them. King himself makes another great cameo appearance in the film, which is all the more remarkable considering the after effects of the relatively recent accident which almost killed him.
The only important bonus features on the DVD are two documentaries. The Making of Rose Red is good and quite informative, but at fifty minutes it seems to drag on forever. It is certainly worth watching, though, for the Stephen King interview clips if nothing else. Then there is a half-hour feature on The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer; this is a promotional fake documentary ABC put out shortly before the airing of the miniseries itself. It presents the story of the house and the investigation as fact, trying to create the idea in potential viewers' heads that the miniseries was to have strong elements of truth in it, which it does not. If you have never seen Rose Red, I would actually recommend watching this feature before taking in the film itself, as it offers valuable (though still incomplete) information on the background of the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rose Red, 24 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
A good DVD for a cold night. I must say that I expected it to be more gorey however, the story line did keepme guessing. It is a long DVD to watch but it did not seem to go on forever.

All in all a good Stephen King Novel portrayed onto DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rose Red, 30 Nov 2004
By 
tom (Northen Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
Rose Red is the ulimate haunted house story, and another crowning acheivment from the king of horror (Praise him, man). The entirity of the movie keeps up with a beautiful chilling atomsphere, hell, SK himself makes an apperance as a delivery-guy!
Personally, i would love the house (Rose Red) to be real so i could spend time in it!
COOL, man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned spook!, 22 Jun 2003
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
At last a great "Old Fashioned " ghost story that will get you on the edge of your seat or hiding behind the sofa. Loosely based on a true story this film will take you to Rose Red, a well known psychic hot spot. It has been dormant for years and is now known as a Dead Cell. A team of scientists visit to record any pyshcic phenomenon.
In true Stephen King style,you get to know the characters well and feel for them all as they wander around this truly spooky old house.
For those of us who need a little more than blood and guts this is truly a winner.
Break out the cushions to hide your eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She holds the key that will unlock Rose Red............, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Bezerus Bezby "Bez" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rose Red [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this dvd because of the postive reviews I read here, so thanks to all those who wrote them, as you were spot on!

Rose Red tells the tale of a group of psychics led by a slightly manic professor. Her ambition is to prove paranormal acitivty is real, by investigating Rose Red, a huge mansion thought to be haunted. The professor is dermined to obtain her proof in order to salvage her career, no matter what the cost to the others in her party.

The mansion is done very well and there is real sense of doom and forboding about Rose Red. It may not be jump in your seat scary, but it certainly does send a chill down your spine.

The acting is solid, as is the storyline. All in all, I really enjoyed this and will certainly be watching it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rose Red [DVD]
Rose Red [DVD] by Craig R. Baxley (DVD - 2003)
16.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews