Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview from 4AD's best band
A very useful introduction to this distinguished band. A double CD of tracks taken from their recent 3 CD/DVD box set, this set offers an excellent overview from their back catalogue.
Though Lisa Gerrard has become well known for her recent soundtrack work, it was the coupling of Gerrard and Brendan Perry which created the magic that was Dead Can Dance. Though they...
Published on 24 Jun 2004 by Dr. D. B. Sillars

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I want more lisa
As much as I enjoyed this album on the first few times I heard it, I now find it hard to listen to it all the way through and find myself skipping tracks in which Lisa is not singing on. So if there had been more of Lisa on this disc which there should of I would of given it 4 or even 5 stars. I think most people that are into this band are into it becauce of Lisa's voice...
Published on 28 April 2010 by Stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview from 4AD's best band, 24 Jun 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
A very useful introduction to this distinguished band. A double CD of tracks taken from their recent 3 CD/DVD box set, this set offers an excellent overview from their back catalogue.
Though Lisa Gerrard has become well known for her recent soundtrack work, it was the coupling of Gerrard and Brendan Perry which created the magic that was Dead Can Dance. Though they started out as a Goth sounding band on their first EP and album, they quickly established their own distinctive style of orchestral based music, encompasing various influences such as early music, European folk and classical, Irish music as well as world music flavourings. The focus of their music has always been Lisa Gerrards remarkable voice. Powerful and evocative, once heard never forgotten. Brendan Perry brought a more contemporary, song-based edge to the band, with his Scott Walker croon and his songs more evocative of the folk tradition of Tim Buckley and Nick Drake. But they were at their best when the duo integrated their talents. At times this would result in something almost transcendent in its power and beauty as on "Cantara" or "Frontier" for instance.
Each album is a thing of wonder and it's recommended to purchase those. For me the best are, "Within the Realm of a Dying Sun" and "Toward the Within", though they are all excellent. For the curious, this collection is a good retrospective of one of the most beautiful and original of bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent intoduction to DCD, 12 Mar 2004
By 
J. Deas "moriarty" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
This is an absolute bargain of a double CD with a brief but good biography and lyrics (where applicable!) included in the booklet. I would thoroughly recommend this album to anyone unfamiliar with DCD, the tracks included represent a very balanced sample of the incredible musical diversity explored by Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard. Use this as a starting point and then buy the individual albums and solo works - you will not be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 29 July 2004
By 
A. BADDELEY "sawtooth12" (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
I must initially state that I disagree entirely with one reviewers opinion of Brendan Perry's voice. I am normally not inclined to favour male singers over female's, but I think his voice incredible. A deep and powerful delivery which is preferred over the higher pitch of Gerrard's (which could be delivered a few octaves lower at times, in my opinion). He really makes DCD stand out personally for me. When singing along to his delivery, I get the same resonance as my deep vocal exhalations in yoga! Heavy.
Anyway, I think the band incredible and normally would shy away entirely from a genre such as this. One reviewer commented that the sound 'deeply resonates with humaness, is enigmatic and powerful'. I cannot agree more. I listen to electronic music primarily but find this has a timeless and very human sound that defies any contemporary and narrowminded categorisation. The feel transcends intellectualism, which, for me, is a sign of good music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff but nothing new...buy for your friends!, 10 May 2003
By 
DM Webster "arakis2002" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
Hurray! I thought when I saw this advertised...DCD have reformed and started producing tunes again. However, this is a best of... CD, and a very respectable one at that. All the favourites are here from the albums, plus a brief run down of the history of the pair in the notes. Sound quality, as you should expect from DCD, is excellent and there were a few on here which I hadn't heard so that's a bonus. But if you're looking for a new CD you'll be disappointed. Buy this one as an introduction for your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great yet concise snapshot of Dead Can Dance..., 4 Jun 2003
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
Recently, two different compilations of Dead Can Dance's greatest tracks have been released - this one, and the Box Set (which contains many more tracks than this). Wake is infinitely superior, and at a fraction of the cost. Whoever put together this selection has managed to choose only the best tracks, leaving out the more forgettable songs; this is not the case with the box set, which requires that you wade though the mire of poorer tracks to reach the gems. With Wake, someone else has done this for you, so you need only put the disc in your CD player and enjoy.
It is a real pity that so many people have dismissed Dead Can Dance as "Morbid Gothic types" simply because of their name; the music tells an altogether different story, quite different from the music of others on the 4ad label (Bauhaus, Cocteau Twins, to name but two). Tracks like "Yulunga" and "The Ubiquitous Mr LoveGrove" really show what Brendan Perry and Lisa Gerrard are capable of. Gerrard's strange lyrics sit perfectly with Perry's quite considerable instrumental talent. They have lovingly crafted uplifting, modern folk music that will surely endure long after they are gone. Good luck to them in their music beyond Dead Can Dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
My taste in music has always run towards the unusual. I've never really gone for main stream music. So when this was recommended for me, i decided to give it a go as i'd never heard about DCD before. Needless to say, i was impressed. Their music borrows from so many cultures and yet still sounds fresh and original! And i like the fact that they aren't afraid to experiment with different musical instruments with Lisa Gerrard using her haunting voice as an instrument. I loved all the songs on this double cd but the songs i keep going back to listen to are "The Lotus Eaters" and "Spider Strategem". Anyone who would like to try this amazing duo out should start with this double cd first as it has various hits from their other albums. One thing's for sure, they now have a new fan in me. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminisce, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. Neil Horner "Northern Muse" (Cheshire,UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
I've just bought this haven't not heard DCD for a very long time but was very fond of In the Realm of a Dying Sun at the time (a companion piece to SPK's Songs of Byzantine Flowers). It stands up very well to the test of time and is also very of this time with the resurgence of "industrial folk" with Current 93 and Fovea Hex. I had a look though at the Lisa Gerrard "best of" and, although the Gladiator song is present and correct, her finest film moment (Gortoz a Ran, with Breton singer Denez Prigent, from Black Hawk Down) is not. C'est la vie but this is an excellent compilation - I get the point about Perry's voice from some reviewers but he is hardly Andrew Eldritch (whose music I love, by the way!) and it does provide some light and shade - Summoning of the Muse, in particular, bringing back some memorable times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brendan please sing more, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Oostrijck (Rotterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
Some people seem to have a problem with Brendan Perry`s songs and vocals. I LOVE Perry`s voice and his songs are superb. While I really appreciate Lisa Gerrard I must admit listening to Perry`s contributions more often. But one and one is three when it comes to Dead can dance. Their voices go beautifully together and alhough their solo stuff is great too, they are even better when they operate under the name Dead Can Dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DCD Wake, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WAKE (Audio CD)
If you buy this you should know what to expect. It's not to everyones taste and my wife doesn't like it. If you want Lisa Gerrard Gladiator vocals you may be better getting her 'best of' cd. I find it better than 'world music' with moments of brilliance interspersed with moments of hitting the FF button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon tax cheats, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wake (MP3 Download)
I won't be shopping with tax cheats like Amazon this christmas or any other time in the future and invite you to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

WAKE
WAKE by Dead Can Dance (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews