Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn fine album!
The White Stripes are a duo who record all their material on old analog recording equipment and refuse to embrace the digital revolution. The result? An album that sounds warmer and more real than just about anything that has been around in years!
That's no exageration either, as this album just exudes a sound that is sadly being left in the past. There are not...
Published on 25 Feb 2004 by michael_m

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Grower ????
People said so many good things..., I prefer to say its ok. Give me The Black Keys any day. Its not bad.
Published 7 months ago by Homermckinley


‹ Previous | 116 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Learn to play the drums..., 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
A rather poor effort by a rather average band. "Elephant" sees the white stripes attempting to move into new ground, with miserable results. Frankly, they just aren't good enough as a band, as musicians or as songwriters to pull this album off. The most obvious problem here is that the songs simply don't go anywhere. They remain stuck around overly-repeated and half-formed patterns with no hint of inspiration needed for any of the songs to progress. The first single, 'Seven Nation Army' is a prime example; the riff is fair enough, short, simple and catchy, and in the hands of different musicians could make a good song. However, the white stripes use it to death, never allowing the song to move away from the 10-second riff, in it's 4-minute entirity. As a result, after 1 verse the song becomes grinding and dull. The second major problem with this record is that, quite simply, Meg White CANNOT play drums. This woman is shockingly bad, and after listening to the same wobbley 4/4 drum beat for 30 minutes I felt like taking a sledgehammer to my stereo. Honestly, Jack White would have done better to have paid an imbred monkey to sit in front of the drums. The drums on this record ruin the occasional spark of interest the songs may create. Two bits of advice: 1) Get a new drummer, and 2) When you come up with a cool sounding guitar riff, instead of repeating it for 4 minutes and calling it a song, come up with another 1. And then maybe another. Then how about a bass line?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry I was disappointed, 12 May 2003
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
After hearing all of the hype created by critics and dotted around the internet by fans, I was curious and bought the album. 25 (ish) listens later and I have put this CD to the back of my drawer never to be aired again.
I believe that there is nothing new, exciting or original on this album and that it is almost like they made it for the kids who didnt catch this type of music from the original (and the best) artists from the 70's.
Do not believe the hype!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album of this century, 19 Dec 2005
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
Elephant is fantastic. Elephant is the best album of this century. Elephant is the White Stripes' masterpiece. Elephant is one of the best rock albuns of all time!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 18 Jun 2004
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
Probably the best start for 2003, considering the lack of variety at that poinr but however, this still manages to lead the way with its quick songs, and fast beat tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, not even a good rip-off, 2 Mar 2004
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
Two or three great tracks - Seven Nation Army being one - and the rest is dreadfully boring. I bought this on the back of SNA, and like the previous album it was a big mistake. White blood cells also had one or two decent tracks and a lot of filler. The way this pair of mediocre musicians and one mediocre songwriter gets praise from the press is beyond belief - do yourselves a favour buy a lez zep or sabbath cd - doesn;t really matter which either 'cos they are bound to be better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 16 Mar 2003
This review is from: Elephant (Audio CD)
When I first listened to the album I was dissappointed in comparison to WBC. Sure it maintained a similar sound, but lacked the stand out tracks of WBC such as FILWAG, Offend In Everyway and Dead Leaves.
Effectivly the white stripes had the age old problem of following up one of the best albums to be released in their generation. Only Radiohead have succeeded in this is the last 10 years. However, after further listening the album grows into a fine piece of work in its own right. Had it not followed WBC, it would undoubtedly be heralded as the defining album of the year, and may still be so, pending of course our old friends Radiohead.
I never like giving first impressions, for you can only ever make one of them, and so I shall stop myself from anaylsing the album in detail after just a few listens, but a few interesting points jumped out at me.
1. The riff on "There's No Home For You Here" sounds strikingly similar to that of Dead Leaves.
2. The final track, "Its true that we love one another," and insanely catchy novelty songette, features the line "It's true that we love one another, I love Jack White like a little brother." Someone making an ironic reply to certain allegations methinks.
3. Despite the hype regarding the Meg sung song, in my humble opinion it is one of the weaker songs on the album...stick to the drums.
So overall, a solid follow up, but lacking the immediate impact of WBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elephant
Elephant by The White Stripes (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews