Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A track Listing
Amazon don't seem to have a track listing so I thought this may be of use.

If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will adjust the listing.

Track listing
1. Atmospheres - Wimple Winch
2. Faster Than Light - Mirror
3. Woman of Distinction - Caleb
4. It's All Over Now - Cure, Martin
5. Always with Him - Living...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Groovy!!
This a fasinating set of mainly unknown artists of the time. I personally like volumes 1,4 and 8 best however there are quite a few mediocre numbers plus some really awful poppy songs included, so it is quite a mixed bag. Don't let that deter you though as the better tracks are gems and the 84 page booklet is excellent.
If I was rating the set only on cost then for...
Published 21 months ago by Redjazzty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A track Listing, 17 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Amazon don't seem to have a track listing so I thought this may be of use.

If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will adjust the listing.

Track listing
1. Atmospheres - Wimple Winch
2. Faster Than Light - Mirror
3. Woman of Distinction - Caleb
4. It's All Over Now - Cure, Martin
5. Always with Him - Living Daylights
6. Never Had a Girl Like You Before - Misunderstood
7. Cast a Spell - Open Mind
8. The Spider & The Fly - Dakotas
9. Rumble on Mersey Square South - Wimple Winch
10. Magic Potion - Open Mind
11. Let's Live for Today - Living Daylights
12. I Must Be Mad - Craig
13. I Will - Unit 4+2
14. Grey - Hush
15. Save My Soul - Wimple Winch
16. The Morning After - Mindbenders

1. Eastern Music - Mode
2. Marmalade Hair - Wimple Winch
3. World Spinning Sadly - Parking Lot
4. Defecting Grey - Pretty Things
5. The Kid Was a Killer - West, Keith
6. Indian Thing - Shotgun Express
7. Tracy Took a Trip - Executive
8. Lollipop Minds - Wimple Winch
9. You Break My Heart - Talismen
10. Walking Through My Dreams - Pretty Things
11. Love - Bo Street Runners
12. Sweet Love - Sons of Fred
13. Bluebell Wood - Wimple Winch
14. Knocking Nails into My House - Idle Race
15. After Tea - Davis, Spencer Group
16. Rosecrans Blvd. - Waller, Gordon

1. Nightmares in Red - Brain
2. 10, 000 Years Behind My Mind - Focus Three
3. Talkin' About the Good Times - Pretty Things
4. The Fox Has Gone to Ground - Bamboo Shoot
5. Visions in a Plaster Sky - Wild Silk
6. (He's Our Dear Old) Weatherman - Wirtz, Mark
7. William Chalker's Time Machine - Lemon Tree
8. Barricades - Koobas
9. 10,000 Words in a Cardboard Box - Aquarian Age
10. Mr. Evasion - Pretty Things
11. Gardena Dreamer - Executive
12. Fragile Child - Chances Are
13. Hold On - Ipsissimus
14. Shades of Grey - Rumbold, Edwick
15. Model Village - Penny Peeps
16. Revolution - Tomorrow

1. Black Mass - Jason Crest
2. The Wedding of Ramona Blair - Mirage
3. Baby Your Phrasing Is Bad - Caleb
4. Flight from Ashiya - Kaleidoscope
5. Matrimonial Fears - Cymbaline
6. On the Beach - Finders Keepers
7. The Cooks of Cake & Kindness - Californians
8. Strange Things Are Happening - Rings & Things
9. Butterfly - Fox
10. 3:30 AM - Unit 4+2
11. A Dream for Julie - Kaleidoscope
12. Come Alive - Tempus Fugit
13. Golden Glass - Misunderstood
14. Untitled Hidden Track

1. That's the Way It's Gotta Be - Poets
2. Anymore Than I Do - Attack
3. I'm Not Your Stepping Stone - Flies
4. Gotta Wait - Game
5. Please Please Me - Score
6. I'm Leaving - Mark Four
7. Father's Name Is Dad - Fire
8. Mother's Little Helper - Latter, Gene
9. Gonna Get Me Someone - Game
10. House of Love - Flies
11. Hey Gyp - Shields, Keith
12. Try It - Attack
13. I Love Her Still - Poets
14. Living Is Easy - Dream Police
15. Run & Hide - Fairytale
16. Hurt Me If You Will - Mark Four

1. Lovely People - Fairytale
2. Glasshouse Green Splinter Red - Kinsmen
3. I Am So Blue - Poets
4. Anniversary of Love - Ice
5. Shades of Orange - End
6. Tales of Flossie Fillet - Turquoise
7. Magic Bus - Pudding Maker
8. Neville Thumbcatch - Attack
9. Red Sky at Night - Accent
10. 8 1/2 Hours to Paradise - Elastic Band
11. Created by Clive - Attack
12. Suburban Early Morning Station - Two & A Half
13. Peacefully Asleep - Life 'N' Soul
14. I'll Cry with the Moon - Poets
15. Beggar's Parade - Falling Leaves
16. 20-10 - Tinkerbell's Fairydust

1. Pictures in the Sky - Orange Seaweed
2. You Didn't Have to Be So Nice - Glass Menagerie
3. Real Life Permanent Dream - Orange Machine
4. Jump & Dance - Carnaby
5. Harekrishna - New Formula
6. So Sad Inside - Onyx
7. The Flying Machine - Flying Machine
8. You Said - Primitives
9. You Gotta Be with Me - Onyx
10. My World Fell Down - Ivy League
11. Blue Turns to Grey - Epics
12. Cloudy - Factotums
13. Better Make Up Your Mind - Koobas
14. I'm a Hog for You - Earwigs
15. Help Me - Primitives
16. Within the Night - Velvett Fogg

1. Living a Lie - Yellow
2. Hold On - Tandy, Sharon
3. Prodigal Son - Eyes of Blue
4. Here We Go 'Round the Lemon Tree - Jason Crest
5. Lamp Lighter Man - Price, Rick
6. Tumblin' - Jigsaw
7. On Love - Skip Bifferty
8. High in the Tower of Coombe - Methuselah
9. Upside Down - Norman Conquest
10. A Place in the Sun - Jason Crest
11. The Madman Running Through the Fields - Dantalian's Chariot
12. Daughter of the Moon - Tandy, Sharon
13. Days When We Are Free - Mashmakhan
14. Children of Tomorrow - Mike Stuart Span
15. I'm Flying - Serendipity
16. The World Will End Yesterday - Second Hand

1. Celestial Empire - Dragonfly
2. You Know That I'll Be There - Peter & The Blizzards
3. Mother No Head - Group 1850
4. Slow Motion Mind - Tower
5. Do You Feel Alright - Outsiders
6. Buses - Sharks & Me
7. Good Weekend - Short Sixty Six
8. Wedding of 100 Brides - Motions
9. Back to the City - Sandy Coast
10. Lotus Love - Zipps
11. Girl of My Kind - Bumble Bees
12. Mini Minnie - Young Ones
13. Swedish Tears - Saint Giles's System
14. So High I've Been, So Down I Must Fall - Q 65
15. A Girl Named You - Supersister
16. Such a Cad - Baroques
17. That Day - Golden Ear Rings
18. Untitled Hidden Track

1. Tamaris Khan - Onyx
2. Frederick Jordan - Glass Menagerie
3. We Didn't Kiss Didn't Love But Now We Do - Clique
4. A Step in the Right Direction - Montanas
5. Linda Loves Linda - Floribunda Rose
6. Lady Caroline - Velvett Fogg
7. Riding on a Wave - Turnstyle
8. Frosted Panes - Kytes
9. Running Wild - Fresh Air
10. Stay a While - Orange Seaweed
11. Hungry - Five am Event
12. Gotta Keep on Moving Baby - Game
13. She's a Rainbow - Glass Menagerie
14. Stay Indoors - New Formula
15. Buffalo - Writing on the Wall
16. You Can All Join In - Orange Machine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king of psychedelic collections!, 9 Aug 2011
By 
Ms. A. Crane (South of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whilst I am not a 60s original (I was born in 1988!), I grew up listening to music from that era, and have been a serious 60s music anorak for about ten years now. Very quickly, I had heard the complete recordings of all the major groups and artists from this era, but I was still hungry for more. That's where Rubble stepped in...
I now own many compilations of obscure 60s music but none can compare to this one. Although a number of the tracks are availiable on other collections, it is important to remember that this was one of the first albums of obscure British stuff (dating from the early 80s), so, in my opinion anyway, subsequent compilations are copying from this one. What sets this aside from a number of its contemporaries is the sound quality - these DO NOT sound like they have been lifted off someone's original vinyl. Therefore, I tend to regard Rubble as an "official", authorised album, as opposed to some makeshift deal.
So, the music...true, it is not 100% top quality (although, to be fair, out of 140 songs, you cannot expect every single one to be great!), but there is enough serious quality on here to make this a worthy addition to anyone's collection. Volume 1, "The Psychedelic Snarl" (originally all 20 Rubbles were issued individually on vinyl)is particularly strong; "Save My Soul" by Wimple Winch and The Craig's "I Must Be Mad" held the top two spots in MOJO magazine's Freakbeat Top 30, whilst "The Spider and The Fly" by The Dakotas is an unsung classic if ever there was one. In my opinion, there are generally only one or two songs on each CD that are not really worth bothering about, which means that there are at least 120 songs on this boxed set that most definitely are worth it!
If you already have an extensive collection of obscure music from the 60s then you will probably have about 50% of the songs herein (to be honest, if you're into this sort of thing, then you'll already have this anyway!). If you like the popular music from the 60s and would maybe like to hear something a little bit different, then I thoroughly recommend this CD; you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for POP fans everywhere..., 24 Mar 2006
By 
Bill23 (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Rubble Collection Vol.1-10 (Audio CD)
The 'psychedelic' aspect of this collection is somewhat overplayed and may even put people off. This isn't a collection of tuneless freakouts and fuzzy garage bands. Most of these records are high-quality British pop from the golden age - they just didn't get airplay or even retrospective fame. Nothing really 'trippy' about bands like the Poets for instance - just quality pop from before it became 'rock' music. P&P are to be congratulated for putting this fine collection together - in this CD and download age, it's quite possible that exquisite unknown records like The Parking Lot's 'World Spinning Sadly' or Silk's 'Plaster Sky' would never be heard again. There are a few bad ones of course - in 160 how could there not be? - and maybe a few that have (since?) been over-anthologised (Kaleidoscope, Tintern Abbey) but most are at least fascinating and a good number are astonishingly good. Only downer is album 9, which is all Dutch stuff and not really for me, although some may enjoy. The booklet is witty and informative and the compilers love for the music is infectious. If you love this magic period in British pop, and thought you'd heard it all, this is for you - the next best thing to finding a trasure trove of old 45s in a boot sale and playing your way through them. Check out vol.2 also - just as good and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For series Psych fans everywhere, 7 April 2003
This review is from: The Rubble Collection Vol.1-10 (Audio CD)
The Rubble collections were always for the series collector only and this reissue of the first ten volumes confirms that. None of these made much of an impression on the charts during the 60's, even though some did go on to enjoy success under different names or in other bands.
With all compilations such as this, there are a few gems which should have brought more success to the bands that made them. On the other hand, there are a few songs which are just plain terrible.
I have still given it five stars though as this is a compilation that has everything you want. Great sound, brilliantly researched booklet and the added bonus of all of the original artwork being reproduced.
This is not for the casual record buyer, but for any series fan of psych that does not have these in their collection already, this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have for lovers of sixties psychedelia, 25 Feb 2008
By 
spanky "spankerton" (treacle toffee world) - See all my reviews
what can i say about this box set?
the king,top dog and uber daddy of psych compilations comes gift wrapped in a lovely box with all the original album cover designs inside,ready to delight and tittilate you.
from the opening track on the first cd...atmospheres by the mighty mighty wimple winch,you just know your in for a treat,all the cds have great tunes on them,many have unbelievably fantastic psychedelic monsters on them that will delight your fragile little minds!!
take a drink from the magic potion and you will find that strange things are happening!!
blow your minds and spend your pennys on this masterpiece..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Groovy!!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a fasinating set of mainly unknown artists of the time. I personally like volumes 1,4 and 8 best however there are quite a few mediocre numbers plus some really awful poppy songs included, so it is quite a mixed bag. Don't let that deter you though as the better tracks are gems and the 84 page booklet is excellent.
If I was rating the set only on cost then for 3 or under per volume I would give it 5 stars. Well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 1/2 stars out of 5, 23 Mar 2009
By 
Rones Bones (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This collection is a mixed bag when it comes to the song selection. I figured it would be a more in-depth look at the music that was included for Nuggets II (I know Rubble came first, but I had Nuggets II first). Some is, some isn't.

My real issue with the track selection is the heavy heap of early and proto prog rock. I didn't buy Rubble for this type of self-indulgent and boring music (something Nuggets II wisely avoided). I also found a lot of the psychedelic tracks to be sub-par and some just outright annoying (New Formula "Harekrishna"). Plenty of novelty tracks that are fun the first time around but wear thin soon afterwards (The Brain "Nightmares In Red"). Also, it's slightly heavy on the straight up pop music too.

That being said, I found a healthy amount of fantastic tracks in the styles of RnB (The Mark Four "I'm Leaving"), freakbeat (The Attack "Anymore Than I Do"), and psychedelic (Tommorow "Revolution").

The price is worth it for ten discs of music (50% of which is worthwhile), but if you're like me, chances are the skip button will get a lot of use when you pop them on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fools gold, 24 Nov 2008
This is collection is mostly filler, hardly any killer. Some of the sound quality is pretty poor too. The vast majority of the best tracks are to be found on the nuggets II box set, which is a much better buy. There are just one or two notable exceptions - 'daughter of the sun' is a long lost classic, but its available on the Fleur de Lys collection 'reflections'. So I'd advise you to purchase Nuggets II & 'Reflections' & steer well clear of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not essential, 1 Aug 2012
Whoever thought this idea up needs to go back to the drawing board.
First off get rid of any ideas of Dutch bands
Second change the title-people are going think this is psychedelic or garage when its straight ahead pop music from the U K
A more detailed review is on Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2214270)

This product

The Rubble Collection Vol.1-10
The Rubble Collection Vol.1-10 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews