Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars113
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on 2 July 2015
"FRIDA" is a film about an exceptional "MEXICAN" female that lived an unforgettable and interesting life."SALMA HAYEK" jumped at the chance to play "FRIDA" and did so superbly."FRIDA" was a very talented impressionist artist in the 30's.After suffering a very serious spinal injury in a traffic accident that affected her career,As she slowly recovered,she met a older male artist who became her mentor.She then pursued her artistic career with him by her side successfully but they had a very chaotic relationship,which drove her to despair but always stayed loyal to him,even when they both had affairs during their marriage.She travelled the world and became very well known in the art world."SALMA HAYEK" was perfect for this role and played it very sensitively and showed great respect for the person that she played. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Owned the dvd and upgraded to the bluray and am happy I did. Picture and audio both excellent and a nice step up from the standard dvd, unlike several other UK Miramax blurays I could mention. Buy with confidence.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Superb film depicting the life of Frida Kahlo, Mexican painter beginning from the time when she first meets her husband to be, Mexican artist Diego Rivera to her untimely death. Their tempestuous relationship on a backdrop of the mid 20th century makes for a satisfyingly dramatic story. Credit must be given too to the film makers who employ some novel cinematic techniques as a way of involving Frida's artwork in the film. Well worth seeing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I like the film a lot, I think it's quite close to Frida's life from what I understand of it, and it definitely keeps your attention. I really like the cinematography and the way they work in her paintings. However, I don't understand why it's in English when all the actors are Spanish-speaking, as was Kahlo herself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Loved this film about the Mexican artist FredaKahlo which tells of her tumultuous relationships and a terrible car crash which leaves her in pain for the rest of her life,A vry good watch and interesting story of a great artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Friend loved it! Although she had seen the film at the cinema, it was good to have her own copy.
Really good film about an interesting lady that I came across from reading Barbara Kingsolver's Lacuna. Another great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2006
For anyone not familiar with the life of this Mexican painter, this film might seem a bit weird. However, having read her biography and having seen her paintings, I found this film highly interesting and enjoyable. The acting is great and engages you. Highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
Have yourself a Mexican evening and watch this excellent movie! What's not to like - great actors, fabulous music, and an amazing storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Colouful entertainmnent_ a bit soapish in places but a great night in with wine and nacos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
A good film...Frida was highly eccentric...I think the film portrays that very well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)