Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT WILL RAZZLE-DAZZLE YOU...
This is a fantastic musical. From the beautifully designed sets, to the period costumes, to the show-stopping song and dance numbers, it will simply razzle-dazzle the viewer. The director and his singing and dancing troupe of stars simply pull out all the stops in this brilliantly executed musical.

The film, which provides a cynical and satirical look at fame...
Published on 28 Sep 2003 by Lawyeraau

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of razzle... Less dazzle...
Winner of 2003's Best Picture Oscar, Chicago is one of a slew of musicals to make it to the big screen in the last several years. This one came with a big name cast and high hopes.

It seems that in 1920s Chicago everyone wanted to be a star, and one of the ways to ensure stardom was to be a foxy chick who killed someone. We open with Catherine Zeta-Jones'...
Published on 9 May 2009 by Phil H


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heady Gin Soaked Musical Run a Real Riot, 29 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Think Chrous Line and you will know that Bob Fosse has always translated well to film. With it's smouldering opening song/credit sequence Chicago opens a new chapter in film musicals.
The film captures the spirit of the stage version whilst cranking it up several notches, with a stellar cast and great choreography.
Catherine Zeta-Jones steals the show with a tremendous explosion of singing and dancing talent (no surprise as she started on the West End stage), and is ably supported by Queen Latifah and Richard Gere.
My only gripe would be that Rene Zelleweger needs this way round tatooed on her chest and her voice is a little too thin and wispy to carry the big numbers.
Overall a good film and a great musical. Not as dynamic or fresh as Moulin Rouge (a film with music as opposed to a musical), but then again it didn't set out to be....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blue Ray At Its Best, 12 Jan 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The audio is the best I've heard on blue ray and the video is equally impressive with the vivid colours and detail of the period costumes shown to great effect.Exhilerating musical numbers, beautifully designed sets and great performances make this unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 6 Mar 2010
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
I had meant to buy this DVD when it was released because I was so blown away by the film. For some reason I have only recently remembered to buy it. I had forgotten how truly brilliant the cast were. I especially love Catherine Zeta-Jones' performance. It is pure magic. This is definitely a film I could watch over and over again. It has style, class, tons of talent, brilliant songs, great wit and a great story. The story is set in 1920's Chicago but easily applies to today's media hyped love of phoney celebrities. I saw the stage show 'Fosse' a few years ago. The choreography was truly fantastic and the songs were of course great. I will definitely buy tickets for the 'Chicago' stage show next time it comes around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And All That Jazz, 21 Oct 2004
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Chicago, one of the most controversial best picture oscar winners ever. It is one of those films that you either love or you hate. Some find it devoid of any emotion with weak dialogue. Others however are delighted every time the band strike up and imparticular Catherine Zeta Jones belts out one of those unstoppable showtunes.
It is catherine who is the star of the show (and i dont just say that as i come from her home town, of Swansea.) This is truly the role she has been waiting for and it immediately stands out as the jewel in her celluloid crown. Despite Catherines tour-de-force performance nothing can be detracted from the opther leading lady Renee Zelwegger as the star searching Roxie Hart, she too shows great confidence. In some of the dance sequences however it does become apparent however that it is Zeta Jones who feels most at home on the stage. A mention also deserves to go to Richard Gere as hot shot lawyer Billy Flynn, who holds the show together with effervescent charm. John C. Reilly is also on hand in a supporting role, which he more than aptly fills.
Although chicago has its cynics it has a fond place in my mind, as a homage to the old Hollywood musical, with all the moves, the songs and THAT JAZZ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Value Film, 11 Jan 2010
By 
L. M. Horne (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
This film kept me enthralled for the duration & does good justice to the stage show, which I have seen a couple of times. DVD & stage versions both highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sassy, sexy and sizzling hot!, 1 April 2010
By 
Jennifer Malsingh (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen Chicago at the theater, but I first saw it on TV as this film. What can I say, I was hooked from the start. Renee Zellweger is fantastic as bitchy, manipulative Roxie, and Catherine Zeta Jones is sizzling hot as Velma. The songs are catchy, the dancing is racy and fast paced and it all comes together perfectly. I especially liked Queen Latifah's turn as Matron "Mama" Morton.

If I had one criticism it would be that Renee Zellweger seems to be frighteningly thin in this, but it sort of goes with her character so I guess it I'll let it slide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 100% a musical, 16 Sep 2003
By 
nojmeister (Leamington Spa, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Sadly, this is one of the few films that I have been disappointed with. Whether you will like this film or not…depends on what you’re looking for. If you’re not a fan of musicals…steer well clear from this one. The film has great musical scenes….but little else. The non-musical parts of the film are very flat and sometimes unnecessary. However, if you are a fan of musicals, you’ll probably enjoy particular scenes so much…that you’ll be able to overlook those which aren’t as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literally all that jazz, 27 Aug 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicago [VHS] [2003] (VHS Tape)
I was a little dubious about Chicago being taken to the big screen but this film is truly a breathtaking spectacle. As others have said, don't try to compare it to Moulin Rouge - the two are totally different films; the only factor they have in common is the fact they are musicals!
Catherine Zeta-Jones is perfectly cast as Velma Kelly, conveying moments of insecurity beneath her cold-hearted careless exterior, while Renee Zelwegger as Roxie makes her ambitious, selfish character occasionally reveals vulnerability in a touching manner. Zeta-Jones does seem a bit 'heavy' for some of the dance roles, but maybe this is just in comparison to Zelwegger's lighter frame - and it doesn't mean that she isn't a very good dancer with a rich voice.
Richard Gere obviously relishes his role as Billy Flynn, and while his tap-dancing and singing have been maligned by many, I found his singing top-notch. Let's not forget that the whole point about Billy Flynn's tap-dance is that it is supposed to be edgy, bitty, flawed and tense: that's what the courtroom scene is all about! Queen Latifah as Mama Morton is a legend, buxom, glowing and sexy. Jon C Reilly as Amos, as an earlier reviewer says, adds humanity and morality to what could be a rather depressing glorification of murder.
The best thing about Chicago is the way the musical numbers and surreal moments blend in perfectly with "real life". While some musicals are just one song after another, Chicago has a snappy screenplay and well-conceived dialogue which rounds out the characters ("When You're Good to Mama" being one of the best). My favourite moment is probably "Razzle Dazzle" when the courtroom is turned into a circus. Look out for the bejewelled acrobat curling over a bemused Amos's shoulder when he takes the witness stand. Real-life intermingles perfectly with showbiz in this very special film.
Some people love Chicago, some people don't - the vast contrast between the reviews on here speaks for itself - but don't take anyone's word for it. Watch it yourself, and decide for yourself. In my opinion, this is one classy film you can watch time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertainment in the best hollywood tradition, 12 Feb 2009
By 
tcw cole "ter" (driffield . united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicago [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
a truely entertaining picture to compare with the best of hollywoods razzle dazzle era , a superb leading cast and support give their all in a foot tapping musical extravaganza , the three leads are superb as are all the cast , richard gere is a revelation as shifty lawyer "billy flynn" ( the boys got a great soft shoe shuffle ) , all in all an excellent film worthy of its oscar winning status ............. a true classic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 15 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Chicago [DVD] (DVD)
OK...let me start by saying..do not pay any attention to the 1 star rating some people have put on here. This movie is wonderful and exciting. Some people judge movies like their experts. Your watching the movie..not starring in it..hint hint! From the moment this movie starts till the very end.. your entertained...so get your snacks before hand because you won't want to get up...unless you feel the need to dance!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicago [DVD] [2003]
Chicago [DVD] [2003] by Rob Marshall (DVD - 2003)
£3.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews