Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars45
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I have found the Patrick Troughton Doctor Who DVDs a bit of a hit and miss. I always found his character was more suited for the kids (not as serious), however The Seeds Of Death is a brilliant show with chilling monsters and some brilliant acting. The Ice Warriors are very well done, great scary voices and camera shots showing them looking very menacing.
The story is where this show really works, seems towards the late 1960s things were beginning to be taken more seriously with Doctor Who and this DVD is proof of how well it can go.
Loved it, well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
I didnt see these as a kid but I have been watching these now with some enjoyment
Whilst I still favour Tom Baker, Patrick comes a close second.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2003
After finally seeing this DVD one is struck at the exceptional value of the disk. It is the first to be presented on Two disk format, the story being much longer (8 episodes!) therefore the special features are presented on disk 2.
Again the restoration of the film is brilliant providing crystal clear picture, B/W of course and in mono (with minimal hiss) Special features are abound and put some of the other Who DVDs to shame.
Pat Troughton is at his comical best. Good value, buy it! essential for your colection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
This story didnt really get many good reviews but it was OK not as good as the first time we met these foes but still not a bad story
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I had this on VHS many years ago, and have now got it on DVD. Classic Troughton performance, and one for Classic Dr Who Fans.
It doesn't bother me being in monochrome, and the subtitles are very helpful. I am trying to collect all the DVD's what the BBC have available of Dr Who from 1963-1989. If you remember Troughton, this doesn't disappoint!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
Some people criticise this story for being predictable and plodding for some reason. I just see a fun story with great direction, great acting, monsters and story. One of my favourites. The picture restoration is awesome - the best there's been so far. It's in black and white but looks like it was filmed yesterday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2006
The Seeds of Death. The 19th of 21 stories of Patrick Troughton era as The Doctor, and it is...FANTASIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!This couldn't be better and it's thanks to just a few things- great characters, great actors/actresses, cliff-hangers of a genius, Ice Warriors to scare your pants off, the foam-like, deadly, oxygen-sapping fungus to make death-counts rise, funny ending, good special features, but the things that makes it good, is the writing and plot but also the acting. Two people we should thank for this, not excellent, but brilliant story, for Brian Hayles and, of course, Patrick Troughton for his portrayal of the doctor. And I know Patrick and Brian are very sorely missed by ALL Doctor Who fans,so...thanks Brian and thanks Patrick! And thanks to the BBC for not burning it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
Troughton's stories are mostly great, which is sad when you realise the BBC burnt most of them to a crisp! This is a survivor, one of just six, and it's a fun if not great one. The pace is fast, the production is efficient, the regulars are on top of their game and the direction is stylish and film-noirish. The plot is very much like War of the Worlds, the novel, with Martian Ice Warriors seeking to take over Earth as Mars is dying and using an oxygen absorbing fungus to change Earth's atmosphere and terraform the planet so only they can live on it. The use of alien invasion, matter transmission and terraforming, as well as weather control, means this is a more literate SF script than usual for the period. However, there's a down side. The fungus pods are balloons, the fungus is washing machine foam and the idea that all rocketry has been junked when there's a lunar colony, as well as the idea of an old guy building a rocket quite literally in his back yard in London, stretches credibility! But I loved it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2006
The Seeds Of Death was most enjoyable to watch, and I felt that it was really edge-of-seat stuff! With humans now stopping space exploration (to the doctors disgust), because of an invention, Travel Mat (T-MAT), which is basically a teleportation device meaning space travel is no longer of any concern, the Ice Warriors use T-MAT to attempt to take over the world, and it pretty much looks to work too!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
This classic Troughton story has been - thankfully - re-released as a two-disc edition in 'Revisitations 2' - Doctor Who Revisitations Box Set - Volume 2 [DVD] .

The picture quality in this is poor, as it was one of the earlier releases, and the features are bare to say the least.

Only really worth it for the serious collector.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.