Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars155
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2015
I love this 'old time' film nd have watched it copious times. Don't make them like this anymore, more's the pity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Nothing new to say about a great film. Histrionic and mysterious - curious to have a dead man narrating......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
A Dark almost Gothic Tale that's Brilliantly written and Acted.A fine Balance of Bitter Comedy and Horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Absorbing film.Very good acting.Sumptuous sets ,excellently filmed in black and white.Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
William Holden is square jawed, but cool. A real classic classic, and Buster Keaton thrown in for free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
used a research material as we are doing the musical version this year, never watched the film before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
very good drama. Great acting, especially on a difficult subject that was relevant to Gloria Swanson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
William Wyler's bitter-sweet view of Hollywood and stardom, Joan Crawford is at her most magnificent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2004
Joe Gillis (played by William Holden) is a screenwriter down on his luck: his latest creations have been turned down flat, his car is in danger of being repossessed, and his money is all but gone. When he turns into a seemingly abandoned mansion to escape creditors, he finds that the house is actually inhabited--Norma Desmond (Gloria Swanson), an aging, forgotten silent-screen starlet lives there with her servant Max Von Mayerling (Erich von Stroheim). Norma lives in a fantasy world, where her popularity is undiminished, and a comeback is right around the corner. Joe finds himself sucked into Norma's world, trapped by her money and her emotional neediness. Hating himself, and Norma, he struggles to find a way out, can tragedy be far behind?
I must admit that I got this movie out of pure curiosity. It's one of those classics that (perhaps more than all others) is referenced or parodied in so many other movies and television shows, and it's easy to see why. The movie is acted with the intense emotions of a bygone era, even as it says goodbye to it.
That said, though, this movie is not to be taken lightly. Before I knew it, I felt myself drawn along, compelled to watch the drama unfold, like the proverbial slow-motion train wreck. This is a gripping movie, one that you should see at least once in your life. I highly recommend that you see this movie!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Excellent film dvd's from Zoverstocks are always worth buying highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.