Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRISTINE BLU RAY TRANSFER
at long last this priceless gem of a film has made the jump to blu ray,and what a blu ray it is.the restoration is spotless,there is not a single scratch,or a trace of dirt or dust in the print.the dense grain structure has been left in and it brings out all the smallest detail in the picture.the high quality is from start to finish,no patchy bits anywhere.there is no...
Published 16 months ago by JsyMaxius67

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hollywood
Clearly a great film but a little oppressive for me. I could not properly get used to the empty mansion
occupied by only an eccentric former film star and her slightly sinister manservant. Some nice touches though,
William Holden giving us a commentary on his means of death even as we see police fishing him from the swimming pool.
Plus passing cameo...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by R. Allen


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sunset Boulevard, DVD., 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
I first saw this wonderful film when I was a boy in the 'sixties - those were the
days when families used to sit together in the lounge to watch TV! The only minor
quibble that I had with the DVD was - bearing in mind it is a classic - it had not
been as far as I could see, 'cleaned up' on the picture quality/sound-track.
Other than that, it did not detract from my enjoyment of the film and the fact
that it is in Black & white only adds to the tension and for want of a better word -
'spookiness' of it. It's one of those films you can watch again and again and never
get bored with it.

T. Moore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black and white, 2 Nov 2011
By 
C. I. Smith "c i c smith" (Kent,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film of times gone by, it tells the tale of an old film star that has lost her way and imagines that she is still at the top of her profession and is very important.She persuades this chap to stay but he is on the run, he has turned up because his car which has a blow out he needs to get away from the police,he skips up her drive and parks his car in the open garage,he then tumbles onto the property which looks very neglected,when he looks around he thinks that this may help him to disappear for a while,when he goes up to the house he tries to explain to the butler,but he is very quick on the button and tells him that he must follow him into the house,he is a writer and is stunned by the house, it's opulent inside,the butler then hears his mistress who is demanding that he show him into her,he meets her and she thinks that he is there to pick up her dead animal for burial.
It is a very strange tale but later on she gets him to write her play which to be honest is a rambling of a slightly UN-hinged actress who is of the opinion that the studios will take the play on and make her a star all over again,i really liked the film and even though you could work out that she was very over the top, when she shot him and was taken away by the police you could see her still in the belief that her fans were there to see her and that she was a star but in truth it had all ended and time had moved on, she had become deluded and her previous studio boss had carried on with make belief to keep her dream alive.This is well worth the space in your collection it is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars true classic noir movie, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Just watched Sunset boulevard and was glued to the TV. I love film noir and this is one of the best I've ever seen. The character study of the has been movie star, her delusions and frailty can't help but capture your emotions. The scene when she swans into the studios like the queen she thinks she is, is both enthralling but also saddening, as you feel so enveloped in her character by then and her vulnerabilities that I cringed that she might hurt by reality.

They just don't make movies like this anymore. Thank God they did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godess Gloria, 29 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Gloria Swanson hams it up to perfection in Billy Wilder's classic about the mercenary nightmare of The Dream Factory. Wilder can't help but introduce humour to even the darkest, most tragic tale. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. T. Tak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic transfer, brilliant picture and sound!!, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been waiting for a while for this film to come on blu ray and wasn't disappointed with it, just bril... Great film with great performances from the main leads, love it. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilder brilliance, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An incomparable film, one of the all time greats from one of the best writer-directors of all time.. a must have for every serious collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunset Boulevard, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
This is one of the black and white Movie of the 1950.Sunset Boulevard, this is not the Muiscal and as no song in it but was made in to a Muisical from the the movie Sunset Boulevard is an old 1950 film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hollywood, 9 Jun 2011
By 
R. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950] (DVD)
Clearly a great film but a little oppressive for me. I could not properly get used to the empty mansion
occupied by only an eccentric former film star and her slightly sinister manservant. Some nice touches though,
William Holden giving us a commentary on his means of death even as we see police fishing him from the swimming pool.
Plus passing cameo appearances of famous stars from the silent era as they sit at Bridge. I also like the appearance of Cecil B. DeMille
appearing as himself as a film director. A great director he may have been but I think he might have been suitably advised to steer
clear of acting. Or at least been given a bit of local coaching beforehand. For example, for him to be told that he was about to have a
nuisance former film star descend on him as he was on set should, in my book, have raised a slightly more startled line from him than it did.
Instead of which he spoke almost calmly, as presumably, per the script. On that point, why do great film directors often make lousy actors?
I can think of another such case in the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sunset Boulevard (Special Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1950]
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews