Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
3.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.95+ £2.00 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2003
Firstly this game is Huge! It is made up of all of the levels released in Serious Sam: The First Encounter and Serious Sam 2: The Second Encounter on the PC!!!
But why should you want to look at it? The Xbox has seen quite a few first person shooters to date: Halo, Time Splitters 2, Turok Evolution and Unreal Championship to name a few. If you own any of these titles, you may not see the appeal of yet another FPS title in your collection just yet. Well take a SERIOUS closer look! Serious Sam is a lot more than meets the eye.
While the Graphics aren't as sharp and polished as they are in some other titles - they are bright and colourful and work well with the rather insane comic humour of the game. After all blasting your way through hoards of wierd aliens in the setting of ancient Egypt and Aztec Mexico is somewhat crazy - but it works!!!
The action is what really make the game though. From the outset is intense and pretty much non-stop, with literally hunderds of crazy aliens of every shape and size charging at you from every direction! This game feels similar in many ways to the old Duke Nuke-Em, with the one hard dude against a whole alien invasion.
This game has everything from - stupidly huge guns to colossal 200ft high enemies - to rolling bolders - to those old English phone boxes (in ancient Egypt) and loads of secrets to find.
The game is huge and will keep you going for hours, fighting the pain in your aching hands!!!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2003
This is one of those games that doesnt try and be serious, yet is also a top notch game. The levels are huge and slightly repetitive, though not to Halo's extent. Sam always has a comment for every new gun he picks up, especially the meatier weapons like the minigun, rocket launcher or the simple 'cannon'. This is a bit of a no brainer, though the sniper rifle and a few other bits take a bit of skill. There are a few puzzles later on, but its no tomb raider, nor does it try to be. Also has good multiplayer. So basically, if standing in a room full of enemies with your enemies pouring at you from all sides while you pump countless rounds of minigun ammo into them sounds like fun, buy it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
OK! it maybe anime but it is certainly one of the best games i have played! i just finished completing it and its great. The bosses are easily killed with the right weapon,and the strange and dangerous creatures add effect and keep you on your feet.It may be repetative but its still a good game all the way through.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2003
This is a game that does not pretend to be anything that it's not. Shot anything that moves. Or that don't. Oh, and there's sort of a plot too.
A lot of different guns, a LOT of different bad, eh, things, and after a while you figure out which gun goes with what creature.
Ok, so I got a bit tired of the mad skeleton cows towards the end, but I still had a smile on my face when I got to the end, which took me about the same time that it took to get through Halo.
Money well spent! One star added for price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
Behind the worst cover in Xbox history lies one of its best games. Serious Sam is nearly perfect. It has genuine humour, and the gameplay is infinitely fun. You get an overwhelming sense of satisfaction blasting wave after wave of different aliens and monsters, making good use of all the different weapons you come across and, if you take the time to look around, discovering amusing secrets. If you want a game to provide many long hours of cartoon gore, and gaming fun, Serious Sam beckons you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2003
Superbly addictive old skool style gameplay (FPS for points, and points mean extra lives!), that offers a great challenge from a game that doesn't take itself seriously (despite the name!).
Croteam were kind enough to give us Xbox owners BOTH Serious Sam games rolled into one, which means the game spans a massive 36 (!) levels, many of which are impressively large, pack lots of playtime. The multiplayer is no patch on Halo, but the single player alone makes this package worth it! Many of the levels and 'objectives' are pretty much the same, you reach a locked door, to unlock it, either hold off wave after wave of weird aliens, or go into smaller attached arenas in order to do something, like flick a switch, or pick up a magical item to open the door. But this is pure carnage, the waves never stop, there is no reload, and you can pump out thousands of rounds from a pretty impressive arsenal (well, not many men could fire rocket launchers, miniguns or 18th century cannons underarm could they?)
Basically, it is a very quick and frantic FPS . While no patch on Halo it is a thoroughly enjoyable romp, which may get repetetive, but manages to keep that 'one more try' feeling right until the end... Oh, and it includes optional co-op!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2003
Serious sam is one of the best games in the world if you like action.I though I have only played on the demo i would still recomened bying it .I have ordered my copy and i cant wait for it to come SO BUY IT
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2003
I didn't think you could go wrong with a 'Duke Nuke'em' cloned FPS and at first this game fits the bill. Frantic, tongue-in-cheek mayhem, outsized weapons and ridiculous beasts flying at you from all angles.
I blasted my way through an Egyptian landscape, got on my flying surfboard and off I went...to another Egyptian landscape, and another, and another - with the same ridiculous beasts and the same buildings and catacombs. Did somebody actively design this game or did they just draw a couple of temples, a dozen monsters and set their computer to random?
You also get hit too often. You either can't shoot quickly enough to withstand the hordes or else you run out of bullets. Top this off with my biggest computer game bugbear - a stupidly difficult final boss, and they've somehow managed to ruin a sure-fire formula.
A few different settings, promised on the box but only delivered in multiplayer, would have saved this game. But no. Just Egypt.
Nice work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
80% shooting
10% traps
10% getting keys
This games great for 5 - 10 years old kids. I reccomend renting it first. All you do is go shoot shoot shoot.........push switch, shoot......find key, put it in slot, shoot shoot........... at these running alians (you also get a profile for your enemy such as weaknesses and what kind they are). You can turn the blood to green or red(I don't know if you can turn the blood of). This gameplay is old fashioned(when you get tons of extra lifes and you don't get reloads on your guns)which is a good thing. You do get some fantastic landscapes, outside of an Egyption temple you get these steep steps that you can run down. You do Crash Bandicoot 3 style scating.If you own Crash 3 remember when you had to scate whilst dodging pillers with spicks on then you had to jump over a massive fall(a black hole), it only happens once in the game, it's quite fun on your first 2 goes. You can also go into a rotating room thats fun on your first go.
I thought this game was going to be half as good as Halo, the first day I had it. Why, because remember you get those traps on the first leval(a boulder comes rolling towards you), I thought it was going to be a fun adventure. When I first went out of a door on a 2 player leval I saw hoardes of men running towards me(men with a cannon ball stuck to their head and they self destruct within an alloted time). After these few fun traps the next levals seem rushed and you mostly shoot things. Whats the point in bying this game if it's so repetetive.
Even though there are about 36 levals this game is a blast on your first 2 days of owning. Soon the game becomes a chore.
Instead it's just a dumbed down version of Halo without vehicles or gun turrets and not a great multiplayer(it's simular to Quake 2 on PS1, but no where near as good).
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
In this game, you start off shooting some monster things and then you think its an average game. But then you think that this game is rubbish compared to other great games like Halo etc.
The problems are:
* There is no gun satisfaction at all.
* Its the most repetitive game ever.
* It all looks the same.
* The Bosses are near impossible to defeat.
* It gets annoying
If you want a monster shooter than I suggest getting a game called painkiler for the PC. Theres also better games like the Splinter Cell Series, Halo, Rainbow Six 3 and Project Gotham Racing 2 etc.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)