Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donovan's Catch The Wind/Colours period in full, 14 Mar 2006
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dovetailing quite neatly with the Pye/Epic material recently repackaged by EMI, this double-CD collects everything released by Donovan prior to Sunshine Superman. In the UK these were on Pye and in America on Hickory.
The first CD contains Donovan's first LP, What's Bin Hid And What's Been Did (tracks 3-14), comprising six of his own songs and five covers. Although compared by the press at the time to Bob Dylan, it is clear that the comparison is no more valid than for dozens of other folkies of the time, and that lyrically Donovan had a far more romantic, sensuous and less political outlook, though both share common roots, such as Woody Guthrie (Car Car), Blind Willie Johnson (You're Gonna Need Somebody On Your Bond) and Mississippi John Hurt (Candy Man).
Donna Donna had been recorded by Joan Baez but is a Yiddish song originally called Dana Dana Dana (written by Aaron Zeitlin for a play called Esterke). Remember The Alamo dates back to Tex Ritter in 1955, but was probably learned from a later version, and Goldwatch Blues was written by a contemporary on the circuit, Mick Softley. Donovan's own songs include Catch The Wind, a perfect song, and To Sing For You, which he famously sang for Bob Dylan in the film Don't Look Back.
The bonus tracks on CD1 are the single versions of Catch The Wind and Colours; the B-side of Catch The Wind; and a rare track that originally surfaced only on a French EP.
The second disc features the album Fairy Tale (tracks 5-16), was released only five months after the first and shows the speed with which musicians could develop in the mid-sixties. Donovan's eight originals include the magnificent Sunny Goodge Street and other great songs such as To Try For The Sun and the Ballad Of Geraldine (sung in the first person). Shawn Phillips, who was to add sitar and collaborate on many of Donovan's later recordings, plays guitar on some of the tracks, and contributes his song The Little Tin Soldier. Donovan pays homage to fellow Glaswegian Bert Jansch with Oh Deed I Do, recently revived by the Eighteenth Day Of May, the other cover being Paul Bernath's distinctive Circus Of Sour.
The disc opens with Donovan's anti-war EP The Universal Soldier. The Buffy Sainte-Marie title track was a top twenty hit in its own right in the UK and the EP included a shorter version of The Ballad Of A Crystal Man as well as more Bert Jansch and Mick Softley songs. Disc 2 is rounded off with a single recorded after the album, Turquoise, with its strangely titled flip Hey Gyp (Dig The Slowness). This seems to be an update of Memphis Minnie and Kansas Joe's Can I Do It For You?, given a bit of an acoustic Bo Diddley beat, and it closes the disc in fine style.

Although some of Fairy Tale has appeared in true stereo on previous compilations, both discs are presented in mono.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Man for an age., 30 April 2009
By 
JayJayDee (Allovertheworld) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the right man to set the agenda for the Sixties.

And this is the right collection to buy if you can back it up with Mellow Yellow and Sunshine Superman from other collections. The title comes from the original Pye Records promotion for Sunny Goodge Street.

The songs on this double album are simple and accompanied almost exclusively on a guitar played in a way that many beginners can imitate. But if the songs are simple and the accompaniment unremarkable there is something very precious, individual and amost fragile about Donovan's talent that makes you glad to have lived through the sixties as a teenager. So for anyone who did, and also for those unfortunate to have been too old or still too young to get the background vibes to these songs, I can recommend this as a mellow trip down summer sunshine lane to a place that no longer exists. But ought to.

The anti-war songs are poignant from Buffy St Marie's Universal Soldier through to the Ballad of a Crystal Man. This is simplicity elevated to fine art through the crucible of heartfelt honesty.

Never mind about the sixties; if Donovan could have set the agenda for the subsequent fifty years the world might be a less hostile place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'FOLK-HERO OF THE SIXTIES', 2 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Born 'Donovan Phillips Leitch' in May 1946 'Scottish Born' Singer-Songwriter.
'Donovan' started by imitating Folk-Hero 'Bob Dylan' first getting public attention
with appearances on 'Ready Steady Go' back in 1965,
By the end of that year 'Donovan' had achieved three Chart entries with 'Catch
The Wind' (Chart '4') 'Colours' (Chart '4') and 'Turquoise// Ballad of A Crystal Man'
(Chart '30') 'Donovan' had arrived.
I tend to look upon 'Donovan' as U.K's answer to 'America's' 'Bob Dylan' only a little
more tuneful vocally than his U.S counterpart.
This 2-CD set reflects his early works he continued beyond these early years to chart
with songs like 'Mellow Yellow' 'Jennifer Juniper' and 'Hurdy Gurdy Man'
'Donovan' had chart success both sides of the 'Atlantic' in fact he achieve a 'Billboard'
number 'one' with 'Sunshine Superman' a fete surprisingly not quite achieved here in
the U.K.
There are many favourites harboured within this 2-CD collection for me aside from the
four numbers mentioned as chart-entries in 1965.....among them, on disc one..........
'Remember the Alamo' (originally recorded by 'Johnny Cash') 'Goldwatch Blues'
'To Sing For You' 'Donna Donna' and 'Ramblin' Boy' .....some of the many great
numbers on disc one......on disc two 'Universal Soldier' 'The War Drags On'
'Candy Man' 'The Little Tin Soldier' and 'Ballad of Geraldine' .......just some of
the truly classic tracks harboured on disc two.
Folk-Singer Protest Singer yup, fills both trends just as his U.S counterpart did, I
believe his music to be right up there with the best of the sixties Heroes.
'Donovan' still performs to this day, this collection a great reflection of 'Donovan's'
true Talent, well worth owning as a collector. ..`
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONOVAN AT HIS BEST, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This double CD is excellent value. Takes me right back to the 60s. Don't know if it's been digitally enhanced but it sounds exactly the same as I remember. A great find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars donovan, 18 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
has to be one of the all time great ballad cds.it has nearly all of his greatest hits and a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of teenage years, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always liked Donovan-if you like folky type "modern" ballads, you'll like this. Think Irish John Denver and you'll have some idea. (Think he was Irish!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars moving on, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some really beautiful stuff here. Quite a Dylanesque album (and I'm not the biggest fan of Bob), but still good, quality Donovan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donovan: Summer Day Reflection Songs., 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no complaints with this item, whatsoever. Received by me both speedily and in perfect condition. Perfect sound quality being just another added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carefree times revisited., 11 Mar 2011
By 
G. Hall "Offshore Radio Fan" (Skellingthorpe, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion, Donovan hasn't had the best record company behind him, endless, and sometimes pointless re-issues seem to be put out every month. This double CD set is a big improvement on some of Donovans re-issues. I seem to spilt the tracks into 2 categories, his gentle whimsical style, and then the protest songs. To be honest, I have another single CD of Donovans, put out by See For Miles years ago in their EP collection series, it contains the hits, but is a little lacking. I purchased this double set for the instrumental track Tangerine Puppet, again, in my collection on a Marble Arch (remember 12/6d albums!), but I understand a bit of a rarity these days. Superb sound, and very informative notes are included on this highly recommended set. Is it my imagination, are were we all happier back in 1965?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 19 July 2010
The 5 pound voucher submitted for this item was not deducted and I was invoiced the full price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer Day Reflection Songs
Summer Day Reflection Songs by Donovan (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews