Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars9
3.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
3
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2004
Years ago comedy sketch show 'The Kids in The Hall' was shown over here on the BBC. Well, imagine that, only better, and you'd imagine The State which was shown on MTV in the US in the early 90's.
Many of the original 12 members of that comedy pantheon appear in this movie, and it was written and directed by members too, with some additional great performances from the likes of David Hyde-Pierce (Niles from 'Frasier') who does a spectacular comic turn that is a million miles from the Niles we know and love.
Set in a Summer Camp in the 1980's, it focuses on the camp counsellors and their charges trying to organise a last day of fun and frolics before the kids go home. But with the counsellors barely older than the kids, and their minds on each other rather than the welfare of their campers, things soon start to go very wrong...
Expect blatancy in every form; bad language, bad fashion and bad taste. But don't expect a bad movie. If you can keep an open mind about gay weddings and talking tin cans you'll be in for a rare treat. It was never given a cinema release over here, but in the US has now achieved the kind of underground cult status reminiscent of The Rocky Horror Picture Show: midnight screenings, folks dressing up as the characters, cast members attending and prizes awarded for best costumes.
If at first you don't 'get' it, try watching again. If only for McKinley's red satin shorts!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2003
This has to be one of the funniest movies I have ever seen before in my life. I am a devoted fan of the cult classic 'The State', shown on MTV (in the US) from around '95-'97... several of the members from the crew are starring in this film and the director and writer were also former cast members. This mixes in the kooky comedy of the State in a longer sketch that is absolutely fantastic and wonderful to watch. David Hyde Pierce is great in this comedic role - and the deleted scenes are twice as funny as the film. As an Ex-Pat living in the UK, I can't recommend this film enough... all of my british friends loved it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
It was interesting to see all these stars (who are only budding talents in this film) at work - especially in the light of their current careers and the fact that Wet Hot American Summer is being resuscitated as a series. Who will return for the series and who would not be caught dead in it?
Other than that, this is definitely a minor - though off the wall - effort.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Quick delivery, great price. Love this film :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Camp Firewood, 1981, and It's the last day before everyone goes back to the real world, but there's still a summer's worth of unfinished business to resolve.

At the centre of the narrative is camp director Beth, who struggles to keep order while she falls in love with the local astrophysics professor.

He is busy trying to save the camp from a piece of NASA's Skylab which is hurtling toward earth.

And adding to the 'hilarity' we have, a dangerous waterfall rescue, love triangles, misfits, cool kids, and talking vegetable cans, and of course, the big talent show at the end of the day......

I really cannot understand all the love that this film has. Yes, it has a lot of now famous faces in the movie, but honestly, the majority of the humour, nay, all of the humour falls flatter than an old man on an icy path.

It tries to hark back to those saucy comedies from the eighties like Fraternity Vacation, and anything with the words Summer, Camp, and school, but this seems like it's trying way too hard to be bad, and the thing that made those movies so watchable, was that they were unintentionally bad, and hilarious for that reason.

If anything, it is worth watching for just how many famous faces there are in the movie, and just how successful they have become.

But all in all, it's an unfunny mess of a movie, trying to be too meta, too left-field, and too clever for its own good.

But Paul Rudd is funny, doing his best impression of Kevin the Teenager.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
I purchased this DVD as part of my collection of Elizabeth Banks movies. And unless you are a fan of
any of the stars in this movie eg Elizabeth, Bradley Cooper and Paul Rudd (early stuff). Steer well clear
it is dreadful !!! How anyone can give it 5 stars is beyond me. I am being generous giving it 1 just for the
fact that Elizabeth Banks is in it, albeit a small part.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2005
I worked at a summer camp in Massachussets and this film is scarily like the real thing. If anyone is considering spending their summer working with american kids, this is a must see before you go!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
I found this mostly pretty desperate, but then I am obviously way out of the age profile that might have been amused by it, so don't let me put you off. I bought it because Niles is in it - but his part wasn't up to much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse