Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars108
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2007
A great set of episodes that's full of laugh a minute random comedy fun

I've become a great fan of Family guy recently after a friend borrowed me this DVD set.
I did watch a few episodes on TV here and there, but after getting my hands on this dvd set : I've only just started truly appreciating it.

I assume , like the Simpsons or any long running series .... there are high points and low points during the shows run .... I'm guessing series 2 is one of the high points !

Like the Simpsons the family guy cast are a bunch of mismatched misfit characters .... but in this show even more so .... including the dog and baby who seem to be both smarter than the rest of the family and have great comedy chemistry together as a duo.

Each show is a quick fire of jokes every 20 seconds and a lot of jokes are handled well and hit their mark deeply in this season. The humor is so random at times, yet so well timed and there are alot of pop-culture/celebrity based gags that really raise a smile.

Season 2 of family guy shouldn't disappoint if you're looking for a few hours of no holds barred laughter, sometimes in bad taste , but who cares ... hehe ...

Although this is the kind of humor the Simpsons is resorting to nowadays , it doesn't seem as cheap with Family Guy because , this title started off this way. While the Simpsons seem to be just getting desperate in their last few seasons.

Many episodes are gems in this box set , I don't think there's even one episode I'm disappointed with , all of them have been a joy to watch.
Plenty of them seem to be of high standard , more than half of them I recommend as must sees.

Family Guy truly is great, unrestrained animated comedy fun , that a wide audience can enjoy, who want something a bit ruder than the simpsons ... well a lot ruder ... hehe ...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2003
Family Guy is the unsung King of animation, it has clever jokes and they don't care who they offend, its also got clever and original storylines, you can't write a review of Family guy without mentioning the Simpsons simply because Family Guy is the better, it just doesn't comercialise it by making family Guy tooth brushes and stuff like that, when you say its about a family that has a mum a dad, 2 teens and a baby and a pet dog you think rip off of the Simpsons, but if you whatch it its far from it, the baby talks,the boy teen chris is an innocent and is still about 6 at heart and intelligence, and they have a talking dog that fills they episode with his witty sarcastic remarks. This video contains a wopping 15 episodes, ....This video is hilarious and great value and you'll be the rare breed of family guy fans so come on
join us
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2003
Finally,someone has found a way to combine the comedy brillance of the Simpsons,drawing perfection of Futerama and just a touch of South Park.This Series,arguably better then most episodes of the Simpsion,leaves the viewer with a feeling of 'I wish I hadnt watched it,so I could go back and watch it again for the first time.'It jokes,many of which are hiden,continue to appear well into the 6th,7th and 8th viewing.Its sketchs at the start of the Programme[ex:The '8 is enough sketch' and the 'Little house on the Prarie'] Leave me,among others,in stitches.Family,[Series 1 and 2]will be remembered and loved long after we are gone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
This season Is in my opinion the best one .Tones of jokes ond flashbacks which might easily offend people but are hilarious if your not easily offended .The best 5 episodes are :( not in order)

1)I am peter hear me roar ( where peter tells inapropriate jokes and then having to go to all female camp making him effeminite )

2)Road to Rhode Island (where brian goes looking for his mum who he was separated from at birth and he's acumpanied by the brilliant stewie)

3)Lets go to the hop (where Quahog high discover licking toads make them high .Peter then pretends to be a student telling the others that toad licking is wrong .His status rises in school and is asked by the coolest girl in school connie instead of meg to go to the big school dance)

4)He's to sexy for his fat (Peter gets liposuction as he thinks he's fat and joins the beautiful people club ,upsetting chris who was the one who wanted to lose weight in the first place)

5)Wasted talent ( local brewery opens up tours for adults to roam around . Like charlie and the chocolate factory he puts scrolls in botles of beer .Peter finds one of them and visits the factory only to break the rules and to be thrown out .lois is trying to win the piano contest when Peter becomes an excellent piano player when he's drunk)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
This was not for me but a (part) Christmas present to my husband as I discovered he is a Family Guy fan.

I guess it must have been a surprise for him to receive the Family Guy series 1-7 from me as I like to try and be different with any of his presents. I have since found out that he watches the videos in the afternoons if he is having a stressful day - he works from home.

I am now collecting other videos from the Family Guy stable to give him on his birthday in March'09.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2004
This DVD was the first experience of Family guy i had, after a friend showed me an episode at his house i demanded he lent it to me, how i laughed. This is quite the most funniest thing i have ever watched, its MUCH better than the simpsons by far, and much more imaginative. The storylines are wacky, like the characters, infact the only people with any grip on reality are the patient housewife of the shows main star and his talking dog.
One thing that is truly great about this show is how it takes a simple nuclear family, and twists it around to produce loveable and just darn funny characters and the relationships between them.
The main star Pete is THE family guy, hes an overweight idiot who somehow has managed to marry to the attractive red-head Louis. Then theres the annoying (in a good way) teenage girl Meg. The only person possibly stupider than pete, his son Chris and his youngest, the one-year old intellectual Stewie (the best of them all) who wants to enslave the human race. Then theres Brian the talking dog with his dry one liners and his alcohol abuse.
Truly the best comedy show in the world, i laughed like a demented hyena every episode and believe me you will too, especially at the flashbacks that defy words, they could indeed make you wet yourself. One thing, expect nothing, anything can happen in this show.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
A great set of episodes that's full of laugh a minute random comedy fun

I've become a great fan of Family guy recently after a friend borrowed me this DVD set.
I did watch a few episodes on TV here and there, but after getting my hands on this dvd set : I've only just started truly appreciating it.

I assume , like the Simpsons or any long running series .... there are high points and low points during the shows run .... I'm guessing series 2 is one of the high points !

Like the Simpsons the family guy cast are a bunch of mismatched misfit characters .... but in this show even more so .... including the dog and baby who seem to be both smarter than the rest of the family and have great comedy chemistry together as a duo.

Each show is a quick fire of jokes every 20 seconds and a lot of jokes are handled well and hit their mark deeply in this season. The humor is so random at times, yet so well timed and there are alot of pop-culture/celebrity based gags that really raise a smile.

Season 2 of family guy shouldn't disappoint if you're looking for a few hours of no holds barred laughter, sometimes in bad taste , but who cares ... hehe ...

Although this is the kind of humor the Simpsons is resorting to nowadays , it doesn't seem as cheap with Family Guy because , this title started off this way. While the Simpsons seem to be just getting desperate in their last few seasons.

Many episodes are gems in this box set , I don't think there's even one episode I'm disappointed with , all of them have been a joy to watch.
Plenty of them seem to be of high standard , more than half of them I recommend as must sees.

Family Guy truly is great, unrestrained animated comedy fun , that a wide audience can enjoy, who want something a bit ruder than the simpsons ... well a lot ruder ... hehe ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
Family Guy Season 2 is definatley worth watching, there were a few flaws in season 1 as it was a fairly new comedy but in season 2 they have ironed out the flaws and the jokes have really started to work. Some episodes are just based on one character which really let the character shine and you as the viewer got a better insight into there life. There is some brillint episodes on the two disks but the very best is "When You Wish Upon a Weinstein".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2003
This DVD has kept me in stitches for days! The whole show is filled with p*** takes of American films, commercials (which us British should recognise!), TV shows and society as a whole.. The DVD has 14 episodes which have been shown on TV, and one which wasn't allowed to be broadcast, (When You Wish Upon A Weinstein), due to it being "too offensive". In a way though, after watching that episode you can see how one particular religion could cause a big fuss!
The only problem with the content of this DVD is that there aren't any special features apart from an interactive menu which is almost exactly the same as the menu in the season one DVD. (BORRRRRING!)
Fans of season one and the show should definately invest in the second series. It is a lot more crude than the first one and hilarious new jokes are cracked literally every 3 seconds!
Fans of the old film, "Willy Wonka's Chocolate Factory" would love the episode "Wasted Talent", where Peter (the stupid dad) wins a trip around a beer factory. The show ridicules and refers to so much pop culture, it will keep you entertained for ages.
Buy this DVD as well as the first season now. You'll wish you lived down Spooner Street with the Griffins!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2003
Family Guy is the best show ever in my opinion, and the second season is definitely the best out of the three. Unlike the US version, you don't get any special features but it doesn't matter because the show sells itself and it's a good price, too. Favourite episode would have to be 'He's Too Sexy For His Fat' but they're all great. You can't beat Family Guy, it'll make you laugh out loud guaranteed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)