Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love linking stories
This is season 5, and it is a bit different from season 1-4. The reason for this is that this season links various previous episodes together. I happen to love this, I love it when old characters are returned to us, and that seemingly unimportant episode that you watched a few years ago suddenly becomes oh so important.
However, from reading the reviews on here I...
Published on 19 July 2004 by midlandseafishing

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Prime video no longer
Great series great show but now none of sg1 episodes are included on prime instant video??!! Don't understand as I wanted to rewatch all stargates and it was included on prime, but now it wants me to pay per episode??!!
Published 5 months ago by alyson harkis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love linking stories, 19 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This is season 5, and it is a bit different from season 1-4. The reason for this is that this season links various previous episodes together. I happen to love this, I love it when old characters are returned to us, and that seemingly unimportant episode that you watched a few years ago suddenly becomes oh so important.
However, from reading the reviews on here I see that this isnt everyones cup of tea. So, for me I give it 5 stars because I would like to see much much more of this sort of thing, the story lines are strong, they dont let the previous seasons stories down whilst extending them.
Just so you really get the picture, you can go about 5 or 6 episodes in a row with the words "previously on Stargate SG1" although they are all continued from different episodes/seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mostly good season, 22 April 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This fifth season of the `Stargate SG-1' series sees the team fighting against the usual mixture of Replicators, Goa'uld, etc as well as dealing with the consequences of some episodes from previous seasons. There is also the threat of a new mysterious Goa'uld growing in power with access to technology beyond the usual Goa'uld. Overall this has lead to a reasonably good season with the odd very poor episodes here and there.

On the plus side there are quite a few very good episodes in this season with `Ascension', `Red Sky' and `The Tomb' all being very good. As well as this there is the episode `Meridian' which, despite introducing Jonas Quinn is a very well done episode that is also quite emotional at the end. The season finale `Revelations' is also very good and is very funny in places.

On the other hand there are still some rather more poor episodes than I would have liked with `The Fifth Man', `Beast of Burden' and `Proving Ground' being episodes that I don't like much. The season also includes the episode `2001', a sequel to the episode `2010', from the previous season and while it is probably quite good I do dislike the Aschen so I dislike this episode as well.

While not the best season in the series this fifth season of `Stargate SG-1' is still entertaining and any fan of the series should enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate S.G.1- Series 5., 4 April 2003
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
This series contains some of the best story lines so far, as well as the 100th. episode. A rare event in TV, which Richard Dean Anderson has now achieved on two occations. Unfortunately it also marks the departure of Michael Shanks, in a very emotional show especially for Amanda Tapping & Teryl Rothrey. There is a tribute to Michael, with input from all the cast, although R.D.A. seemed to take this in a flipant manner, which was a shame. I've read some reviewers who have stated that "they will stop watching because Carter is now the great know it all, fix it all super woman " they will be the losers. I can state that I enjoyed the series a great deal, & therefore recommend it whole heartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 5, Stargate SG-1, 29 April 2003
By 
Antony Jemmett (Canterbury, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 5 is the season where Stargate SG-1 finally begins to show it's true colours. Episodes come together to form interlocking storylines, and the season premiere includes the return of a deadly enemy, and the permanent destruction of another.
A few episodes are worth a special mention. 'The Warrior', for it's incredible special effects. 'Summit', for it's introduction of Anubis, and for the incredibly sensative and realistic portrayal of a human slave by Michael Shanks. And finally, the 100th episode, 'Wormhole X-treme!', which manages to be both funny and quite serious (in a few places).
If you only buy one season of Stargate SG-1 in your life, make it this one. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD], 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a great fan of Stargate SG1 so any DVD package is great to get. However, in plea from those short of storage space, could we have some of the older series made available in the slimline DVD packaging!

No spoilers!
As for the series itself? Brilliant episodes as series 5 continued the high production values and story-lines of series 4. Teal'c steps up as a major character with important story lines weaved around him and the Jaffa rebellion, Daniel acts as the moral conscience of the SG1 team, Jack continues to be the joker (with hidden depths) in the pack while Sam continies to be the brainiac of the team but more of her personal life is on show.

Excellent value for money, every fan and newbie should own it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Stargate!, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I love the entire Stargate series and season 5 is no exception, I would recommend this to anyone who loves Stargate and has watched the previous seasons and films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate, 25 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched Stargate for years, and each episode is as good as the other, you need to have watched the film with Kurt Russell and James Spader to realise what the producers took on to achieve this great fun series.
It is by far the best Sci Fi I have seen, and there are no polystyrene boulders in this !!! lol...
Great adventure, great fun, continues with 2 films Ark of Truth and Continuum both fantastic....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gotts love stargate, 19 May 2014
Love love love all of them this is the third time of watching them and they never get old xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate sg-1 season 5, 27 Sept. 2010
By 
J. A. Adams (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
ONCE AGAIN THE TEAM ARE GETTING IN TO ALL KINDS OF SCRAPES. EACH OF THE MEMBERS OF THE TEAM SEEM TO COME TO THE RESCUE OF THE OTHER MEMBERS MORE THAN ONCE OR TWICE IN EACH EPISODE.
STILL BRILLIANT ACTING AND SPECIAL EFFECTS,THE TEAM JUST SEEM TO GEL ,AND FEED OF EACH OTHER.
SUPERB,JOY TO WATCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Stargate series, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the Stargate series when it was on the TV so now we have box sets to watch again and again.
This sci fi series is one of the best, the story lines are original and follow on each episode. The characters are realistic.
Great series for any who likes different things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD]
Stargate SG-1 - Season 5 [DVD] by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2003)
£16.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews