Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars superb!!
Sanaa and Wesley are two "opposites"watch their struggle to stay together in this moving,yet gritty arms.excellent movie.must be watched.you won't be disappointed.
Published 8 months ago by marilyn monroe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars low budget sleeper thrills
This is quite a well paced taut thriller and not at all rubbish as the previous reviewers would have you believe.

Certainly it has it's flaws and could be compared to Phonebooth in many ways (although I think it was made around the same time) but it held my attention for 90 minutes no problem.

Compared to an overblown and overrated movie like Speed...
Published on 15 Aug 2007 by M. A. Bennett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars superb!!, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sanaa and Wesley are two "opposites"watch their struggle to stay together in this moving,yet gritty arms.excellent movie.must be watched.you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Oscar material but a fun little movie, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Paul Stevens (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liberty Stands Still [DVD] (DVD)
A nice little film in my view.

Not the most realistic movie one will ever come across and I agree with the negative reviews that it is a bit of a knock off of Phone booth but for the most part I enjoyed it.

Snipe's does a good job playing a man wronged by an arms company and as a result takes the law into his own hands. Fiorentino also does a good job as the apparent target of Snipe's "bitterness". The acting isn't up to the standard of Phone Booth and the general feel of this film wasn't up to that level either but it still kept me interest throughout. Also the music is at times badly done.

Not deserving of an Oscar for sure but for a low budget film I enjoyed it and I'd certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovefilm, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. B. Ellis "tiptoes" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liberty Stands Still [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite a good fim, i found it very entertaining, good acting, reminded me a bit of phone booth as one is trapped in a phone booth' Liberty is trapped in a park chaned up with a bomb, very much worth watching if you have nothing much to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 25 April 2009
This review is from: Liberty Stands Still [DVD] (DVD)
Thrilling movie. Snipes is not an action-hero as usual, he is a psychopath and gives a very good performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars low budget sleeper thrills, 15 Aug 2007
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liberty Stands Still [DVD] (DVD)
This is quite a well paced taut thriller and not at all rubbish as the previous reviewers would have you believe.

Certainly it has it's flaws and could be compared to Phonebooth in many ways (although I think it was made around the same time) but it held my attention for 90 minutes no problem.

Compared to an overblown and overrated movie like Speed which had a similar 'bomb will go off if...' theme and taking budget into consideration it's a masterpiece of economy.

Linda Fiorentino and Oliver Platt are very versatile actors and convince in their respective roles and even Snipes is restrained here from going over the top.

The biggest problem I found was the annoying constantly pounding music
which was totally unsuited to the mood of the film. (I actually preferred viewing the film a second time listening to the film makers commentary) This alone stops me giving the film 4 stars.

The DVD video and audio is of a high quality and looks very 'cinematic' on a suitably large plasma screen. This combined with an interesting commentary track make this well worth picking up for the paltry sum of a couple of pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A stylish mess., 30 Jan 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Liberty Stands Still comes from similar territory as Targets (Peter Bogdanovich) & the upcoming Phone Booth (Joel Schumacher). It appears to have crept out on video, possibly because it assaults Americans for their involvement in the arms trade & the perpetuation of gun culture. But more likely due to the fact it's a very poor movie.
A simplistic approach is taken towards the gun issue, reminiscent of John Q (the recent Nick Cassavettes film)- the film's targets as vague as those Snipes picks out in this one as Joe/Alex. The opening twenty minutes are highly confusing, the writer/director having watched too many Oliver Stone films- employing the style of shooting/editing found in films like Natural Born Killers & Any Given Sunday. The problem is the audience has no idea who anyone is, or what's going on- until Snipes explains his M.O. half-an hour in.
The idea is quite intrigueing, a woman complicit with the arms trade being held to account in a public place- though her having republican connections & being involved directly in arms deals was too much (I thought it would have been more interesting if she was just the wife, who lived in luxury off her husband). Bombs appear, bullets emanate- but don't ricochet anywhere, like in The A-Team. Cellular phones & shots of skylines from helicopter are meant to advance the narrative; added to this a ludicrous scene where Fiorentino removes her clothes (causing the viewer to go "Why?" and "Linda Fiorentino's put on a few pounds"). It takes the notion of people in cities looking the other way a la 'Kitty Genovese' to idiotic climes. The ham-writer brings in a laboured Network/NBK-style media subplot, that goes nowhere and is dumber than that in the risible 15 Minutes. Perhaps someone like David Fincher could have brought this off?
The opening is where the film falls down- Snipes just looks cool wandering around to sub-Run Lola Run techno music, but we don't get to know Liberty, her lover or her husband- so why should we care what happens to them? The film is typified by a policeman who is shot, and the African-American who finds/saves him- both just occur and are quickly forgotten about. As for the denoument- where is the tension? What is interesting about Snipes doing exactly what he said he would do near the start of the film? What does the ending mean?- that Liberty's gonna be a good girl now? I almost forgot the pathetic flashback's of Snipes daughter- classic examples of filmic cliche. File next to the awful Nick of Time (John Badham).
This film could have been OK, with a bit more focus and a lot more coherence; add to that some static scenes of exposition, so the audience could have worked out what is going on & gain empathy for certain characters etc. There are some pertinent points here regarding the ethics of the arm trade and US gun culture, but they are lost in the cacophony of fractured montage. Television like CSI and 24 is better than this- the film as a whole coming across as a TV-movie.
Michael Moore's documentary Bowling for Columbine (also 2002) is far more effective on the issues of gun culture and films like Three Kings, Bob Roberts & Buffalo Soldiers are far more on-target in terms of satirical commentary on America. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 20 Jan 2005
This review is from: Liberty Stands Still [DVD] (DVD)
A 'phonebooth' clone thriller with Wesley Snipes it may be.. but its also quite bad, once the hostage situation has been set up, you quickly find it is the father of a gunned-down child holding an exec of a gun company hostage - and while the plot slowly unravels, attempting, unsucessfully to inject tension, you find yourself hanging on, in the hope of a revalation or plot twist.. and sadly, the movie does not deliver, leaving you feeling cheated and cursing for the 90 minutes of your life you will never get back..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae455534)

This product

Liberty Stands Still [DVD]
Liberty Stands Still [DVD] by Kari Skogland (DVD - 2003)
1.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews