Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album that still sounds fresh
From the first gentle guitar notes of "Fotheringay" until the quiet epilogue instrumental "End of a Holiday" this has always been an album that grabs you and doesn't let go. Between these opening and closing tracks of the original 1969 LP (and the 1990 CD release) we are treated to a variety of musical styles, all played superbly with panache and/or sensitivity. There...
Published on 11 Mar 2003 by Tim Edmonds

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Part of the story
Probably, part of Fairport's evolutionary process where, they were discovering what they DON'T want to do.
Published 2 months ago by Rawtunes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ... bought twice since on CD - simply an old favourite, and well worth a listen, 3 July 2014
By 
J. McConway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
This was something I listened to constantly in 1969 on vinyl record and have bought twice since on CD - simply an old favourite, and well worth a listen today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a favourite on affordable cd at last, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
I know most of the material well, had the vinyl for decades but it's good to have a cd version that I can play in the car, workshop, etc. Some great tracks, one or two interesting 'fillers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
Excellent to be able to play this CD when vinyl opportunities are diminishing. Glad they are still as good as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Stuff, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
A good place to start with Fairport Convention and then work your way forward to their later albums. Sandy Denny's voice is unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stands up well over the years, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums of the late 60's which I had not heard for years. Most tracks have stood the test of time and Sandy Denny's voice and her, and the band's compositions still have that haunting sound that made them stand out from the other folksy musicians of that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING CONVENTIONAL HERE, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
What a band and what a fantastic voice in Sandy Denny and incredible guitarmanship by Richard Thompson who was SO young at the time. A great collection of Rock folk which broke various moulds, created new trends and ensured that Fairport were not only the first but also the best at their chosen genre. From the lonely sonorous opening track of Fotheringay, to the languid Dylan cover "I'll keep it with mine", to more traditional folk tunes of old, onto the anthemic strains of "Meet on the ledge" and nicely interspersed with the more raunchy "Mr Lacey" which owes as much to R&B as it does to folk, each track is worthwhile waiting for. One of the best albums of all time, and no collection should be without a copy. So if you ain't got one.....get one....... what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fairport Convention, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Susan Rushmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
What can I say Fairport Convention always guaranteed to be a great success. Yes love the CD, has been played many times already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fairport Convention for eveyone, 11 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. John Lumbard (Richmond, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
If you considered Fairport Convention too folk for your music taste- think again. This is just pure melody with a real spread of different music styles so the album never gets boring or the songs sound all the same. Remastered so excellent quality. If you like Fleetwood Mac then give this a try you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back long lost friends, 24 Dec 2010
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
It is not in my nature to revel in past glories. Suffice to say that '69 when this album came out was an exceptional year in many ways. It is the year that Fairport released not only this album but also Unhalfbricking, and Lief and Liege, which is a wonderful tryptic charting the seminal development of the band.In my process of revisiting all of these albums (in reverse order). I had genuinely forgotten how a) eclectic and b)good this album was and is.
I loved the lyrical interpretations of the the folk classics Fotheringay and She moves through the fair, and the lyrical guitar work clearly influences; End of the holidays, and gives all three an etherial, almost timeless quality. The balance on the album comes with the wonderful, driving Mr Lacey which really would not be out of place on an early chicken shack album. The quality mix continues with the wonderful minimilist slide work on the Lord is in the place-loved the coins being thrown at the end! Ian matthews contribution of the Book song is a clear indication of where his early efrorts would lead i.e. the west coast soft rock influence. Finally on the sleve notes to unhalfbricking Ashley Hutchins indicates that one of the tracks is one of the earliest examples of our cultural musical heritage embrassing world music, there is clear evidence of its pre-cursor on this album as well as the suble inclusion of the sitar. The use of the accordian on one or two tracks also has resinances on later albums. The obligatory interpretation of a Dylan track is also here, which was sadly to disappear for the band by the end of '69. A great revisit not nostalgic but a realisation/rediscovery of why i rated this album in the first place. Also still love the cover!!! a must for 60's retro- freaks!
ps -It may deserve a five star rating but in 50 odd years of playing and listening to music I would probably only rate about 5 albums with 5 stars-but this is one comes close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Again a beautiful album from a brilliant band, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What We Did On Our Holidays (Audio CD)
Again a beautiful album from a brilliant band . Richard Thompson always is brilliant inventive guitarist , some of the mega rated American guitarists should take a leaf out of his book on how to play proper guitar instead of rubbish whammy barring .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What We Did On Our Holidays
What We Did On Our Holidays by Fairport Convention (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews