Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock @ its Finest!!
Recently i discovered an old Audio cassette (remember those?) and on it was the 1st Album from Gun (Taking on the World) i Dusted it off and placed it into my old Cassette Alarm Clock, And instantly i remembered just how great this Band were.. Having only had 2 Albums from Gun i was pleased to come across this title on Amazon (the Collection) and im Not Dissapointed 1...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by Mr. P. A. Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Majority is okay
Bought the whole album for the Word Up number, but i had forgotten how good they were. The rap type stuff is banal though.
Published 10 months ago by Lumbago Whatever


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock @ its Finest!!, 22 Jan 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Recently i discovered an old Audio cassette (remember those?) and on it was the 1st Album from Gun (Taking on the World) i Dusted it off and placed it into my old Cassette Alarm Clock, And instantly i remembered just how great this Band were.. Having only had 2 Albums from Gun i was pleased to come across this title on Amazon (the Collection) and im Not Dissapointed 1 Bit, Gun were probably the best thing Musically from the Scotland.. in the late 80`s early 90`s... as the CD rightly points Out, Gun were not about Chart Success although they did have some of interest.. Gun were about Playing Live, and for Blasting out of your Car stereo i might add.... You`ll either Love or hate the Voclas, I personally think the guy had a great Unique Voice that just oozed Rock ..... Tracks such as "Better Days", "Steel your Fire" are worth the Disc price on their Own, Other Greats include the opening track "Welcome to the real World", "Inside Out" + Lots lots More... In a Word (up) If you Like Rock, (think Cult, Jovi, Thunder, etc...) then this is for you!! check it out!! you wont find a better collection of 80`s,90`s Rock out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This album is a fantastic reminder of what a diverse, melodic, thumping group GUN were.
I first saw them at the Student Union at Hull University in 1988/9. They were supporting, if I remember correctly, an up and coming band called TEXAS, and I remember them rocking better than TEXAS. I saw them a few years later at the NEC supporting DEF LEPPARD.
Having only the first two albums on tape, I had in the intervening years forgotten what a fantastic outfit they were, from the emotional tenderness sound of "Taking on the world", to the driving force of "Steal your fire" and "Shame on You", I would recomned this album to anyone who either has never heard GUN or to those like me who having lost tapes bought many years ago, forgotten how good they sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rock on!, 24 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Having had the first album for many years on good old cassette and not doubt selling at some point for 20pence at a car boot sale and forgotten about them along with The Almighty and Stiltskin of the same era. I had it recommended to me through amazon and at that price would be rude not to buy it. What a great album, makes a change to hear good old rock well produced and delivering the goods. If you thought Thunders 'Love walked in' delivered the goods try Guns' 'Taking on the World' and play it loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GUN the collection kicks butt, 2 Jun 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
At long last someone in the record industry has cottoned on to the fact that GUN are quality band. 10 years of superb music and rocking gigs, deserves a new lease of life. Only dissappointment is that there are no new tracks. Come on Spectrum, get a second edition out with some previuosly unreleased or new material. The world awaits the second coming of GUN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid 'best of' finally released, 10 April 2003
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
The time has finally come for all of Gun's singles to be released in one package and 'The Collection' doesn't disappoint. Like the band, there are no unnecessary frills or remixes attached to this release. Instead, what you get is a retrospective through their four albums, bringing together early classics such as Better Days and Steal Your Fire with the later offerings of Stand In Line, My Sweet Jane and their fired up cover of Cameo's Word Up. Its easy on some of the tracks to see where the INXS and Def Leppard comparisons came from, but its evident why the band were offered high-profile support slots from their first days as a touring band. If you like your British rock with a combination of sweet guitar lines, gravelled vocals and singalong choruses then you can do far worse than checking out Gun in all their glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality tracks, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
Some really great songs on the CD. Not sure why we missed Gun when first around & bought this CD after amazon recommended. So glad they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Majority is okay, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Bought the whole album for the Word Up number, but i had forgotten how good they were. The rap type stuff is banal though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gun, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
only recently got into gun after performing song word up with local band,love the tunes good rock songs with energy,lisen to them when running on treadmill,driving along songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Headbanging paradise, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Ms. Karen Dwyer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (Audio CD)
This is a very good mixture of tunes. Gun have a sort of Dep Leopard sound to them. The first couple of songs blew me away. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon ruins yet another download, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Collection (MP3 Download)
Yet again Amazon have ruined another download as some tracks volume is so low that even on full volume you can barely hear the music. I have got so fed up with this happening over the years that this will be my last ever download from Amazon. (PS They do not even think it is important enough to reply to complaints)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Collection
The Collection by Gun (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews