Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars49
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£9.99+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2004
season 3 is probably my favourite series. some of the best in the entire series are in this season. you should buy the first 2 seasons before this as alot of the episodes are a continuing story. like all seasons you get a few average episodes that are a bit dull or confusing, but there's so many good ones it wont matter. this really is value for money with all 24 episodes at 42 minutes each spread over 6 dvds. thats 1100 minutes of x-files. the new packaging is great. 6 dvds sit nicely is a well designed case but sadly the 7th bonus disc is left alone and just sits loose in a slot in the back of the booklet which isnt ideal. but the bonus disc contains mainly interviews and deleted scenes that won^t get viewed much. all in all another amazing set finally at a bargain price.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2008
season three still contains the thrills and the chills needed for great sci fi...and this season remains fantastic all the way through.

eppy reviews-

Blessing Way-4/5
Paper clip-4/5
D.P.O-4/5
Clyde Bruckmans final repose-5/5
the list-2/5
2shy-2/5
the walk-3/5
Oubliette-3/5
Nisei-4/5
731-4/5
Revelations-3/5
War of the Corphorages-4.5/5
syzygy-4/5
Grotesque-4/5
Piper Maru-5/5
Apocrypha-5/5
pusher-4/5
teso dos bichos-2/5
hell money-2/5
Jose Chungs From Outer Space-4/5
avatar-3/5
quagmire-3/5
wetwired-2/5
Talitha Cumi(1)-5/5

paves way for the excellent fourth season:)

MUST BUY
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 July 2007
This third season of the X-Files is probably one of the best the show has produced and includes some of my favourite episodes. The season begins with Mulder missing, assumed dead, and the two part episode that follows resolves last season's cliff-hanger well. The season quickly returns to the monster-of-the-week type show that it was always best at; if there is a problem with this season it is that it gets back to normal somewhat too quickly. Season highlights have to be: Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose a sweet story about a man who can predict the future and a serial killer; Hell Money about a dangerous game played during a Chinese holiday; and Jose Chung's `From Outer Space' a light-hearted episode that pokes fun at the whole UFO culture as well as the show itself. The show is universally well made, well written and well acted and these early seasons are thoroughly entertaining.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
After the pulsating season 2, season 3 not only manages to equal its forerunner; but eclipse it.

The spectrum of episodes expands here, with a significant focus on the mutating mythology arc - which now introduces an 'oil-like' substance amongst other things. The stand-alone episodes are the strongest yet - some of which start to evolve into `thriller' episodes that are neither `Mythology' nor `X-File', and for the first time we see a new kind of show dynamic with the inclusion of the first `personal' episodes: `Avatar' doing a great job of fleshing out A.D. Skinner.

Season 2's `Humbug' introduced a comedy element to the show, which accelerates in season 3 through the bonkers `War of the Coprophages' before culminating in the immaculate `Jose Chung's from Outer Space' (Home of the infamous Mulder `Yelp' upon seeing a dead body).

For the first time in the show's history, we also see the first signs of fracture between Mulder and Scully. A mechanism so brilliantly dealt with by Duchovny and Anderson that it acts simply as an amplifier to the deepening relationship between the two agents.

It's hard to put into words the strength-in-depth this series has. Usually once a series achieves it's zenith, the quality will naturally dip slightly, but here the season's entire duration peaks: `The Blessing Way' and `Paper Clip' bring to a close arguably the best `full-length feature' the show ever made (AKA `The Unopened File'), `Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose', `Nisei' and `731', Piper Maru (Gillian Anderson's first daughter's name), `Apocrypha', `Pusher', `Quagmire' and `Wetwired' being among the best episodes of the show created to (the then) date.

Alas any work of near perfection will always have its blot, and this comes in the form of arguably the worst X Files episode to date: `Teso Dos Bichos' being the smudge on an otherwise perfect canvas.

The features are akin to the first two seasons (as is the packaging) and are definitely worth watching, offering huge insights into the behind-the-scenes making of the show.

This was the season where the X Files engine was firing on all cylinders. A lot of fan favourites are here; the `train' episode, the `Loch-Ness Monster' tribute, the `lightning man one' and `that Chinese gang' episode (as they are sometimes affectionally referred to), etc. Without predisposing the following seasons, it's fair to say this season was the show's peak.

A true Masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whenever you might think the X Files franchise began treading water, no one could seriously doubt that Season Three was a great year, maybe the greatest year, boasting episodes more traumatic than previously and others with a new and welcome comedy element.

An unforgettable and shocking start, the opening double episode nearly destroys the partnership and contains two slayings distressingly close to home. Then there are further stories impacting on Scully's abduction experience and undermining the credibility of any assertion of the existence of aliens. And a whole lot more. The Clyde Bruckmann episode and another called Oubliette almost had me in tears last time I watched, despite the former being very funny, as are the Copophrages and Jose Chung episodes. Monsters, devils, sinister experiments and mass slaughters sufficient to shatter the psyche of any FBi agent, but our heroes continue to take everything in their stride.

I guess you can't blame them, the characters or the writers, that the agents, Scully especially, seem unable to process and keep track of all they have witnessed. This became the show's great problem, the repetition and Scully's endless obstructions even after years of eye-popping discoveries. Good to savour the early years again, before it all became a bit too arch and gordian.

My favourite X-Files season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2007
I'm not particularly a fan of shows of this genre, but x files is a classic and so an exception to that! This is not my favourite season neccesarily- but contains my favourite episode (D.P.O. aka episode 3) which remains untouched as the best in my opinion even after all these years! So I would recommend this season just on the strength of that, and a few other absolute gems contained. Thing with the x files is that there isn't a definitive 'best season' as all tend to have some really strong episodes and then some not so much- all down to opinion I hasten to add, as all our well scripted and enthralling but depends on what interests you to an extent and what really makes you think. Some say start at season 1 and work your way through, and although there is a sense of continuity re: Mulder and Scully and their personal lives; diving in at any point is an absolute treat and the start of what will probably be wanting to see as many as you can! I enjoy trying to figure stuff out as it goes along, and for me this series was the best for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2005
No, actually my favourite episode is "Syzygy". The one where these people think that their kids are being killed by satanists. Season three is one of the best seasons mostly because of the work of Darin Morgan (Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose, War of the Coprophages, Jose Chung's From Outer Space). War of the Coprophages is probably his most famous episode. It's about killer cockroaches. I'll probably have to watch it again (I've seen it twice) because I didn't understand it. People thought "Donnie Darko" was hard to understand (I developed a theory right after watching it) but War of the Coprophages is complicated and has a lot different explainations to it. It's in this episode that Scully is actually right most of the time! Another good episode is "Revelations". It's the first episode in which Mulder and Scully switch places, Scully being the believer and Mulder being the sceptic. It was the first time I was shouting at the TV telling "Mulder" to shut it instead of Scully! One of the most frightening episodes is "Grotesque". It's about serial murder and demonic possesion and has quite a few disturbing scenes. This episode can compare with most things that "Millennium" has done (Not all things. Millennium was brutal!). I recommend this!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2003
Back in the day, I was an X Phile. The recent ending of the series was a bittersweet moment for me; I realised that the series had well peaked and that it was time for the truth, but part of me remembered the time when the X Files was a classic, creating storylines and characters and plots that were absolute genius. This season three boxset is a stroke of brilliance; Chris Carter at his best, mastering and balancing the conspiracy episodes with personal issues of our heroes, Mulder and Scully. Fans of the show will be, like me, reminscing about the days when the X Files was as undeniably brilliant as they were in the season three episodes. If you are not aquainted with the show, these episodes are ideal for you, because although the conspiracy is well established, you will learn insight into the two main characters and their situations, as well as being able to enjoy some of the finest episodes the X Files ever produced, and if you're a fan of the show, you'll know just how fantastic these episodes were, and how they preceded the (equally?) brilliant season four. Without the depth seen in the season three episodes, season four episodes such as 'Paper Hearts' and 'Elegy' would have been risky and possibly not as well done as they were with the support of episodes like 'Wetwired' and the absolutely perfect 'Jose Chung's "From Outer Space" '.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Yeah , fond memories flood my mind whenever I think about this wonderful season !!!The show was peaking with great themes and stories as the show had past its was not a fluke as we were successful in season 2 , part . The entry of spoof episodes , namely Joss Chungs from outer space was and is beyond measure with Jesse Ventura playing a MIB !!! Whatever happens over the coming years for me or I have to endure ,I will always remember growing with this series and season !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Having watched most episodes from the start I bought this season as I wasn't sure if had seen all episodes. I enjoyed a few of them but found that Mulder and Scully had lost their usual sense of humour but the episodes were quite good anyway and followed up from Season one which was good as I had forgotten what happened in Paper Clip. I also think season 4 is probably the best season as well as season one and two. Not bad value for money though and in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.