Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£6.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 4 December 2002
Fans will not be disappointed. After being absent for the whole of season 9 so far, David Duchovny returns for this two-hour series finale spectacular. Plus, of course, there's a chance for lots of favourite old faces to pop up in ghost form such as Krychek and the Lone gunmen, giving the whole affair an air of Return of The Jedi (but without the ewoks).
The bottom line is that this is a great chance to say goodbye to The X-Files, which has been such a huge part of my life (and so many others' lives) across the world for almost a decade. Chris Carter seemingly wrote it in this way - it's clearly a for the fans affair - with Skinner playing a pivotal role - and Marita Covarrubias finally returns!!!
The first half has quite a lot of flashback sequences allowing you to remenice about the previous decade's best moments, although some fans understandably felt cheated and would have prefered 100% new stuff for this farewell episode. Overall the episode is great, dispite the fact that Agents Doggett and Reyes are relegated to extras; totally flying in the face of all the good things CC and Frank Spotnitz have been saying about them (and they deserved). Which is a great shame.
In face, the only weak point is towards the end of the episode when CC brings back one familiar face too many. It's a shame as well that the mythology has carried on too long, forcing Mulder to now deal with the 'Super Soldier' menace. When I think back to the good old alien-filled days of season three...
If you're a fan of the show you need to see this now (even though the most dedicated amongst you will probably buy the DVD boxset in a couple of years anyway). If you're just a casual viewer I'd reccommend you buy this anyway - jus so you can say you've got the final episode ever of the nineties' finest TV show.
Roll on the next movie... (And give Robert Patrick a decent part!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 3 December 2002
The final episodes of the X-Files - promised to answer many questions that have not been answered in the last 10 years. To the avid X-Files fan they will find nothing new in the final episodes. They serve to tidy up everything and tell the whole mythology story in one episode, as opposed to scattered about in various episodes. Still good to see everything cleared in one episode though, along with the return of some of our favourite characters like CSM, Spender, LGM and others. Although not a cliff hanger ending, with at least one movie to go there had to be room for a future story. Good to see Mulder back for the last episode and the whole show ends on a rether sad note - something to turn around I suspect in the next movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 1 February 2003
as the show was coming to an end i was exspecting this; its basicaly a round-up of everything which has happen over the 9 seasons...
but if you've been watching it from the start its rather pointless as you know most of it allready.
would of been better to have the whole last season as a rounding-up of all the loose ends from over the years.
very watchable as ever, but not the best epasode to go out on
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2002
In The X-Files: The Truth, Mulder (David Duchovny) returns after a year's absence, placed on trial for a killing super-soldier Knowle Rhorer, a man we know he couldn't possibily have killed. While A.D. Skinner (Mitch Pileggi) stands in as Mulder's attorney, Scully (Gillian Anderson), Doggett (Robert Patrick) and Reyes (Annabeth Gish) look for evidence that will prove Mulder's innocence and the truth behind the X-Files once and for all.
If you're expecting this final release to tie up all the loose ends from the previous nine years, then you're going to be sorely disappointed. In all fairness, it would have been virtually impossible to do it as the long running alien conspiracy has been twisted that many times that I'm not sure even the writers understand what's going on anymore. However, for die hard fans I'm sure "The Truth" offers a satisfying conclusion for what one of the most important shows of the 90's.
I on the other hand was disappointed, while it was good to see David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson together again as Mulder and Scully, I couldn't help feel sorry for Robert Patrick and Annabeth Gish who are virtually ignored here, despite their valiant efforts over the past two seasons to keep the show alive. Hope that they will feature prominatley in the next feature film, but as for the show itself, I'm glad it's over, it has more than run it's course, and despite a few rather good episodes, this last season has been rather poor. And The Truth? Well, it's still out there!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2002
....and is it worth it? Well, yes and no.
A lot of X-Files viewers have always complained that the show never gives answers, and that there are too many questions left unresolved. Although I can see their point, in my opinion the major storylines have been resolved - the original conspiracy in Two Fathers/One Son and the Samantha arc in Sein Und Zeit/Closure. I felt that the only stories that needed resolving were connected to the new Super Soldier plot. Unfortuantely, Chris Carter felt the need to leave this well alone and spell out everything that has happened over the past nine years to please the Mulder-Scully zealots, much to my annoyance.
That's negative comment number 1; number 2 has to do with the appearance of some old characters. Mainly, the dead ones. Rather laughably, Mulder can now communicate with the dead. How? Who knows. Why? 'Cos there was so much pressure from "fans".
Now that I've had a moan, what about the good stuff? Well, in my opinion The Truth is great. It shows you what the show has been about over the past nine years, reminds you of everything Mulder and Scully, and to a lesser extent Doggett and Reyes, have scarificed. Its amazing to see how far the show has come and how much things have changed. Like any good X-File mythology story, it pulls you in; its immediately engaging as you wait to hear what the truth is (basically how the story will progress in the movie/s) and therew's plenty of excitement. In places, its obvious that scenes have been cut to meet time constraints, but it doesn't spoil the experience.
The acting is excellent, and the four main protagonists all gel together extremely well. Its great to see Mulder back, but this hasn't jeopardised the role played by Doggett and Reyes either. Direction is typical of Kim Manners, managing to capture the best of whats on offer. At times it feels like a mini-movie rather than an episode of a television drama.
Mulder and Scullly are re-united in this episode; and after nine years, you FINALLY see them as a couple, and talk openly about their child. (the William arc was resolved a couple of episodes earlier in an episode directed by Duchovny). At first, it's wierd - but by the final scene, a recreation of the motel scene from the Pilot, even most anti-shipper fans will be happy they've ended up together.
In my opinion, The Truth would have worked better as the end of the Mulder-Scully era, leading on to Season Ten with Doggett and Reyes. Sadly, this is it. Nevertheless it is a great finale - after all, how many finale's REALLY live up to the show's legacy? It might not be the best episode, but its in my top 20. And out of 202 episodes, thats definately an achievement.
I bid a fond farewell to nine years of top-quality entertainment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 28 May 2003
same. Well it's all over. 9 years of waiting for the truth and what is the truth. Have they left the door open for a series return or a movie. We should know in the next few years but anyway this DVD is a must for X-Files fans who don't really follow the whole theological episodes and missed a few here and there.
The guest stars and past characters are endless as Carter tries to tie up loose ends and bring some sense to the x-files madness. You will learn the truth but you must by this DVD to do so or go out and by all nine season of the x-files.
Extras are minimal but you would expect that as Fox are saving the glory for the final box set to be released some time in 2004.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2002
After 9 years and over 200 episodes, the x files finally reaches the end. Do Scully and Mulder finally get together? are the secrets revealed? well this two part story answers many of the asked questions. The episode revolves around mulder, who after breaking into a maximum secrurity compound is caught and charged with the crime of murder. Hes placed on trail for his life and scully, doggett, reyes and skinner must fight for his freedom. The first part of the story takes place mainly in the courtroom where we get to see some familiar faces, and characters long dead. The second part is far more action packed and brings back a brilliant character from the shows past. This is a fantastic conclusion to a brilliant series, many questions are answered, but as this is the x files... many new questions are asked and are sure to be delt with in the second motion picture. Do mulder and scully get together? well i dont want to spoil it, watch it yourself to find you that truth. The only real quibble i had was the lack of air time for Robert Patrick and Annabeth Gish, apart from that this finale has it all. The final 10 minutes are fantastic, and give a real cinematic feel to the show. Ive been watching for 9 whole years and the show has become part of my life. From Tooms to the flukeman, from Deepthroat to X, from the pilot to the finale, its been a truly remarkable ride and David, Gillian and Chris deserve a well earned pat on the back.
TV will never be the same again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 19 January 2003
Well here it is, the end of an uneasy season nine and of the entire series. Season nine was a strange one. We started with doggett and reyes on the x files, expanding on their characters and development with their partnership, then we regularly switched back to Scully, her baby William and her quest to find Mulder with the odd sniffle now and again. The mytharc was very outrageous and blown out of proportion, but the truth acts as a conclusion to end it all, clearing up the loose ends that most fans had probably already worked out, or abandoned the show because of it.
The truth serves Mulder and Scully, reuniting them together after a year apart. We see Mulder on trial for murdering a super soldier, a government unit constructed to assist in the destruction of mankind. He is setup, as is the trail, where we see flashbacks throughout the show and testimonies from old and new characters as well as ghostly appiritions from dead ones and a suprise appearence from one right at the end, not being spoiled this time as their credited name will appear at the end, not the start as with the tv version.
After watching it for nine years and after a year that proved to be the breaking point for surviving fans, this has come too late and although watching it, i found myself wishing it had ended with existence, finishing the series nicely with a happy ending. Series 9 just wrecked havoc a lot of the time, especially with the M + S and William storyline, that just didnt need to be explored any longer.
The truth bears a fitting and suitable ending to all x files fans, but there really wasnt any need for it to carry on this long. Not to say its complete rubbish, because its very enjoyable. Worth having for it being the end of a very popular series, that sadly run its ground and became a forgotten thing with general viewers - a show that 'used' to be good and had its day.
With the bonus episode of William (a stronger episode of season nine) and a feature lasting a quarter hour, it makes it a solid purchase.
I just wish the show had gone out on season eight, season nine scrambled along, squeezing in stories from M + S and D + R, that was obviously forced, and wrecked havoc with the ending of Extstence.
Ending on a good note, DD's return ties up the loose ends surrounding his absence and makes the earlier episodes briefly explaining his absence, watchable and more believable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
this the finale,agent mulder is arrested for killing a man that cannot be lilled ,embroiled in an fbi,military court martial for his life scully and other witnesses help mulder in this amazing finale ,a fantastic ending to a brilliant series.i totally recommend it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 30 December 2002
The ninth season of The X-Files is a strange one, ranging from complete trash (Jump The Shark) to some of the best episodes in the show's entire run (4-D, Audrey Pauley). With David Duchovny gone for good, everyone was predicting that it would be the end for the series, and off course they were right as Chris Carter decided to call it a day. But it some ways, that might have been presumptuous, as it's sometimes it was appeared that there is life in the show beyond Mulder and Scully.
Not that you could tell that from the ongoing mythology story that reaches an all time low. The aptly titled season premier, Nothing Important Happened Today, tries to build on stories identified in the eighth series, but ends up a disgruntled mess. Mulder's sudden absence is never explained, while Scully (Gillian Anderson) looks more depressing than usual. The only high point is Lucy Lawless (of Xena: Warrior Princess fame) as a water breathing femme fatale.
And just when you though the mythology couldn't get any worse, along comes Trust No One, Provenance, Providence and William. All of which might have been good episodes had Mulder actually been in them, rather than constantly referring to him. If season nine was meant to a new beginning, the alien saga should have been dropped, to make way for a new, fresh and more interesting storyline.
But while the conspiracy episodes fall flat, many the monster of the week stories are quite good. 4-D is easily the strongest episode of the season, and is a excellent showcase for the new teaming of agents Doggett (Robert Patrick) and Reyes (Annabeth Gish). Both Patrick and Gish are on fine form and the writing is excellent, with the storyline harking back to the old school X-Files. The same goes for Audrey Pauley, albeit a One Breath redux, but neverthless extremely entertaining and brilliantly acted.
Other highlights include Vince Gilligan's simply wonderful Sunshine Days, which pays homage to The Brady Bunch of all things and the quirky Improbable, guest starring Burt Reynolds. If the rest of the series could have matched these episodes, then the show could still be going today. But as the series rapidly came fell apart, Robert Patrick and Annabeth Gish remained solid throughout, and it was shocking to see how neglected they were in The Truth, the final episode, which is pretty much on par with the rest of the conspiracy rubbish offered this season. As a series finale it was criminal, and even though it was good to have Mulder back, I wished the writers had come up with a more satisfying conclusion for what was once a brilliant series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The X Files Movie [1998] [DVD]
The X Files Movie [1998] [DVD] by David Duchovny (DVD - 2000)

X Files: Season 9 [DVD]
X Files: Season 9 [DVD] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.